Playmobil Fire Chief’s Car #5364 – Review

Despite a real love of construction and small world in our house, we’ve never actually had any PLAYMOBIL toys until now.  I guess we’ve stuck to the HappyLand which is obviously a bit younger, or LEGO which is a different ball (or brick) game entirely.  I’m thrilled that we’ve been asked to be PLAYMOBIL Playologists this year as it means we’re going to be introducing plenty of PLAYMOBIL to our house and I know it’s going to be loved by all three of them!  As a top manufacturer of preschool toys, it feels a little like PLAYMOBIL has a foot in both camps so to speak suiting Ben’s love of making things and the girls’ love of small world.  Amy in particular loves small world at the moment and the more grown up feel to PLAYMOBIL means the big two are far more likely to want to play along.  (And let’s face it, anything which has all three kids playing happily together is onto a winner!)

PLAYMOBIL Fire Car

PLAYMOBIL Fire car kit

As Ben is pretty experienced when it comes to building various constructions sets I decided to leave him to it.  The PLAYMOBIL Fire Chief’s Car comes part built with a booklet of clear pictorial instructions on how to complete it.  Unfortunately we didn’t realise there are two parts to the book – if you start at one end it tells you how to complete the basic car, if you start at the other end it tells you how to fit the remote control unit.  We started at the wrong end.  This meant the instructions felt unnecessarily complicated as we kept finding bits that were irrelevant . . . more fool us!  We only realised once Ben had put the whole set together that there was a more basic version of the instructions at the other end of the booklet!
Building PLAYMOBIL

The Fire Chief’s Car with Lights and Sound can be upgraded with a RC module – I must admit neither Ben nor I could understand why it wasn’t just included in the set.  It was a bit “Look what you could have won” – particularly as we found the back wheels on the car didn’t seem to move very freely and Ben felt this was probably because it was designed to be remote control.

Aside from this niggle the set was really quite simple to fit together.  Ben found the wheels a little frustrating as they didn’t fit together in quite the way he had expected – and then as I have mentioned didn’t seem to move very freely once on the vehicle.  He really enjoyed adding the stickers for the sat nav and the vehicle registration plate.

The Fire Chief’s Car with Lights and Sound does not include batteries so do make sure you’ve got that single AAA battery to hand if you want to enjoy the full siren effect!  (Or don’t . . . . )  Along with the vehicle itself, the set includes a PLAYMOBIL figure with megaphone, traffic cones, fire extinguisher and other associated paraphernalia.

PLAYMOBIL Fire Chief

This particular set is a limited-edition to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the London Fire Brigade with 10% of the proceeds going to the Brigade’s charity of choice.  I think this is a lovely idea but Ben couldn’t quite work out what the stickers were for as there wasn’t a space for them on the car as it was already printed.

PLAYMOBIL Fire Chief playset

The set is a great size for little hands to be able to manipulate – chunky yet with small pieces for those children who have more developed fine motor skills.

Playing with PLAYMOBIL

* We were sent the PLAYMOBIL Fire Chief’s Car with Lights and Sound free of charge for the purposes of review.  All thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

29 Comments

  1. September 10, 2016 / 11:37 pm

    Ah they are so cute playing together. Love your playroom! x

    • Colette
      Author
      September 11, 2016 / 7:33 am

      Thank you! I do love that room!

  2. September 12, 2016 / 10:50 pm

    Ah we love Playmobil (the kits are a great price point for friends birthday presents too). Good tip about the instructions, I hadn’t noticed with the ones we’ve had but you never know.

    Still love your playroom!

  3. September 20, 2016 / 8:04 am

    I love Playmobil and we do have a bit but I think if I had to choose I would prefer to buy Lego. Although saying that my daughter quite often mixes and matches the two!

    #TriesTested

  4. September 20, 2016 / 8:11 am

    We have got this and my youngest two love it. I love all the little pieces that come with it. Love Playmobil #TriedTested

  5. September 20, 2016 / 8:17 am

    I’ve never tried playmobil for my girls, but I have to say it does look great. Fab review #TriedTested

  6. September 20, 2016 / 8:28 am

    Who needs instructions hey??? ??? #triedtested

  7. September 20, 2016 / 8:52 am

    This stuff never fails to capture kids imagination and give hours of fun #TriedTested

  8. September 20, 2016 / 9:00 am

    I love any toy that involves the children sitting down and concentrating in (general) peace and quiet. My daughter adores building models but is probably a bit too old for this now; however, my son is 10 but has severe learning disabilities and I’m thinking that perhaps he would like this sort of thing. Looks like they all had fun x #triedandtested

  9. September 20, 2016 / 9:37 am

    This is such a lovely toy. I love all the intricate detail. I can imagine this would keep the kiddies entertained for a long time Kat x #TriedTested

  10. September 20, 2016 / 9:58 am

    This looks fab! I love that they will all play together with it, it’s what you want. I am going to have to have a look at the range and see what Boo would like!

  11. September 20, 2016 / 10:12 am

    Looks like a great little toy! Its a shame about the niggles you had with it, I know Mia would be frustrated if it didn’t do what she was expecting! We do like Playmobil though 🙂

    #TriedTested

  12. September 20, 2016 / 10:18 am

    This looks fab , bless them both playing Together so cute !

  13. September 20, 2016 / 10:40 am

    We love playmobil. We have the boat and police car. This should be something we add on maybe next year because my son is only four so he doesn’t appreciate the small bits that come with it yet.

  14. September 20, 2016 / 10:42 am

    We have lots of Playmobil in our house, my eldest loves it. He’s really big on emergency services so he has lots of the police and fire station range, including this car. Realistic toys are his favourite and so he loves the lights, sirens and all the detail Playmobil toys have. #TriedTested

  15. September 20, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    That looks fantastic….
    My girls never got into Playmobil but I loved it as a child x

  16. September 20, 2016 / 12:42 pm

    Looks nice but shame about the R/C. I’ve never bought Playmobil but we have a few sets that the boys have received as presents or won

  17. September 20, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    my 2 youngest grandsons are just getting into Playmobile, Love your storage x #triedandtested

  18. September 20, 2016 / 2:42 pm

    Looks great. My two are just starting to get into Playmobil x #triedtested

  19. September 20, 2016 / 3:40 pm

    Alice got her first play mobile toy for her birthday last month and I was really impressed with it. Like you I hadn’t considered it before. This one looks fab, they look like they are enjoying it X

  20. September 20, 2016 / 6:46 pm

    We love Playmobil. I like the look of this fire chief’s car although it’s a shame that it doesn’t come with the remote control part – especially if it doesn’t work quite so well on its own. #triedtested

  21. September 20, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    My boy is a big fan of anything you have to build, and Playmobile is on this list however we haven’t seen this limited edition set. It’s good because it can be upgraded, as you say, to a RC model but it would be better to include it in the set from the start.
    We do have a bit of Playmobile but I think Lego is still my boy’s favourite – although the two can easily mix and match.
    #TriedTested

  22. September 20, 2016 / 9:41 pm

    I absolutely love Playmobil stuff and think that it’s great that it’s still around all these years later. Secretly hoping Noah wants to start a collection when he’s older! #triedandtested

  23. September 21, 2016 / 1:43 pm

    We’ve never bought into Playmobil. It does look a great set – although it is a shame that it doesn’t come with the RC part…

  24. September 22, 2016 / 2:43 pm

    We love playmobil here – but the bigger things like the fire engine we have really did take sooo much to put together. My eldest couldn’t even begin on his own! They are such great toys once assembled though! #triedtested

  25. September 22, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    I loved Playmobil, although my kids don’t have any (yet…). Your photos are excellent, really lovely to see the children playing. #TriedTested

  26. September 26, 2016 / 10:12 am

    We’re big fans of Playmobil in our house – love this! #TriedTested

  27. September 27, 2016 / 8:54 am

    Monkey loves playmobil and is just starting to actually play with it! If that makes sense it’s lovely to see his imagination come to life with the play sets they are so detailed. Thanks for hosting #triedtested

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.