Lighthouse “Fayda” Waterproof Parka – Review

This post features product gifted for review

As soon as I clicked onto the Lighthouse website – this beautiful parka was staring me in the face. Being tall I often find coats and jackets come up a bit short so the longer style really appealed to me. Aside from just looking better, it’s also means I won’t suffer from a wet bum when I get caught in a typically British downpour!

Lighthouse Parka

I must admit that I was tempted to go with the fail-safe navy but after some encouragement from Anna I braved the green! I’ve been trying (and mostly failing) to add more colour to my wardrobe for quite some time!  I know what colours I’m looking for thanks to a fantastic style consultation with Anna Mewes – unfortunately I’m struggling to find those colours in the shops!

Green coat with hood

When the coat arrived I was surprised at just how light-weight it was, it feels as if there’s nothing too it. Of course this makes it perfect for the summer when you don’t want to be wearing a heavy coat but have no desire to be soaked to the skin either.  This was tested perfectly at Just So Festival over the weekend when it was really warm but just wouldn’t stop raining!

The bright green is fairly true to the website and I love that it stands out, making it easy for the kids to spot me when we’re out and about.  It has also picked up lots of compliments on instagram over the weekend which just shows that it really is “my colour”.

The casual styling of the coat makes it ideal for chucking on over my standard festival attire – leggings, Joules stripe wellies etc. And for being folded up into my bag if the sun comes out!  But it’s also smart enough for the school run or a quick dash into town – it’s a gorgeous, stylish waterproof that doesn’t look like I’m about to climb a mountain or go hiking across the moors!  Waterproofs are rarely so nice to look at!

Lighthouse Parka with Joules wellies

The stripe lining is a cute detail especially as you can see it in the hood and also looks great if you fold the sleeves up!  I also found that the drawstring waist is great for my shape – coats are so often unflattering and boxy on me so this just nips everything in a bit.

Lighthouse parka details

I can be a right old fuss pot when it comes to coats and jackets and have been known to get through whole winters with a big cardigan and an umberella rather than have to wear a bulky or restrictive coat – however this one is super comfy, looks great and does the job of keeping me warm and dry too!  It’s an all round win and I know I’m going to loads of wear out of it through the warmer months!

Thanks to Lighthouse for sending me the coat free of charge for the purposes of review.  All thoughts and opinions remain my own.

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

37 Comments

  1. August 22, 2016 / 11:26 pm

    I love that colour on you and I haven’t heard of Lighthouse clothing before – off to check out their website x

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 10:45 am

      Thanks Donna, me too! It’s definitely a colour I need more of in my wardrobe!

  2. August 23, 2016 / 8:12 am

    Ooh, I’ve been looking for a waterproof coat as my old one is so bulky that I’d rather get wet than wear it. I love that this is a slightly longer style so no wet bum!

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 8:33 am

      I’m the same – I can’t bear bulky coats!

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 8:32 am

      It really is!

  3. Faye Jones
    August 23, 2016 / 8:19 am

    So unusual to get a waterproof that looks good! Although you can make anything look fab xx

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 8:32 am

      Thank you, what a lovely thing to say x

  4. August 23, 2016 / 8:27 am

    What a great coat, it really is lovely and bright and colourful! It’s great that you’ve found something that’s your colour that you feel comfortable in!

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 8:30 am

      Thank you! I’m so pleased with it 😀

  5. August 23, 2016 / 8:31 am

    Ohhhh I love the colour!

  6. August 23, 2016 / 8:41 am

    A longer length is especially important if you have to fit children into car seats, that always used to leave me with a wet bum! #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 6:47 pm

      Yes!! I always end up soaked doing that job!

  7. August 23, 2016 / 8:53 am

    Always in need of a good waterproof! My current one makes me look like a giant marshmallow! This looks great especially with the wellies 🙂 #triedtested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 6:50 pm

      They can be so unflattering can’t they! I do love my wellies – couldn’t resist the stripes 😉

  8. August 23, 2016 / 12:43 pm

    That looks so lovely on you, beautiful colour. #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 6:50 pm

      Thank you! It’s definitely encouraging me to find more green!

  9. August 23, 2016 / 1:13 pm

    This looks fab! I love the colour….It looks great on you x

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 6:51 pm

      Thanks! I’m so glad I braved the green!

  10. August 23, 2016 / 2:00 pm

    It looks great – it really does suit you in green! #triedtested

  11. August 23, 2016 / 4:05 pm

    That looks so good. The long le thr wouldn’t be right on me as I’m so short but I need a good Parka as I’m always having to wear a woolly hat right now and it’s so warm! #triedtested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 6:52 pm

      There are some lovely shorter jackets on the website too! x

  12. Sharon Parry
    August 23, 2016 / 4:20 pm

    Ahh the wet bum problem – happens all the time. I love the colour of this coat – I need something to brighten up the depressing welsh winter! Great review.

  13. August 23, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    I love the idea of a colour consultant, I would have gone for the navy!! This is such a lovely colour on you and definitely the right choice. I haven’t come across Lighthouse clothing before, but I will be taking a look as I always struggle to get one long enough. X

    • Colette
      Author
      August 23, 2016 / 6:52 pm

      I’d have totally played it safe and gone with the navy too if Anna hadn’t encouraged me x

  14. August 23, 2016 / 8:11 pm

    You look comfortable in it and the colour on you is fab #TriedTested

  15. August 23, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    Lovely colour! I love the look of the parka and it has reminded me that I really need to get one to pop in the boot for when it decides to rain! A really lovely parka! 🙂

    #TriedTested

  16. August 23, 2016 / 10:04 pm

    Love the green, really looks good on you. I’m rubbish at coats too and am like you and would wear cardigans in winter and just use an umbrella. This is a really nice waterproof though..and your wellies are awesome xx #TriedTested

  17. August 23, 2016 / 11:43 pm

    That is a lovely coat. The green is such a nice colour, and like you mentioned, great for the kids being able to spot you. #TriedTested

  18. August 24, 2016 / 3:33 am

    Anna obviously knows her onions because it is indeed a lovely colour on you! I love the longer length too – I hate the way my waterproof cuts me in half, especially since having a baby. I’ve not heard of Lighthouse before so I must check them out! #triedtested

  19. Rachel (Lifeofmyfamilyandme)
    August 24, 2016 / 6:38 pm

    Love it! Lightweight is exactly what you need in the typical British summer. The colour really suits you too! #TriedandTested

  20. August 25, 2016 / 4:32 pm

    I love love love the colour! How refreshing to see bright colours for once! #TriedTested

  21. August 27, 2016 / 8:23 am

    Gorgeous colour! I’ll have to look out for that as need a new mac x #triedtested

  22. August 28, 2016 / 1:45 pm

    I’ve had the pleasure of seeing this jacket in person and you looked lovely in it. The colour is great on you and it was perfect for a rainy/warm/sunny/rainy again Just So Festival. Love how you’ve styled it too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.