Play at Brewers Fayre, The Old Brickworks – Review

At the start of this month we were invited to the launch of the new “Play at Brewers Fayre” area at the Old Brickworks Brewers Fayre pub.

The exciting new Beano-themed play area was bright and welcoming with a smaller, easily accessible toddler area at the front and then a larger, more active double story play space to the back of the room.  This layout makes sense to me –  keep the little ones where you can see them easily!  One thing I would say is that it was a shame the door out of the play area just pushed open rather than having a higher handle to keep the younger children more secure.  Amy and Erin were more than comfortable in the Toddlers area – with plenty of space to climb and a slide they enjoyed their freedom.

Toddler area

Ben, Finley and Chloe had their shoes off within seconds of walking through the door – they were shoved into our hands and they were off.  (We couldn’t spot anywhere to store their shoes but we just put them under our table in the restaurant area).  They were soon off and exploring, clambering around all over the place and working up an appetite.  There’s so much packed into a relatively small space and it kept the kids busy for a while, even Ben and Finley who tend to prefer much larger play areas these days. They loved it so much that in fact they had to be coaxed out.

A right pair of monkeys!
Beano carpet!
Plenty to explore!

Although none of our little gang were particularly aware of who Denis the Menace was they were still quite excited to meet him!  (Well the boys were anyway, the girls weren’t quite so sure!!)  Denis the Menace made regular appearances throughout the day, posing for pictures with the children and even having a sit down in the toddler play area for a while.  We thought the Beano theme was pretty cool though as it clearly appeals to children even when they aren’t familiar with the characters but also brings out a bit of nostalgia for the parents!

Meeting Denis and Gnasher

I was quite amused by Ben asking “Because Denis the Menace is naughty, if I have my face painted as Denis the Menace can I be naughty?”  Erm no kid.  No you can’t!  We convinced him that perhaps he should go for the rather more heroic Spiderman option!!

Spider Ben!

The quality of work done by the face painter was really impressive and worth the wait! Unsurprisingly Chloe and Erin chose to have Frozen faces . . .

Chloe’s Frozen face

After the children had all had their faces painted we sat down for our lunch.  The children’s menu is has a Beano theme with offerings such as the Menace Burger and Spaghetti Beano-ese from £3.99.  All five children were really happy with their meals and made pretty short work of them!

Menace Burger
Macaroni Cheese
Safe to say Amy enjoyed her chocolate sundae

Mich and I enjoyed quiche a jacket potato – I was really pleased to see the butter for the spud was served on the side which is ideal if you’re dieting!  The quiche was tasty and substantial.  Throughout the week Brewers Fayre have a range of special offers on making eating at Brewers Fayre great value.

We were really impressed by how friendly and accommodating all the staff were.  The food was lovely and the service was great.  All in all we had a really lovely time at Brewers Fayre and we’d definitely go back!

*We were invited to experience Play at Brewers Fayre free of charge for the purposes of review, all thoughts and opinions remain our own* 

*Read more reviews here*

39 Comments

  1. March 23, 2015 / 9:56 pm

    What a great place, adorable pictures of your little ones x

  2. March 23, 2015 / 10:47 pm

    This looks like so much fun, what a great place to eat. I've never been to a Brewers Fayre, will have to change that x

  3. March 24, 2015 / 7:59 am

    It is so much easier to go out for a meal when children can be occupied. Love the additional appearances of Dennis the Menace πŸ™‚

    #TriedTested

  4. March 24, 2015 / 8:04 am

    What a great time it looks like you all had! The face painting is great! Ideal for familes to enjoy eating out whilst keeping the kids entertained! x

  5. March 24, 2015 / 8:10 am

    I use to go to one like this with my grandad years ago but they got rid of the play area to make more room for seating and make it more grown up…..big mistake in my eyes. I wish their was one like this closer to me now as its lovely for the kids to be able to go off and play.

  6. March 24, 2015 / 8:10 am

    Looks like a great place for the kids, and certainly beats Charlie Chalk (the old brewers Fayre mascot from 20 something years ago – that my friend had to dress up as).

  7. March 24, 2015 / 8:20 am

    Many moons ago I used to work at a Brewers Fayre with a Charlie Chalks fun factory… you'd not want to hear some of the weird things that we found in the ball pits… but this post did bring back good memories of staff parties after hours πŸ˜‰

  8. March 24, 2015 / 8:48 am

    Look like the children had lots of fun! We have been to a Brewers Fayre over in Kent before. I think they are such a great idea. Parents get to enjoy their food and the children get to play – perfect. Just wish there was one a bit closer to me! x

  9. March 24, 2015 / 9:02 am

    Looks great. I will have to see where the closest one to me is. Looks great fun!

  10. Sharon Powell
    March 24, 2015 / 9:13 am

    Looks like you had a brilliant time! We love Brewers Fayre for food but have not experienced one with a play centre in yet, looks great x

  11. March 24, 2015 / 9:25 am

    This looks great. We don't have any decent soft plays near us πŸ™ the food looks good too #triedtested

  12. March 24, 2015 / 9:32 am

    Haha! Long Amy's face with that sundae.
    I love the theme – it's a shame we can't all dress as Dennis and be naughty hey x

  13. Janine Dolan
    March 24, 2015 / 9:44 am

    I would just go for the food. lol

  14. March 24, 2015 / 9:58 am

    This looks so good, I love when restaurants have something to keep the kids occupied whilst they wait for their dinner to arrive! #TriedTested

  15. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    March 24, 2015 / 10:28 am

    This looks like a great place, I love the face painting pictures =D

  16. Janette Davey
    March 24, 2015 / 10:43 am

    Looks great fun and the meals seem a decent size for the price too. Wish we had one near us.

  17. Emma Lofthouse-Burch
    March 24, 2015 / 10:48 am

    We were at this event too, it was so much fun for the kids!! X

  18. Blogger Mummy Lauren
    March 24, 2015 / 11:01 am

    This looks like great fun, and the food looks delicious x

  19. Karen Bell
    March 24, 2015 / 11:02 am

    That looks like a great family experience and lots of fun for the kids. The face painting is fab!

  20. March 24, 2015 / 11:05 am

    The soft play looks great and it looks like your little ones had a fabby time πŸ™‚ Love the face painting.

  21. March 24, 2015 / 11:08 am

    This looks lovely, my last few experiences at Brewers Fayre have been pretty terrible, but I love the idea of the Dennis the Menace theme.

    #Tried/Tested

  22. March 24, 2015 / 11:23 am

    It looks like you all had a great time! We love Brewers Fayre but your play area looks so much better than ours x

  23. March 24, 2015 / 11:36 am

    Looks like your littles had a super time and the food looks tasty. I like how it's themed around a character. Not a fan of soft play if I am honest, not quite sure how we've dodged them for so long really. #TriedTested

  24. March 24, 2015 / 12:36 pm

    We recently have been to our local brewers fayre and we loved Dennis the Menace πŸ™‚

  25. March 24, 2015 / 1:02 pm

    I love that ice cream face! We've just been to Brewers Fayre too, and we loved it! #triedtested Zx

  26. March 24, 2015 / 3:36 pm

    This looks fab! Love your little girl's face covered in ice cream! #triedtested

  27. March 24, 2015 / 5:34 pm

    We have a Brewers Fayre close by – nice to eat a meal and Adam can play too

  28. Mummy Melton
    March 24, 2015 / 7:59 pm

    Looks like everyone had a great time, I love the photo of Amy with her sundae

  29. March 24, 2015 / 8:10 pm

    Looks like a brilliant day out! Love Ben's logic πŸ™‚ Kids are brilliant!

  30. March 24, 2015 / 8:55 pm

    Denise the menace play area looks great fun.

  31. March 24, 2015 / 9:39 pm

    This looks a fab place to play! I LOVE the spiderman face painting πŸ™‚

  32. Lamb & Bear
    March 24, 2015 / 9:46 pm

    We don't have anywhere local to us with a play area indoors for the kids. It's such a good idea. Lamb gets so bored waiting for us to eat, having a soft play area for him to run around in would be ideal. Maybe I'll contact Brewers Fayre and ask them to build a play area in our local restaurant! x

  33. Dave H
    March 25, 2015 / 9:16 am

    Man, I want to be Spiderman! I didn't even know Beano was still a thing as that takes me back to my childhood. Looks like you had fun πŸ™‚

  34. katefever
    March 25, 2015 / 9:31 am

    We really like Brewers Fayre as a rule, ours has a great play area too.

  35. March 25, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    Our local Brewers Fayre is in dire need of updating so I hope it is next on their list to do up as the food is lovely

  36. March 25, 2015 / 8:53 pm

    Sounds like you had a great time – love the face paints too, really cute both of them πŸ™‚ #triedtested

  37. March 26, 2015 / 8:21 am

    We love Brewers Fayre, we have one not far from us too. Its such a fun place to go for the whole family due to them having that soft play area. Love everything that was going on in this one, loads of fun and the face painting was awesome too! x

  38. Victoria MyLittleLBlog
    March 31, 2015 / 2:19 pm

    looks like lots of fun, we like Brewers Fayre, would be great if our local one can have children area

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.