smarTrike 4 in 1 Dream – Review

This post has been a long time coming!  We gave Amy her smarTrike for her birthday back in November . . . she didn’t get to use it properly for the first time till last weekend!  Whilst I guess I could have bundled her up in a snowsuit and put her on the smarTrike I preferred to keep her tucked up in her pushchair with a footmuff and a raincover on those cold, windy and wet winter days!  I don’t think she’d have really appreciated being exposed to the elements!

When the sun finally started to shine we took the chance to get her on her new smarTrike and out into the park!

smarTrike 4 in 1 Dream

The smarTrike is a 4 in 1 tricycle designed to grow with your child from the age of 10 months right through to them being around 3 and whizzing about on it by themselves.

At the moment Amy is almost 18 months and we have the SmarTrike set up in Stage 1, the same way as we would for a 10 month old.  This is in part due to her having not used it before, we wanted to know she was safe and stable.  Stage 2 kicks in at around 18 months (obviously depending on your own judgement of your child’s physical development) and allows your child to being to develop their balance and control.

smarTrike 4 in 1 Dream - straps for safety
smarTrike 4 in 1 Dream - sunshade
smarTrike 4 in 1 Dream - easy to push
smarTrike 4 in 1 Dream - harness

With a harness over the shoulders and fastened between the legs and a bar all round she wasn’t going to be falling out.  She immediately grabbed hold of the handle bars and liked moving them around.  Amy was more than comfortable sat in her smarTrike though her feet didn’t quite touch the pedals – she preferred to dangle her legs which is fine for now but obviously as she gets taller she will need to rest her feet on the pedals to avoid injuring herself (and ruining her shoes!) but I’m sure this will come as she realises that she can pedal and steer the smarTrike herself!

smarTrike 4 in 1 Dream - pedals

I must admit that I didn’t have very high hopes for the smarTrike, we’ve never bothered with anything like this for Ben and Chloe – in part due to hearing so many people complain about how difficult this sort of thing can be to push and steer.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that the smarTrike, with its Touch Steering technology and built-in suspension is actually a pleasure to push.  It takes no effort whatsoever.  At the moment we have Amy’s smarTrike set up so that she has no control whatsoever over the steering, she can hold onto her handle bars and wiggle them about but all the steering comes from the parent handle.  As she gets older we can change this.

What we love about it: 

* The Y-shaped seat belts allow for Amy to be safe and secure without being overly restricted.
* The seat and seat belts are all padded for comfort
* The bag on the parent handle is great for keeping your keys, phone, purse etc handy
* The lidded bucket is ideal for a few nappies and wipes, snacks or whatever else your little one needs for a trip out
* The smarTrike is really sturdy and well made without being heavy and cumbersome
* The bright red colour is appealing and trendy
* The smarTrike grows with your child to suit their developmental needs making it a real investment

 

What we’re not so keen on: 

* The canopy was a bit of a pain as the wind kept catching under it and flipping it up
* It’s takes a bit of fitting together (I might have left Dave to it but I can promise you the air was blue!)

I’m looking forward to getting Amy out and about on her smarTrike more as the weather improves (though looking outside as I write this I don’t think she’ll be using in on the school run today!)  Keep your eyes peeled on social media for updates!

*We were sent the SmarTrike free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

42 Comments

  1. May 5, 2015 / 1:20 pm

    We love our SmarTrike, how cute does she look?! So grown up!! x

  2. May 5, 2015 / 9:10 pm

    Sophia has a smartTrike and loves it, we got her it for her first birthday. But i really should take her out on it more, i just have't got around to taken it out the shed. I love the one you have that looks fab x

  3. May 12, 2015 / 7:25 am

    What a super trike! Fantastic colour too and that umbrella is adorable!

  4. May 12, 2015 / 7:40 am

    I love the colour of the SmarTrike. Trikes are such a useful alternative to a pushchair when little ones want to be that bit more independent!

    #TriedTested

  5. May 12, 2015 / 7:48 am

    I wish I could be pushed around in one of these sometimes, you know them days where your legs just can't be bothered to work, I love how the steering can be switched very handy. x

  6. May 12, 2015 / 8:09 am

    This has reminded me I must get ours out of the garage for the youngest who'll probably fit in it now (I doubt her feet will reach the pedals either!) #triedtested

  7. May 12, 2015 / 8:15 am

    Aargh, if we had space to store one of these I'd get one! I love the colour of this one, and it looks very practical too.

  8. we3threeblog.com
    May 12, 2015 / 9:44 am

    this looks lovely and so very stylish! it looks really well made and sturdy too, perfect! #triedtested

  9. May 12, 2015 / 8:56 am

    That's clever! I like the way parents can steer (suspect that would come in useful for quite a long time…)

  10. May 12, 2015 / 9:06 am

    The air was blue – ha ha! I love how Amy's shoes match her trike. Looks like a great ride to span the early years. Thanks for hosting #TriedTested x

  11. May 12, 2015 / 9:58 am

    We had a similar dilemma as wanted to get one for Indiana's birthday in November but was put off! Still looks great for the age they are now though so may have to look into them again – love the little pocket to put your keys in x #triedtested

  12. May 12, 2015 / 9:59 am

    Aww! So cute….That looks like a lot of fun! My girl had something similar when she was little x

  13. May 12, 2015 / 10:14 am

    We have a SmartTrike and I agree with you about the canope; and to be honest if they have a sun hat on it isn't really needed.
    Saying that we do like ours and Little Mister still likes peddling it so it really has lasted us some time!
    Thanks for the review

  14. May 12, 2015 / 10:14 am

    We have something similar and it is so good for independent little ones, but I do agree with your negative points though.
    #TriedTested

  15. May 12, 2015 / 10:26 am

    Aww she looks like she is having alot of fun! I never had one of these for my boys either – they preferred to run around! #TriedTested

  16. May 12, 2015 / 10:58 am

    Looks nice. We had a very basic trike when the boys were young and the pedal mechanism soon broke #triedandtested

  17. May 12, 2015 / 11:00 am

    Woweeeee! That looks fab! I never got one in the end and now I want to walk everywhere so think I've missed the boat. Thanks for hosting #TriedTested

  18. May 12, 2015 / 11:09 am

    I love the look of smart Trikes, and that they will last the child for such a long time so it makes your money go further! She looks like she's enjoying it anyway!

  19. May 12, 2015 / 11:28 am

    Know a few with these and they're great. Love that it grows with them. #TriedTested

  20. May 12, 2015 / 12:11 pm

    Oh that is just super, it looks safe and sturdy. A really lovely bike.

    #Tried/tested

  21. beagreenbean
    May 12, 2015 / 1:44 pm

    Looks like great fun and she looks like she had a great day out in the sunshine on her trike #TriedTested

  22. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    May 12, 2015 / 2:47 pm

    I do love the smartrikes, Boo has one and she loves it. The hood on ours is different though it is more like a pram hood that folds back on itself which is better when it's a bit windy! Boo is still on the first stage but I can't wait to move to stage 2!

  23. May 12, 2015 / 2:25 pm

    I love the look of the Smart trikes, we will probably look to get one with our next littly 🙂 xx

  24. Emma Lofthouse-Burch
    May 12, 2015 / 4:01 pm

    That looks great, we have a smart trike but yours looks much better! X

  25. May 12, 2015 / 3:02 pm

    I think smart trikes are a great way to get the kids out without the push chairs when they are little. Matching shoes too 🙂

  26. May 12, 2015 / 4:48 pm

    My youngest daughter had one of these but a Smart Trike! They're fantastic aren't they!

  27. Mummy's Blog
    May 12, 2015 / 6:01 pm

    We were going to get one for my daughter's 1st birthday, I'm just not sure we'll have anywhere to store it at the moment unfortunately

  28. May 12, 2015 / 8:16 pm

    I had a horrendous time with our first smart trike and their customer service was shocking. The wheels just fell apart. Thankfully I was lucky enough to win one for little man and so pleased with it. They had made lots of changes so we didn't have the same issues and he loved it.

  29. May 12, 2015 / 8:31 pm

    We got Toby a SmartTrike for his first birthday and he really likes it – we've not had much chance to use it though as the pavements round our house all slope down towards the road and make it really hard to steer and the trike almost tips over. When we get chance we do put it in the car and take it to the park but it doesn't happen that often!

  30. May 12, 2015 / 8:56 pm

    She looks really cute on it! We bought a cheaper version for my son and it was useless, think we should have paid the extra and gone with a Smartrike one! x

  31. May 12, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    We have an old smart trike, but this one looks so snazzy, though the canopy looks a bit over the top. #triedtested

  32. May 12, 2015 / 9:05 pm

    Aw she looks so cute! This will be ideal for getting out an about in the warmer months!

  33. May 12, 2015 / 9:26 pm

    This looks good – I have never been sure about these as I have read some mixed reviews but they do look fun #TriedTested

  34. May 12, 2015 / 10:27 pm

    I love the look of this a real cross between an pushchair and a bike. Very clever

  35. May 13, 2015 / 9:03 am

    This looks like a great product. I love that its comfortable and secure but fun too x

  36. Mummy Melton
    May 13, 2015 / 11:00 am

    We have one and we love it. Mini M loves it too

  37. Dave H
    May 14, 2015 / 5:19 am

    That looks awesome, definitely going to have to get Baby L one when she's old enough. Mainly so I can have a go on it myself…

  38. May 14, 2015 / 8:44 am

    We've had two SmarTrikes and loved them both, very handy for the quick school runs!! #triedtested

  39. Karen Monkeyfooted Mummy
    May 14, 2015 / 2:38 pm

    We love our smart trike (ours is red too ) but I agree about the sun canopy, it would be breed as a detachable one thanks for hosting

  40. May 17, 2015 / 2:22 pm

    What a fab review. We have one of these too and Bella still loves it. Elsie has her eye on it now though! x x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.