Discover Room – Review & Giveaway

Last night I went to the cinema.  To watch a grown up film.  On my own. 

This is worthy of a blog post in itself I think!  I couldn’t tell you the last time I went to watch an adult film (no, not adult like that, just something rated greater than PG!) And I’ve certainly never been to the cinema on my own before.  I don’t suppose I would have ever intentionally gone to the cinema on my own (though I have friends who do so happily) but the screening just happened to be at a really awkward time of day so it meant we couldn’t get a sitter for the kids, nor could any of my friends make it.  Dave got home from work, we swapped cars and I made a mad dash across Manchester to get to the screening on time.  I was quite looking forward to a couple of hours to myself truth be told! 

I hadn’t really read anything about the film, I knew it was an adaptation of a book and that it was up for loads of awards – but I didn’t have a clue what the story actually was.  In the end I’m not sure if this was a good thing or not. 

From the very start of the film I was holding my breath.  Drawn in, unsure how things were going to pan out.  I don’t think I really relaxed for the whole screening.  There were tears a plenty, gasps of shock and even the odd laugh.  It was an absolute rollercoaster of a film which left me utterly shell shocked and emotionally drained.  I drove home in silence, just trying to absorb and make sense of what I had seen. 

If you’ve read the book then you will obviously know the themes of the film, if you haven’t then I don’t want to spoil things for you but this is not a lighthearted rom com by any stretch.  The storyline is hard hitting and emotional and absolutely not the sort of film I would ever choose to go and see. Ever.  

But, and it’s a big but . . . I’m so glad I did.  The acting was incredible, the cinematography and direction spot on.  The story builds slowly, gently almost in parts, allowing you to realise things and piece information together as you reach your own horrifying conclusions.  And then other parts are much quicker, more dramatic and impactful.  This film that allows you to think.  Forces you to think.  Leaves you with nothing to do but think.  

Go to see it.  Know it will be hard to watch.  Know you will cry.  Go to see it anyway. 

To celebrate the release of the film I have a great competition for you to win a special prize bundle including the Room soundtrack, novel and a poster along with a DVD bundle of 3 previous Studiocanal releases.

Just complete as many of the Rafflecopter options as you would like, taking care to do this accurately to avoid disqualification. 

*Collaborative post*

Share:

67 Comments

  1. January 7, 2016 / 9:15 pm

    I went to see the latest Star Was movie with my mam and two boys!

  2. January 7, 2016 / 9:41 pm

    a couple of weeks ago to see the good dinosaur!

    Ashleigh

  3. January 7, 2016 / 10:42 pm

    Epic movie and as you say, a complete rollercoaster of a ride through emotion valley for sure!

  4. January 8, 2016 / 7:27 am

    I went to see the Peanuts movie. Kids loved it!

  5. January 8, 2016 / 10:40 am

    Many years ago in fact so many years I can't remember what I saw! 🙂

  6. January 8, 2016 / 12:05 pm

    LONG LONG TIME AGO IN A GALAXY FAR AWAY

  7. January 8, 2016 / 3:40 pm

    I last went on Tuesday to see 'Daddy's Home' and it was awesome!

  8. January 8, 2016 / 4:04 pm

    It's been a while, my husband and I saw Interstellar!

  9. kim styles
    January 8, 2016 / 5:23 pm

    I went to see the Hunger games last so ages ago !

  10. Susan Smith
    January 8, 2016 / 10:12 pm

    Last time I went to the cinema was to see Nelson Mandela

  11. January 9, 2016 / 10:41 am

    last year to see night at the museum 3

  12. January 9, 2016 / 10:43 am

    I think the last film we went to see was the Hunger Games but there's been another movie since then.

  13. January 9, 2016 / 11:17 am

    we went to see Daddy's home on NY eve, though without the younger kids!

  14. January 9, 2016 / 3:38 pm

    I went between Xmas & New Year to see Star Wars

  15. Tracy Gladman
    January 10, 2016 / 2:30 pm

    I went last week and we saw Christmas with the Coopers

  16. cheryl price
    January 10, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    Last movie I went to see was Cinderella a few months ago with my daughter x

  17. January 10, 2016 / 7:20 pm

    I haven't been for ages, I think the last thing was Legend which I loved!

  18. January 10, 2016 / 8:52 pm

    i went to a preview screening of daddys home x

  19. Karen Monkeyfooted Mummy
    January 11, 2016 / 9:49 am

    You described exactly how I feel about it, at one point I said outloud God I feel ill watching this!

  20. Susan B
    January 11, 2016 / 12:40 pm

    I can't even remember when I last went to the cinema. Getting there and back is a problem but I certainly enjoyed going when I could.

  21. Sheila Reavy
    January 11, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Oh gosh, it's been a long time. I think it was one of the Twilight films.

  22. January 11, 2016 / 8:45 pm

    A long time ago I think the last film we saw was Transformers 3.

  23. January 12, 2016 / 12:11 am

    The last film I saw at the cinema was Jurassic World, quite a few months ago now x

  24. January 12, 2016 / 8:06 am

    I can't remember the last film I saw at the cinema, I used to love going alone. Maybe I'll do that again sometime 🙂

  25. January 12, 2016 / 8:10 am

    I read Room years ago but can only barely remember it. I can't remember the last adult film I saw at the cinema.

  26. January 12, 2016 / 8:15 am

    I can't remember the last time I went to the cinema. I think it was to see the last Twilight film and we went at midnight lol

  27. January 12, 2016 / 8:16 am

    The last film I went to see was just a couple of weeks ago. We went to see the new Star Wars. Hubby and I go rarely but when we do we always make a date night of it and go out for dinner first! #TriedTested

  28. January 12, 2016 / 8:30 am

    I watched this at the weekend and was quite blown away by the acting skills!! THe last film I went to see at the cinema was Star Wars with the hubby though don't think I've ever been by myself #triedtested

  29. Jane Arschavir
    January 12, 2016 / 8:52 am

    I love going to the cinema by myself, it's a nice treat to just switch off for a few hours and not worry about the world!

  30. January 12, 2016 / 9:11 am

    Has to be that little film called Star Wars about a week ago.

  31. Angela Milnes
    January 12, 2016 / 9:31 am

    ooh this sounds like a fantastic movie and something i might enjoy. I used to always go to the movies on my own.

  32. January 12, 2016 / 10:03 am

    I love a good film that leave you on the edge of your seat, Waiting for the next installment,Sounds like a good film, I will defiantly check it out #TiredTested

  33. January 12, 2016 / 10:11 am

    It doesn't sound like the kind of film I would choose to see either. The last thing I saw at the cinema was the new Bond #triedtested

  34. emma kinsey
    January 12, 2016 / 10:34 am

    the good dinosaur with the kids

  35. January 12, 2016 / 11:01 am

    I was dead proud that I managed to see the Hunger Games – hard to go out these days isn't it x

  36. January 12, 2016 / 11:36 am

    I cried reading the book, I had no idea it was a film too, I have to go and see – no mascara! #TriedTested

  37. January 12, 2016 / 11:53 am

    I last went in the summer holidays with my teen son to watch Ant Man. Not my usual type of film but I loved it #TriedTested

  38. January 12, 2016 / 12:09 pm

    My mummy hasn't been to the cinema for a long time 🙁 Actually can't remember what she saw either… Great review and competition x It sounds great and very sad x #TriedTested x

  39. January 12, 2016 / 12:48 pm

    Valentines Day last year! #TriedTested

  40. January 12, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    I can't even remember the last time I went to the cinema! I think it was to see Paddington with the kids! #triedtested

  41. January 12, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    My girls and I went to see Cinderella last year x

  42. January 12, 2016 / 1:58 pm

    Oh I'm intrigued, I love a good film and think I'm going to have to watch this one.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂 x #TriedTested

  43. January 12, 2016 / 2:25 pm

    The last film I went to see was Mocking Jay but I shall never forget my first alone cinema experience in Australia – I quite enjoyed it!

  44. January 12, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    We went to watch Steve Jobs in November because we had free tickets!

  45. January 12, 2016 / 3:02 pm

    Ooh I love the cinema, last film we watched was Star Wars. I've never been on my own but I think it's something I might consider now and then to get a bit of me time! X

  46. Sadiyya maryam
    January 12, 2016 / 6:04 pm

    Oh goodness! Must be so long ago I can't remember!

  47. January 12, 2016 / 6:26 pm

    Last film we watched was 'The Good Dinosaur' but I can't remember the last time I saw a grown-up film! #triedtested

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.