Fisher Price Smart Stages Puppy – Review

We are huge fans of Fisher Price in our house, having grown up with the brand myself I now trust them to provide my children with great quality, exciting and educational toys.  They rarely let me down on this!

Amy was recently sent the latest baby learning toy try out.  Now I must admit I was quite surprised by the size of the Smart Stages Puppy when she arrived but actually she appears to be just the perfect size for cuddles!  From the moment Amy first saw “Sis” in the box she was desperate to have her in her arms and just gave her the most enormous cuddle once she was freed from her packaging.

She quickly discovered that the Smart Stages Puppy “did stuff” so to speak and whilst, at 15 months, she’s not really interested in actually listening to what the puppy says, she does like to press all the buttons and laughs at the sounds and lights.

The Smart Stages Puppy is aimed at children from the age of 6 months right through to 36 months with different “Smart Stages” tailored to you baby’s developmental stage.  I really like the idea of this – toys which “grow” with your child, at least you feel you’re getting more value for money that way!  That being said I’m not sure Chloe would have been particularly interested in playing with Sis when she was just 3 years old!

Smart Stages Puppy cuddles
Smart Stages Puppy Sis

What we love about it: 
* Smart Puppy is just the right size for Amy to give big squeezy hugs
* All the buttons are nice and big making it easy for her to press independently
* There’s a good variety of things said which stops it getting too tedious for Mummy (20 different songs in fact)
* The different levels mean it will last longer
* The lights and sounds reward Amy for her interaction and she finds them really entertaining
* It comes with batteries!

What we’re not so keen on: 
* You all know I don’t particularly like pink and this just another one of those toys that I really don’t understand the need for a pink and blue version but I guess the option is there if you want it.
* It’s quite easy to change the “level” by mistake – I would have liked to have been a little trickier to prevent Amy from accidentally doing it herself (or Ben for that matter!)

Sis has an RRP of £20 but is currently on offer at Argos – I think she’d make a great alternative Easter present for your little one!

*Disclaimer – We were sent the Smart Stages Puppy for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own* 

*Read more reviews here*

35 Comments

  1. March 1, 2015 / 10:12 pm

    We looked at getting this for Little Man – it's so cute! She looks like she loves it! x

  2. March 1, 2015 / 10:20 pm

    My daughter got this for Christmas last year when she was six months although it was an older version then this one and she loved the songs, my son is now six months and he loves it too. I love fisher price toys as i too had them when i was small and now buy them for my children xx

  3. March 3, 2015 / 8:22 am

    Awe, how happy does she look with it! I think it's love!

  4. March 3, 2015 / 8:39 am

    We have a similar puppy, it's still a HUGE favourite months down the line, I love how it lasts throughout various stages of learning!
    #TriedTested

  5. Dean of Little Steps
    March 3, 2015 / 8:55 am

    And from the look on your daughter's face, she absolutely loves it! I'm a fan of Fisher Price too. I think they have lovely toys! Agree with you on the pink-side, though I'm sure my daughter would love that bit 😉

  6. March 3, 2015 / 8:56 am

    Aww how cute! We have something similiar from Vtech and my son loves it, his sings to him and we'd quite often her him in his bedroom singing along! x #TriedTested

  7. March 3, 2015 / 9:18 am

    We tried one also. Made a video of it. Loved how soft he is. G was amazed by the flashing heart!

  8. March 3, 2015 / 9:46 am

    Aww very cute and it looks like it's just as popular with the grown-ups as the kids ! 🙂

  9. March 3, 2015 / 10:15 am

    Very cute – have been wondering about getting the boy version #TriedTested

  10. Karen Bell
    March 3, 2015 / 10:17 am

    That looks like a lovely cute toy for little ones. I think my kids would have loved it at that age too.

  11. Stacey Memories
    March 3, 2015 / 10:36 am

    Ive not seen this one before. It sounds great though, and perfect cuddle size…. super cute smile shows how much she likes it. 🙂

  12. March 3, 2015 / 11:08 am

    Joe had something like this when he was younger and it was one of his favourite toys. They are just lovely.

    #Tried/Tested

  13. March 3, 2015 / 11:30 am

    Looks like it is going to get lots of love. Very cute #TriedTested

  14. March 3, 2015 / 11:37 am

    Potato still plays with some of my Fisher Price toys from when I was a baby!
    This is really cute and I love the idea of a toy that grows with them, but I totally agree about the whole pink and blue thing. It would actually put me off buying one.

  15. March 3, 2015 / 12:51 pm

    I love how it has different stages to suit your child.
    We love Fisher Price in our house, a very trusted brand 🙂 #TriedTested

  16. March 3, 2015 / 12:58 pm

    I love how it has different stages to suit your child.
    We love Fisher Price in our house, a very trusted brand 🙂 #TriedTested

  17. beagreenbean
    March 3, 2015 / 1:23 pm

    What a great toy ! Looks like it's going to become a firm favourite 🙂

  18. March 3, 2015 / 1:42 pm

    We have a similar toy from Leapfrog but it's nowhere near as cuddly as this one! It's nice that they have toys to teach kids affection isn't it? Not a fan of all the guns and stuff, let's teach affection!
    Ally #triedtested x

  19. March 3, 2015 / 1:44 pm

    Ahhh we have one of these and the kids love it. Love your little girls photo she looks absolutely thrilled! Great review darling. Thanks for hosting.

  20. March 3, 2015 / 1:56 pm

    Thanks for the review! We looked at getting one of these too! She looked super chuffed with it 🙂 #triedtested

  21. March 3, 2015 / 2:14 pm

    This reminds me of Baby Tad which I think was from Leapfrog a few years ago – this one looks much more cuddly and cute though and I'm sure it would be a big hit with my two as well. #TriedTested

  22. March 3, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    I'm so with you on the tedious songs front so with 20 I could just about manage! I looks super cute and cuddly and I agree would make a good alternative Easter present, especially as my son is too young for chocolate eggs #triedtested

  23. March 3, 2015 / 5:52 pm

    I find that Fisher Price are great at making toys that last quite a few stages

  24. March 3, 2015 / 6:56 pm

    A lovely toy and she looks so happy giving it a cuddle too 🙂

  25. March 3, 2015 / 7:51 pm

    Aww! How adorable! It looks like she's having a great time with it x

  26. mummyslittle peeps
    March 3, 2015 / 7:59 pm

    I am a big fan of Fisher Price too, this looks like a lovely little addition to their range

  27. March 3, 2015 / 8:01 pm

    Oh this does look cute! Bella just turned three and I actually think she'd like this. All of mine are suckers for cuddly toys! X x

  28. March 3, 2015 / 9:02 pm

    I agree with you about toys that grow with children – you do feel you are getting value for money. I might look into this for Tin Box Tot as I want to find a present for her from Baby 2 #TriedTested

  29. emma lander
    March 3, 2015 / 9:12 pm

    Aww bless her she looks made up. It does look like a cute toy. I bought loads of pink for Betty so looks like George will be getting pink hand me downs ha ha

  30. Dave H
    March 4, 2015 / 9:27 am

    Looks a great little product – or should that be 'big' as it looks to be nearly the same size as her! Love Fisherprice stuff too.

  31. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    March 4, 2015 / 9:43 am

    Looks great, we have something similar and Boo loves hers.

  32. Victoria MyLittleLBlog
    March 9, 2015 / 10:04 pm

    looks great, we have one of those puppies laugh and learn ones it scares and amazes L at the same time

  33. Katie Haydock
    March 10, 2015 / 8:49 pm

    This is such a lovely idea to keep little miss entertained on the car journey to skegness this Easter! I don't see the point in pink and blue toys either – especially when there is a unisex version too!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.