About Us

So here we are. A family of five . . .

Mummy – Colette
I’m 36 and although a Yorkshire lass at heart I’ve been pretty much living the Manchester side of things for most of the last 16 years (bar a brief and wonderful respite in Leeds in my mid 20s and a year or so in Todmorden).

I’m a qualified primary school teacher and have been teaching for over 12 years now.  I gave up my full time job in 2012 and moved onto supply – which was possibly the best thing I’ve ever done.  I’m now just about the only teacher I know who has actually achieved that mythical thing called a “work / life balance” – I get to go to work a few days a week and I get to just be at home and be Mummy a few days a week. I take great pleasure in the mornings I get to take Ben & Chloe to school or go to assembly or have a quick chat with their teachers – I never thought I’d get to do that.

Outside of my Mummy duties I love the chance to put on a full face of make up, some nice shoes and go to gigs – this is of course rare!

Daddy – Dave 
He’s 36 too – though he would make pains to point out that he’s younger than me (less than three weeks I might add).  Dave has recently taken a promotion at work and after working for 18 years as a Fabricator he’s now a Supplier Manager – I’m still getting used to him wearing a shirt and tie all the time!

My lovely husband is a massive geek – and proud of it.  He LOVES tech and spends an obscene amount of time reading news and reviews of phones, tvs, audio things – all stuff he is unlikely to ever own but it does make him useful when people are planning on buying new things – I very rarely understand what he’s talking about.

He took up cycling a couple of years ago and is becoming a bit of a geek about that too – I believe the official term is “cogger”.

Ben
Ben, born summer 2009, is 7 and full of questions. Very well worded questions I might add. Ben has always astounded us with his incredible vocabulary and understanding of language.  He adores books, and I’m sure that the fact he has had a bedtime story daily from 5 weeks old has certainly impacted on his language ability – it’s a real pleasure seeing him learning to read at the moment. He’s also a massive fan of LEGO, games, super heroes and being outside, especially if it means “We’re going on an adventure . . . “!

He’s bright, cheeky, entertaining and absolutely adores his little sisters – I’m enjoying this while it lasts!! 

Chloe 
Chlo, born summer 2011, is now 5 and is growing up fast – her language is developing like nobody’s business and she’s keeping us entertained. She’s definitely a drama queen (couldn’t possibly say where she gets that from!)  Chloe is also a big fan of playing outdoors.  Like every other girl her age she does love Frozen and is starting to really enjoy watching Disney films too.  She is starting to have more say in what she wears and likes to wear a dress “like a princess” but I’m still steadfastly avoiding buying pink clothes!

Amy
The baby formerly known as Beak made her entrance into the world in November 2013 and is now three years old.  She is quickly becoming more “little girl” than “toddler” with a love of all things princess.  She loves her dolls, small world toys and is a bit of a telly addict! She is an extremely able communicator and it often surprises people when they find she’s not at school yet!  She enjoys her sleep & adores her big brother and sister!  

That’s it. That’s us!  Hope it wasn’t too rambling!

9 thoughts on “About Us

  1. Colette you describe your family to a T, it is well written and if I was to meet you all tomorrow, I would feel as if I would already slightly know you all too thanks to this page x

  2. Thanks for the information, it was nice to read. Lucky you having a work / life Balance. I had heard the term Fabricator, tough wasn't aware of what the job entailed :- so thanks for the little bit of info (information).
    Nice to see you include your dog :- Thomas. I am fond of dogs, though no experience personally of boxers. Good to know temperament of various breeds, as they do vary.
    Beak (unusual nickname) Best Wishes, and keep us updated.

    Rachel Craig

  3. Hi Colette,
    I've just discovered your blog. As a fellow Mancunian I'm always on the lookout for local blogs but never seem to come across that many!

    We seem to have a few things in common. I'm also a Primary school teacher. I recently left my full time job to do supply and hopefully find that elusive work/life balance. We have 2 children and also used to have a Boxer dog. We lost him 2 years ago at the grand old age of 10 but he still hadn't 'grown up'!

    Looking forward to reading.

    Clare x

Comments are closed.