Civil War Slide Blast Armour & Blaster Reveal Shield – Review

Ben (and Daddy) are big fans of super heroes in general so there was much excitement when the Civil War Iron Man Side Blast Armour and Civil War Captain America Blaster Reveal Shield arrived at our house!
Civil War Nerf toys
Neither of the toys take batteries which is a win and means they are pretty much ready to play straight from the box, there is a little assembly required but this was something Ben was able to do himself so it’s certainly not complicated.   Each toy comes with two Nerf darts which is the bare minimum for making the most of these toys so I would suggest you probably want to invest in some spares – I think we all know how quickly they’re going to get lost in a bush or behind the sofa don’t we?
 Civil War battle
Iron Man’s Slide Blast Armour
The Iron Man Slide Blast Armour features a handle grip and adjustable strap which means you can hold the armour steady while you press a button to slide the armour up your arm and a second button activates the blaster – shooting Nerf pellets up to about 5m.  Ben was impressed by how far he was able to get the Nerf pellets to travel.  You do need to be quite strong to get the blaster to activate as neither of the girls could do it – but then as the toy is aimed at age 6 plus I think that’s fair enough.  It’s worth mentioning that Ben thought the Slide Blast Armour would only work if you are right-handed however I’ve had a look and it just means that the pellets come from the bottom rather than the top – the design is such that the armour doesn’t look like it’s upside down.
Iron Man arm
Iron Man Arm Blaster
Iron Man handle
Iron Man arm extended
Captain America’s Blaster Reveal Shield
At first glance, this looks just like Captain America’s shield with its iconic star and stripes pattern – however, with one press of the central star button it pops open to reveal a trigger on the handle and two Nerf darts which will easily fire a good few metres.  The shield can be worn on your left or right arm without problems.
Captain America Shield
Captain America press button
back view of shield
Blasting Captain America shield
Both toys have been a big hit in our household and we think they’d be a great addition to any Christmas list (yes I really did just say that!) but bear in mind that you’re going to want to buy some spare Nerf darts to accommodate for some over zealous blasting!!
*We were sent these toys free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*
Share:

36 Comments

  1. September 27, 2016 / 8:22 am

    This looks great fun!! My husband would love this let alone my daughter 🙂 #TriedTested x

  2. Faye Colegate
    September 27, 2016 / 8:27 am

    Love the captain America shield. I think if have loads of fun playing with these let alone kids!

  3. September 27, 2016 / 8:41 am

    This looks so much fun! One of my twin girls would love this as she’s really into super heroes! Great review! #TriedTested

  4. September 27, 2016 / 8:55 am

    How cool are these? My boys would love them – they are also huge Super Hero fans. Will have to check them out as an option for Christmas! #TriedTested

  5. September 27, 2016 / 8:59 am

    I love the top picture of Ben. He looks absolutely thrilled with this set :o)

    #triedtested

  6. September 27, 2016 / 9:11 am

    Getting spare Nerf bullets sounds like a very good idea! Ben certainly looks like he is having a lot of fun with this 🙂 #triedtested

  7. September 27, 2016 / 9:54 am

    Oh these look amazing. My husband two boys love their Nerf stuff and I think these would be a fab addition to their collection

  8. September 27, 2016 / 10:18 am

    Fab review! I would buy it even if I don’t need it… I reckon Grumpy Boyfriend, sorry my Baba would like it if he was older… #TriedTested

  9. September 27, 2016 / 10:31 am

    This is such a fab review! It looks like so much fun, my nephews would love something like this I’m sure! #TriedTested

  10. September 27, 2016 / 10:48 am

    These look fab! Ben looks very happy with them and no batteries is always a win in our house too. X

  11. Amy
    September 27, 2016 / 10:48 am

    Wow, these look fab! My neice would love one of these, I’ll definitely check them out!

  12. September 27, 2016 / 10:56 am

    I’ve seen this in the shops and was sooo tempted to get it. We’ve got the shield already. I might get it for Zs birthday!

  13. September 27, 2016 / 11:00 am

    My neighbour’s kids have these and they are well loved! So much fun.

  14. September 27, 2016 / 11:18 am

    Looks good. I think all boys are into super heros now. My boy who is only four loves them.

  15. September 27, 2016 / 12:22 pm

    My husband would love this. Thank goodness Piglet is no where near old enough so I don’t have to worry about them shooting nerf darts around for a while 😉 #triedtested

  16. September 27, 2016 / 12:26 pm

    These look great fun! I love that they don’t take batteries too, searching for any with life left has become the bane of my life… 🙂 #triedtested

  17. September 27, 2016 / 1:42 pm

    These look fab! I have a Nephew who is completely Superhero mad and he’d love them. He has his birthday very soon after Christmas, so I’ll have get him one, if not both, of these! 🙂 #TriedTested

  18. September 27, 2016 / 2:00 pm

    These look fab! I bet they’ll have loads of fun shooting those! #TriedTested

  19. September 27, 2016 / 2:05 pm

    These look fab, definitely given me an idea for what to get my Nephew for Christmas! #TriedTested

  20. September 27, 2016 / 2:05 pm

    I need to make sure I don’t let my partner see this. He will want them and then I will get shot. Alot. haha
    But I do have a friend who is thinking of these for her little boy so will have to show her your post 🙂 #TriedTested

  21. Emma Lofthouse-Burch
    September 27, 2016 / 2:11 pm

    These are so cool, your son looks so chuffed!

  22. mummy3+1dog
    September 27, 2016 / 5:21 pm

    I can see these being a big hit over the christmas period for kids, I know my Nephew would love these

  23. September 27, 2016 / 6:54 pm

    Oh wow this looks fab!! My children are still a little young for this but my eldest used to love anything like this when he was younger. Great review, your son looks so happy! #triedandtested

  24. September 27, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    That looks like so much fun! I think my husband would rather like those for Christmas 🙂

  25. September 27, 2016 / 11:35 pm

    N would love these. He’s seen one in store, but he loses so many nerf bullets I refuse to buy anymore for him. #triedtested

  26. Kat
    September 28, 2016 / 7:48 am

    Oh wow these look absolutely fantastic! Evie and Adam are always playing with nerf guns and we all love The Avengers here so I think this would be a big hit. #triedtested

  27. September 28, 2016 / 1:22 pm

    Aww fab photos, he looks so pleased with it! x #triedtested

  28. September 29, 2016 / 8:38 pm

    Looks like they’ve had great fun with their new toys. #TriedTested

  29. October 3, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    Oh wow Finlay would love this, actually I think they both would, might have to add it to the Christmas list. #triedtested

  30. October 4, 2016 / 5:43 am

    Lil G is a huge superhero fan, and yay no batteries! I’ll have to take a look at them although I do normally steer away from anything with a nerf gun in them. #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      October 4, 2016 / 10:11 am

      I must admit I’ve done the same until now – I’m not a fan of “guns” as toys however I felt this was far enough removed 😀

  31. October 4, 2016 / 6:46 am

    Huge plus in my book that they don’t take batteries, espically if you are thinking of Christmas presents as for so reason no matter how much you stock up for the big day we never have enough! Thanks for hosting #triedtested xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.