Our Low Moor Cottages Break with English Country Cottages – Review

As time goes by we are coming to realise that self catering holiday homes are the way forward for us as a family.  Anyone who has tried to sleep in a hotel room with small children for more than one night will tell you it’s a recipe for disaster.  Of course we have the added complication of an “extra child” – family rooms generally cater for a “typical” family of four.  We’ve got away with this until now as Amy has been in a travel cot, and if caught short she would happily bed in with Chlo.  But realistically, this isn’t a great option.  We face a future of needing to book two hotel rooms – most likely one for the girls and one for the boys (as I’m not comfortable with the kids sleeping in random hotel rooms on their own even if we are just next door!)  Apart from anything else – that doubles the cost of your break before you’ve even left the house!

With this in mind, when we were invited by English Country Cottages to take a little holiday in one of their properties we jumped at the chance!  The first gold star comes when you’re searching for a property to sleep two adults and three children, you are given hundreds (and I’m not exaggerating) of options ranging from cute little three bedroom cottages to a couple of seriously enormous places sleeping more than twenty!

English Country Cottages kindly picked out a few suggestions for us and based on a number of factors we chose Low Moor Cottages in Scarborough.  A couple of things made it a stand out as the winner for us – the first being it’s not too far away, just a couple of hours in the car from our house but conveniently just an hour from my parents’ which meant we could drop Thomas off on the way.  (No pets allowed at Low Moor Cottages however you can search for pet friendly properties on the English Country Cottages website.)  The second advantage was the beautiful enclosed garden space.  Added to this the fact that the property slept eight and was close to the coast. We were sold!

Stable Cottage is the largest of five cottages built on old farm land – we loved that our garden backed onto the farm itself and a field full of sheep who we could hear conversing with one another at night.  The views from both the front and back of the cottage are those of rolling green fields and farm animals.  So, whilst you’re only a ten to fifteen minute drive from Scarborough sea front, you are also well and truly out into the countryside and able to escape all the hustle and bustle of the coastal town.  The peaceful setting of Low Moor Cottages felt pretty perfect to us!

Low Moor Cottages - view of fields from back garden

Of course as a result of being that little bit further out of town, you do need to plan your shopping a little!  We had decided beforehand that we would take food for picnic lunches and then probably eat out on a night.  This served to be a good decision – in part because the fridge in the cottage is a relatively small under counter affair which really wasn’t sufficient for eight people. As it was, we managed fairly well but were glad we hadn’t brought any more food with us!  (We found a pub a short drive down the road which had a great outdoor play area for the kids and was really good value so we ended up eating there for two of the four nights!)

Low Moor Cottage - cottage kitchen

Low Moor Cottages - kids sleeping in twin room

The cottage has four very comfortable bedrooms – two double and two twin, making it ideal for two families of four to share a holiday!  We made the most of the extra space by inviting the Butlers to join us (minus Daddy who had to work) which meant we tested out the cottage to it’s full capacity!  There are two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs with a further two bedrooms and a shower room downstairs.  This worked really well for us as it meant we could separate out the kids a bit at bedtime, however it might not work quite so well if you were putting light sleeping children to bed downstairs or if guests wanted to have a bit of a lie in whilst others were up having breakfast.  I wouldn’t normally sing the praises of a downstairs shower, however in this instance it was a god send.  After a full day of beach based fun we were able to leave the kids playing out in the garden and bring them in one by one to the shower so we minimised the amount of sand spread about the property.

Low Moor Cottages - sack race in the garden

The enclosed, private garden, which had been one of the main reasons for us booking Low Moor Cottages, didn’t disappoint.  It was a great size for the kids to play safely and an equally lovely place for us to sit and have a drink or some lunch!

We made full use of the washing machine to be able to get our sandy beach clothes clean and dried – which had the added bonus of meaning we didn’t bring bag loads of washing home with us!  (Paula tells me that Stable Cottage will be having an extension soon to create a sort of utility room for a tumble drier, muddy wellies and pushchairs which I think will be really useful.)

Low Moor Cottages - kids having breakfast

We were beyond lucky with the weather over the course of the week and spent much of our time down in Scarborough either on the beach, in the arcades or at Peasholme Park.  This was pretty much perfect for keeping our team of five occupied and also meant we didn’t spend a fortune on entertaining them.  Both Mich and I commented that Stable Cottage was the ideal base for us to get out and explore but had the weather been different we might have felt a little cramped if we spent too long indoors.  The actual living space of the cottage was perfectly adequate for us having breakfast, watching a bit of TV while we got everyone ready to go out or for the three adults to relax on an evening however if there had been eight adults in the cottage it would have been a different matter entirely.  Of course bearing in mind this is a “cottage” and not a “house” I do think you have to expect things will be cosy!

Low Moor Cottages - living room

All in we had a really wonderful stay at Low Moor Cottages and the children didn’t want to leave!  (Chloe tells me that she’s going to take her own children there when she’s a grown up).  We would definitely look to book a break with English Country Cottages again next time we’re looking for a few nights away in our own beautiful country!

Low Moor Cottages - kids outside holiday cottage

*We were invited by English Country Cottages to stay at Low Moor Cottages free of charge for the purposes of review.  All thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

*Read about more of our adventures here*

Share:

40 Comments

  1. July 27, 2016 / 9:23 am

    The cottage looks really spacious and nice. Bet you all had a good time.

  2. July 27, 2016 / 10:08 am

    The cottage looks lovely and really spacious and so fab to have an enclosed private garden too.

  3. July 27, 2016 / 5:26 pm

    It looks beautiful, sounds like you all had a great time! I do think holiday cottages are a fab, affordable option for groups or larger families 🙂

    Jess xo |

  4. July 27, 2016 / 4:51 pm

    I love that there's a private garden! Some fab views to be enjoyed there too

  5. July 27, 2016 / 5:13 pm

    This looks beautiful. We're off to Scarborough in September so something like this would be fab

    Cat x

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 8:37 am

      Fingers crossed for lovely weather for you!

  6. August 2, 2016 / 7:05 am

    It looks like you had a brilliant time. I think we’ll be looking for something like this, too. We can do the hotel rooms with the two kids, though as you say, it’s only really a one or two nights thing as we all find ourselves going to bed at the same time! We have done caravans but we are looking for something more comfortable and I like the idea of the outside enclosed space, too. Glad you had fun!

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 8:43 am

      It really is the ideal solution when you’re travelling with kids!

  7. August 2, 2016 / 7:08 am

    Looks like a wonderful place to stay, home away from home. #triedtested

  8. August 2, 2016 / 8:16 am

    We nearly booked something with them for our holiday to Norfolk! And then Grumpy Boyfriend found a flat with a swimming pool and a hot tub! Your place looks so lovely and warm though! Perfect place for a family holiday. I will check this company again if there is nowhere to book with a hot tub! LOL #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 8:49 am

      You can’t beat a swimming pool!
      We’d definitely go away with English Country Cottages again though.

  9. August 2, 2016 / 8:22 am

    This looks like my kind of break. We don;t have a garden at home so the idea of a private outdoor space is heavenly! I prefer self catered breaks for my own family and always say that British holidays are massively under-rated. Looks like you guys had a fab time and Chloe is a girl after my own heart – I’d want to stay forever too! #triedtested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 8:47 am

      Yes our own garden leaves a lot to be desired to this beautifully maintained space was a treat!
      Self-catered is so much easier with kids isn’t it.

  10. August 2, 2016 / 8:43 am

    How lovely! I think self-catering will be the way to go for us in the future – I’m not keen on reading in the hotel bathroom whilst the kids sleep! #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 8:45 am

      We tend to find ourselves laid in bed in the dark waiting for them to drop off and then quietly watching a film or being on facebook – hardly ideal 😉

  11. August 2, 2016 / 8:52 am

    What a lovely start to the holidays, it looks like a great way to enjoy some family time together and I’m all for UK cottage holidays! #TriedTested

  12. August 2, 2016 / 8:58 am

    Looks amazing! I hope you all had a great time x #triedtested

  13. August 2, 2016 / 9:11 am

    Looks so cosy! I love Scarborough for what it is too! Having worked in Whitby for a few years I visited a few times! X

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 3:35 pm

      Oh I LOVE Whitby! Magpie fish & chips ftw.

  14. August 2, 2016 / 9:32 am

    I find villas or cottages are so much nicer to stay in when you have kids – things like the use of a washing machine are most helpful! #triedtested

  15. August 2, 2016 / 9:47 am

    That looks like a great place to stay. We’ve coped quite well in hotel rooms so far but for longer stays a cottage is a much better option. I love the enclosed garden and the fact it had a washing machine is brilliant. It looks comfortable and cosy too 🙂 #triedtested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 3:34 pm

      The washing machine really was a lifesaver, especially with all the sandy wet clothes!

  16. Kate Limburn
    August 2, 2016 / 10:35 am

    We’re about to add baby no.3 to our tribe so know what you mean about the hotel room options! Self catering always gives such freedom too with little people. Looks like a snug cottage and a nice base for your break away. #triedandtested

  17. August 2, 2016 / 11:05 am

    We are a huge fan of self catering cottages for holidays with kids and even better if you can go with another family or relatives, makes it all the more fun. Looks like you had a great time at a lovely cottage xx

  18. August 2, 2016 / 11:36 am

    Looks like a great cottage – and seems you had a fab time! We only have the one Piglet at the moment but I’m already anticipating a lot of self catering holidays in our future. That way you can put sprogs to bed and then enjoy yourself rather than having to sit in silence in a hotel room while they sleep! #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 3:34 pm

      Exactly that – it makes such a difference to you being able to get some time to relax yourselves.

  19. August 2, 2016 / 11:51 am

    Looks like you had a fantastic time! We’re really lucky that my mum and dad have a caravan in Wales and it’s ideal when we fancy a little break away. We can put O to bed and then chill out in the lounge, not so easy to do all in one hotel room!
    P.S. You were lucky to get such fab weather when you were there! xx

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 3:31 pm

      Oh that sounds lovely! We stayed in a caravan in France last year but the kids struggled to get to sleep when we were sat out on the balcony area playing Uno and drinking wine 😉

  20. August 2, 2016 / 12:22 pm

    What a lovely cottage and surrounded by beautiful views. I am totally with you about self-catering holidays they are the best for us, so much more flexibility. My parents want us all go away as a family next year, so the sleeps 20 sounds good to me I will be taking a look x

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 3:30 pm

      When I was younger I wouldn’t have dreamt of self-catering, who wants to cook on holiday? But yes, with children it’s definitely the easier option.

  21. August 2, 2016 / 3:16 pm

    I will definitely take a look at this site as possibly need something for a 75th birthday in February. #triedtested lifeinthemumslane

    • Colette
      Author
      August 2, 2016 / 3:29 pm

      Ah that would work really well wouldn’t it!

  22. August 2, 2016 / 4:28 pm

    How lovely! Looks perfect for children and a really great find so close to the beach but far enough away too! We are looking for somewhere to take our 3yr old as we haven’t been away since having her and I think we will probably stick to the UK for our first family holiday! It looks like you all had lots of fun! 🙂

    #TriedTested

  23. August 2, 2016 / 6:40 pm

    We’re big fans of self catering. The going to bed at the same time as the child only works for a couple of nights, any longer audit doesn’t work. I looked at the English Country Cottages website when we were planning a holiday last year, they had a great selection. Your cottage looks lovely 🙂

    #triedtested

  24. Hannah - smeethsaysfashion
    August 2, 2016 / 7:30 pm

    Looks beautiful and so much fun!

  25. August 2, 2016 / 7:50 pm

    Oh my goodness, this looks wonderful. We went for our first cottage holiday earlier this year and loved it. It’s so much easier than flying with a family. Looks like you guys had a wonderful stay, I love the big garden too. Tor x #triedtested

  26. August 2, 2016 / 9:21 pm

    Self catering is the way forward for us too now as we have four kids so hotel rooms are just out of the question! I love the idea of a cottage holiday, perhaps we should try this next year x

  27. August 2, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    Looks fantastic. I think this is the sort of holiday we’ll be doing in the future. Great review. #triedtested

  28. August 9, 2016 / 8:44 am

    I am starting to wonder the same! Espically when you have the use of a washing machine and a very sicky baby. Great that there are a wide range of options. Thanks for hosting #TriedTested

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.