Dyson Cool AM06 Bladeless Fan – Review

Now let’s start this post by saying I love the summer! I am loving that we’re getting more of a summer these days, even if it only lasts a few weeks.  Being able to feel the sun on my skin, sit in the garden and enjoy the odd BBQ is my idea of heaven.  Of course that’s not to say it doesn’t come with its down sides – suncream, sun hats and struggling to sleep on warm evenings are all a bit of a pain at times. 

Dyson Cool event
Explorin the Dyson Cool at The Trafford Centre

This year, during that wonderful heatwave we enjoyed the luxury of a Dyson Cool Air Multiplier Bladeless Fan .  I was lucky enough to be invited to an event at The Trafford Centre in June where we met with a Dyson engineer and learned all about the clever stuff behind the Dyson.  This dude was SO passionate about his technology and I loved listening to him talking, especially as he managed to make some really complicated stuff pretty accessible for my over tired Mum brain (this was also helped by the lovely lady who grabbed a squawking Amy and took her to play so I could listen properly!)  I wish I’d had Dave with me to listen to the talk as I know he’d have loved it.

Dyson Cool AM06
The rather beautiful Dyson Cool AM06

Your average fan is noisy and ineffective.  It just buffets warm air around your room, not cooling you down and distracting you with the irritating noise.  Bearing in mind I’ve been heavily pregnant in the height of summer twice we have had several arguments over a fan in the bedroom – when you’re that hot you really don’t care about the noise and will do anything possible to cool you down (including frozen peas wrapped in a towel on your feet – yes really)  Dave on the other hand couldn’t cope with the noise and would always turn the fan off when he came to bed (personally I just saw it as revenge for his snoring)

The Dyson Cool AM06 is immensely clever.  There is no turbulence, no chopping up of the air – it’s a smooth, steady stream of cooling bliss.  To look at, it just makes no sense, how on earth can it possibly work? But work it does.  The fan is so powerful that despite the fan officially being a desk fan I can feel it across my living room – unlike the massive industrial type fan I came across in a shop the other week which I walked past and whilst I could certainly hear it I couldn’t actually feel any benefit from it at all.  Now the Dyson Cool AM06 isn’t silent, you can still hear it working however the clever bods at Dyson have made sure that the tone of the fan is completely inoffensive.  It’s so easy to block it out.

What we love:

* It looks nice! 

* It’s sturdy 

* It’s safe for the children – no nasty blades spinning round and begging to be poked at!

* The noise level is

* The smooth, steady air flow 

* It’s super effective 

* You can set a timer so don’t have to worry about falling asleep with it on 

* A remote control – yes I’m that lazy

* You can alter the angle of the fan, air speed and also whether the fan is directed in one place or rotates

* The distance you can feel the air over is immense

* It’s really easy to keep clean – just a quick wipe round, no fluffy dusty blades blowing muck around your home!

* It’s so economical (40% less power consumed than the AM01)


What we’re not so keen on: 

* Ok so at around £220 it’s a pretty hefty investment and I would never have believed it was worth it till I had one.  You really do get what you pay for.  (Even my Dad was impressed and that’s saying something!) 


And it’s good fun too  . . . 


*Disclaimer – I received the fan free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions are my own*

38 Comments

  1. August 18, 2014 / 10:38 pm

    This looks like great fun – Amy's face is a picture ha ha. 🙂 x

  2. August 19, 2014 / 5:36 am

    I love the look of this fan, so modern and contemporary and how perfect it is for bubble blowing! Dual purpose; love it! x

    • August 19, 2014 / 12:45 pm

      It's certainly an added bonus 😉 x

  3. Clare Nicholas
    August 19, 2014 / 7:13 am

    My in laws have this and love it. Harry loves putting his head in it

    • August 19, 2014 / 12:46 pm

      Have to admit to having done that myself . . . it's too tempting!

  4. Beth Twinderelmo
    August 19, 2014 / 7:44 am

    What a clever idea! Not sure if my pockets are that deep but I love the concept & look if it. All Dyson products I've ever owned are always top notch quality x

    • August 19, 2014 / 12:51 pm

      I know exactly what you mean – I have to say that I wouldn't be without it now that I've got it though xx

  5. August 19, 2014 / 7:16 am

    I keep looking at these and thinking how brilliant and very safe they look!

    • August 19, 2014 / 12:46 pm

      Definitely – so much safer than your average fan!

  6. August 19, 2014 / 7:37 am

    I would LOVE one of these but there is just no way we could justify that price tag. They are so brilliant though, I love dyson products for their ingenuity. I always worry about fan blades so these are great to see.

    • August 19, 2014 / 12:50 pm

      You're definitely paying for the immense amount of research and investment on their part aren't you. I wasn't really sure how they justified the price until I learned more about. I know what you mean though – it's a lot of money to shell out.

  7. Mummy Melton
    August 19, 2014 / 8:58 am

    Love this!! It looks great. Just don't think we could justify that much on a fan #triedtested

  8. Laura Mummy to Boyz
    August 19, 2014 / 9:06 am

    These are awesome especially with little fingers around 🙂

  9. August 19, 2014 / 8:43 am

    I looked at these fans last summer and this summer…maybe it will be an investment for next year – it looks brilliant

    • August 19, 2014 / 2:25 pm

      Do it! Get saving now! x

  10. August 19, 2014 / 8:47 am

    wow that looks brilliant. i like that it looks stylish but works well too. the fact that it has blades and a remote control are just genius innovations, want! #TriedTested

  11. August 19, 2014 / 9:01 am

    I want one!! alas I'm not that rich lol. #triedtested

  12. August 19, 2014 / 9:06 am

    I would love one! Anything Dyson is so well made #triedtested

    • August 19, 2014 / 2:25 pm

      You know they've put every one of research and effort into making it awesome don't you x

  13. August 19, 2014 / 9:09 am

    What a clever idea – looks very 'star trek' too – great fun! #TriiedTested

  14. August 19, 2014 / 9:19 am

    It does look really great, shame about the price, but worth it for something that will be effective!

  15. sharon powell
    August 19, 2014 / 10:22 am

    Looks great! The price does put me off though, I just don't think I could justify spending that x

  16. August 19, 2014 / 10:39 am

    Wowee that's one swish fan! Tis rather expensive but if you lived somewhere warm enough to need one I can see the price being justified. It looks awesome too!

  17. Sian PottyMouthedMummy
    August 19, 2014 / 11:41 am

    I'd love to have one of these, I really like that it looks good too and wouldn't be a complete eye sore in the lounge x

  18. August 19, 2014 / 11:52 am

    I have read a lot of good things about these…..They look and sound fab x

  19. August 19, 2014 / 1:06 pm

    I am reading so many positive comments about these, they do look rather beautiful, but the price still puts me off – don't think we have enough hot weather to justify.x

    #Tried/Tested

  20. katefever
    August 19, 2014 / 2:34 pm

    Do you know, I think it's worth the £220 price tag. It does the job, it does it well and if Amy loves it as much as her face suggests then I am all for it! #TriedTested

  21. August 19, 2014 / 3:35 pm

    Hahaha, this is a great review! #TriedTested

  22. August 19, 2014 / 8:02 pm

    I love the safety aspects of the Dyson fans and their very sleek look, very pricey but the piece of mind it brings (kind of) justifies it. Would love one but a tad pricey atm for me.

  23. August 20, 2014 / 7:26 am

    This is such a high tech fan! Better than our horrid white noisy one x

  24. August 20, 2014 / 9:29 am

    I love Dyson fans I have wanted one for ages the only stopping me is the price #TriedTested

  25. August 20, 2014 / 11:10 am

    Wow, that's the coolest fan. And I love how it blew the bubbles around the room. #triedtested

  26. August 20, 2014 / 12:33 pm

    OMG my friend has one and they really are amazing arent they! i would sell a kidney for one!

  27. August 20, 2014 / 1:39 pm

    I would love one of those – I'm pregnant and really struggles during the hot nights – this would have been perfect! #triedtested

  28. August 20, 2014 / 11:30 pm

    wow, i'd really love one but don't think i'd ever be able to justify the price tag for the amount of time its actually hot here…plus id need one for each of the rooms too ….damn!

  29. August 21, 2014 / 5:24 am

    This looks fab!! I was so gutted to be poorly when this event went on- I missed all the fun! x x

  30. gina caro
    August 21, 2014 / 3:56 pm

    Now that's a pretty impressive fan, just the sort of gadget my other half would like 🙂 #TriedTested

  31. Stacey G
    August 24, 2014 / 7:04 am

    This looks great, and fun too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.