Slumber-Roo Beco Soleil V2 Carrier – Review

This post features product gifted for review

I’ve used a Close carrier for a long time – with Ben, Chloe and then Amy but found that although you could carry them as older babies / toddlers it was a bit of a pain as the sling tended to work lose as you were walking.  I’d been hankering over something more structured for a while, something which would spread the weight more evenly and stay where I put it.  Having suffered quite a bit with my back I also liked the idea of the weight being more on my hips.

Enter the Beco Soleil (Version 2) . . .

We have been using the carrier for a couple of months now and let me just put this out there – WE LOVE IT!  Not just me, Dave loves it too!  I’m not ashamed to admit there has even been the odd squabble over who gets to wear Amy!

Mummy wearing Beco Soleil

The first time I put the Beco Soleil carrier on I didn’t actually look at the instructions (not that I’m suggesting you fly by the seat of your pants of course) but it was just so obvious and intuitive.

How to put on the Beco Soleil carrier:

Despite Dave being slightly out of the upper height range at 6ft 5 he is able to wear it comfortably – the first time he wore it he described it as “remarkably comfortable” and said he could have worn it all day.  Indeed we have both worn it for up to a couple of hours with no discomfort.  The only slight issue is that you, and baby, can end up feeling a bit warm if you’re wearing it on a hot day – this is not a fault of the carrier so much as just what would happen anyway if you were to sit and hold your baby close for a long time!

Daddy baby wearing

And Amy? She regularly falls asleep in the carrier which I would suggest gives it her seal of approval!  She never complains when we put her in it and rarely fidgets to get back out.  She can see what’s going on or snuggle in if she wants a snooze.  I’m pretty confident in saying she loves it as much as we do!At the moment we still carry Amy in the front carry for the most part – I like to be able to see her and if I’m honest I’m worried if I carry her on my back she’ll pull my hair!  I do intend to start to carry her in the side carry soon.  Dave tried out the back carry in the interests of research last weekend and said it was really comfortable.  We thought she looked like a little tree frog! It’s basically like carrying a rucksack and whilst she seemed happy enough we both said we didn’t like that she couldn’t easily be seen – I think we’ll leave the back carry till she’s a bit older.

Beco Soleil

What we love about the Beco Soleil V2:

* The hood

* The fact its easy to pull tight on the straps

* I’m not slim but there’s still plenty of room on the straps for someone bigger to wear it.

* The pocket on the front is so useful for keys, mobile and a few quid!

* The wide waistband really spreads the weight evenly across the hips – there is no strain on your back at all

* Toy tabs – such a useful addition

* The carrier itself is really light (just 1.5lb)

* The weight range is huge – from 7lbs to 45lbs . . . I could feasibly carry Ben in it (not that I actually would of course)

* The carrier feels really secure when you’re wearing it – it stays put, nothing loosens during wear

* It’s super flexible – front, hip and back carry positions with no extra bits required

* The “safety” buckles – they’re awkward till you get used to them but then reassuringly tricky to open

* It looks smart (and just as good on Dad)

* The cross straps across the back make a big difference to how secure and comfortable the carrier feels

What we’re not so keen on: 

*Absolutely nothing. I just wish I’d had it 5 years ago!!

I wonder if Father Christmas might bring Chloe a matching one – I love that the Beco Mini has matching fabrics and everything to be just like Mummy (or Daddy!)

Why not read “Why I babywear with my toddler” next?

40 Comments

  1. September 1, 2014 / 9:33 pm

    Great post! I absolutely love carrying Little Man and this looks like a fantastic carrier. Love your video too! x

  2. September 4, 2014 / 6:24 pm

    Aww look at the little hood, that is reaaally adorable! x

  3. September 5, 2014 / 8:25 pm

    This looks so cute. We have a baby bjorn and babasling and like both for different reasons but looking for a back carrier too.

  4. Sarah Doyle
    September 9, 2014 / 7:28 am

    I love the look of this, and the hood looks great. We have an Ergo & a rose and rebellion which I love, but the hoods on them don't look as good as this does… One to add to my want list!
    #tried&tested

  5. London Mum
    September 9, 2014 / 7:46 am

    I really wish I could get Baby London to like baby carriers. He's just too active 🙁 x

  6. September 9, 2014 / 7:18 am

    This looks amazing! I LOVE the hood, such a brilliant idea. It really does look great x

  7. Helen C
    September 9, 2014 / 9:00 am

    She looks really cosy in there – I love the hood!

  8. September 9, 2014 / 8:00 am

    This baby carrier looks lovely and so cosy. Great idea to have a hood. #TriedTested

  9. September 9, 2014 / 8:09 am

    This looks great and Amy seems very happy in it. I love that is has the pocket at the front and the pattern is lovely. We've been trying out the Ergo and I'd be lost without it now, I wondered what we did before having a baby carrier! We are after another one so will have to look into these xx #triedtested

  10. Amy Squires
    September 9, 2014 / 9:27 am

    Great review, she looks super comfy in that carrier! The hood is a great idea too!

  11. September 9, 2014 / 8:35 am

    That looks fantastic! I really like the hood! What a clever idea x

  12. September 9, 2014 / 9:04 am

    I've always been interested in baby carrying but never done it! This looks fab and she does look very happy in there xx

  13. katefever
    September 9, 2014 / 10:15 am

    We love the Beco Soleil too, Max enjoys the back carry – being able to see what's going on and I find it so comfortable. #TriedTested

  14. September 9, 2014 / 9:40 am

    That does look so comfortable, and I have to say she looks so content and comfy in this.

    #Tried/tested

  15. Pippa Ainsworth
    September 9, 2014 / 10:43 am

    I love the look of this. I think it would be perfect for LM. She still loves to be carried but I struggle with the wrap style when I'm on my own with her.

    • September 9, 2014 / 9:10 pm

      It's SO easy to put on. I have actually put Ben in it for the sake of testing!

  16. Philippa Tyrer
    September 9, 2014 / 11:49 am

    Aww, I miss carrying my babies! I love that you fight over it too – my husband was only too happy to let me be the sole user of our carrier!

  17. Sian PottyMouthedMummy
    September 9, 2014 / 12:18 pm

    Ahhh very cute, looks fab. Adore the bottom pic!!

  18. September 9, 2014 / 11:20 am

    Gorgeous carrier and beautiful child! #britmumsasummerofreviews

  19. September 9, 2014 / 11:39 am

    Looks fab hun! And there is nothing better than a man with a baby carrier! Love it when my hub wears one xxx

  20. Tas D
    September 9, 2014 / 12:51 pm

    I've not been one for baby carriers but this looks so nice and snug and the hood is a really nice touch!

  21. September 9, 2014 / 12:16 pm

    That looks fab, I love the hood. I never used a carrier with Monkey, but if I had, then this would have been a great option #TriedTested

  22. September 9, 2014 / 12:59 pm

    this looks so much more comfortable than some! i love the little hood, how cute yet practical x

  23. September 9, 2014 / 1:05 pm

    I am like you this sounds AMAZING Colette. I wish I had one of these with both of my two. Three years ago. Probably could still use for MM for a bit too. Great item and great review. It's good to be back in the UK after our summer in america. I can join in again. I have a few this week and few next week. I hope this is ok? 😉 Miss yall. Great posting! Thanks for hosting my lovely.

  24. September 9, 2014 / 3:00 pm

    I struggled with carriers full stop. This looks great and I'd have loved something like this with both mine when they were younger.

  25. Jo Smith
    September 9, 2014 / 4:13 pm

    I've not worn either son but am seriously contemplating doing so with Finley. This looks much comfier than some others I've seen (for both parent and child!) #triedtested

  26. September 9, 2014 / 6:14 pm

    I have never worn a carrier before but now I have a newborn and a one year old to run after I have bee thinking of getting a one and this looks brilliant and so easy to use #triedtested

    • September 9, 2014 / 9:12 pm

      I've tried quite a few recently and this is by far my favourite x

  27. September 9, 2014 / 7:34 pm

    I use to love carrying my babies around, they are all too big now. It looks so comfy to wear for both of you.

  28. September 9, 2014 / 7:58 pm

    This looks good and I love the hood #TriedTested

  29. September 9, 2014 / 8:45 pm

    Looks good – am just sad that I'm way past this stage now (and not going back!!)

  30. September 9, 2014 / 10:29 pm

    She looks really comfortable 🙂
    I tried using a carrier briefly when I had my youngest but my little boy just kept wanting to be picked up and carried then too, and that's not something mummy with a very dodgy back could manage!
    #TriedTested

  31. September 10, 2014 / 5:31 am

    Oh this looks fabulous. I used a moby and then an emeibaby carrier for Bella but I've heard other great things about this one too. Thanks for sharing x

  32. September 10, 2014 / 9:40 am

    Is it wrong that I'm secretly pleased mine are all too big to be carried around like this any more? I bet it wouldn't have been so uncomfortable if I had a lovely carrier like this though! #TriedTested

  33. Clare Nicholas
    September 10, 2014 / 10:49 pm

    She looks super comfy in there – I wish harry would let me carry him still

  34. sharon powell
    September 11, 2014 / 9:22 am

    Looks great, I love the little hood, fab idea x

  35. Stacey G
    September 11, 2014 / 9:28 pm

    This looks a fantastic carrier! Love seeing babywearing daddies 😀

  36. September 15, 2014 / 1:37 pm

    I loved wearing Potato when he was little but gave up when he reached about a year, because it got too cumbersome. I wished I'd found this recommendation before!
    TriedTested

  37. September 16, 2014 / 2:04 pm

    It looks like a great carrier and if Amy is happier what better test is there than that?! x

  38. Kiddy Reviews
    September 25, 2014 / 9:20 pm

    This looks so comfortable and I love that it has a hood and can be worn front and bank. #britmumsreviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.