Draw & Discover books – Review

At the moment Chloe is super keen on anything to do with drawing and colouring in.  She’s suddenly discovered a real love of it and will spend huge amounts of time carefully choosing her colours and doing her work to the very best of her ability (and getting suitably cross with herself if she makes a mistake.)  The latest offering from best selling children’s author & illustrator Yasmeen Ismail, “Draw & Discover” activity books are aimed at inquisitive children age 4-7 and I was sure they would appeal to Chloe.

Draw & Discover

Due for release at the start of February, the Draw and Discover series features two books “Push, Pull, Empty, Full” and “Inside, Outside, Upside Down” – each book features simple text and instructions to guide children on an adventure through 30 fun colour and drawing activities.

As it turns out the Draw & Discover books are a hit with both Ben and Chloe.  I love that they give both structure and freedom – sometimes a blank piece of paper to write or draw on can be a bit daunting.  The Draw & Discover series gives you some guidance to get you going but your only limit after that is your own imagination!  (Or in my case a complete lack of artistic talent!)

Draw & Discover

Draw & Discover - having a go

*We were sent the Draw & Discover books free of charge for the purposes of review.  All thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

21 Comments

  1. February 7, 2017 / 8:10 am

    I love the look of these books so much. I’ll have to take a look at them and Ive entered your competition. I love the idea of draw and discover x

  2. February 7, 2017 / 8:11 am

    these books looks like so much fun. entering your giveaway #TriedTested

  3. February 7, 2017 / 8:24 am

    They look really good and as you say having some guidance can been a good thing. I remember having a book that taught you how to draw animals that was really fun… And I still remember how to to do so it’s great with toddler H ? #triedtested

  4. Emily
    February 7, 2017 / 8:50 am

    Ooo I like these and I bet my girls would too. Such a great idea. Fab review. #Triedtested

  5. February 7, 2017 / 9:50 am

    These look great! Perfect for any budding artist! #TriedTested

  6. February 7, 2017 / 9:51 am

    These look lovely. I know what you mean about a blank sheet of paper being daunting, my youngest is never sure what to draw. Having some structure in these books is a really good idea. #TriedTested

  7. February 7, 2017 / 10:18 am

    I love Yasmeen Ismail’s art! These activity books look so much fun 🙂

    #TriedTested

  8. February 7, 2017 / 10:31 am

    These look really interesting! I’m looking for something like this for Mia as she starts school in Sept and I want her to start practising ‘focusing’ on one thing for a few more minutes than she does at the moment! 🙂

    #TriedTested

  9. February 7, 2017 / 10:43 am

    Oh these look lovely! Great for giving ideas if you’re not feeling so inspired – and I love the drawings already in them xx

  10. Jodie Melling
    February 7, 2017 / 11:06 am

    These are such a good idea! They look really well done and would make learning fun rather than boring!

    Jodie x
    #TriedTested

  11. February 7, 2017 / 2:15 pm

    I love these type of books – N never wants to try copying the pictures, but it’s a great way to practice if you’re not artistic. #triedtested

  12. Becki Parsons
    February 7, 2017 / 4:18 pm

    These look lovely! X is just starting to enjoy drawing a bit more – I am always on the lookout for something new for him to colour. #triedtested

  13. February 7, 2017 / 6:03 pm

    What a nice idea. Really helpful for children who perhaps need a bit of a prompt to let their imagination flow.

  14. February 7, 2017 / 8:15 pm

    My daughter received a drawing set for her birthday and has been loving it ever since. I must see if I can pick these up for Easter for her.

  15. February 7, 2017 / 9:09 pm

    These look really cute and would be perfect for my youngest. He doesn’t sit still for very long but has just started taking more of an interest in drawing #TriedTested

  16. February 7, 2017 / 9:23 pm

    These books look fab – having a little guidance to help with creativity can make such a difference sometimes 🙂 #triedtested

  17. February 7, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    These look fab! Such a good way for little ones to get involved with reading.
    Alana x

  18. February 8, 2017 / 2:58 pm

    These look lovely – you are right, it is nice for them to have guidance and space for imagination #TriedTested

  19. February 8, 2017 / 6:14 pm

    What lovely books these are. One to consider when the girls are older.#TriedTested

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.