SportsShoes.com – Review

So I was sent some running gear from SportsShoes.com this summer with the express purpose of supporting me in my efforts to get fit, to try and encourage me to get out there and give running a go.

Have I used it?  Erm no. *hangs head in shame*

That is the main reason why this post has taken so long.  The intention is there, it really is.  I keep thinking “I’ll do it tonight when Dave gets home” and then I get caught up in a flurry of feeding time at the zoo, spelling practice, sorting out school uniforms, baths, bed, blogging . . . and then then next thing I know I’m lying in bed thinking “I didn’t do it again today.  Tomorrow. I’ll do it tomorrow“.

When I first started to look at the SportsShoes website I was pretty overwhelmed by the choice.  What I know about running could be written on the back of a postage stamp . . . “I can’t do it” basically.  I suppose in theory you just get out there and run don’t you – but the right equipment will surely set you on the path to success (or at least help you to avoid knackered knees, bouncing boobs or being run over because you weren’t seen . . . )?

I already have some running trainers (which I erm, walk in) and a sports bra (which I learn to do crazy flash mob things in) so I thought maybe some running tights and a top would be the way forward.

The SportsShoes website is packed with brands at great prices – I couldn’t believe how much I could get for my money.
In the end I chose:


* Some fancy running tights – I figured the high waistband would be good for my “mum tum” and the “compression fit” had to be supportive for my wobbly bum right?

* A long sleeve Nike running top (which I can’t find on the website anymore)

A Nike hoodie – Yeah so I bought this more with the thought that if I don’t actually run it might be pretty comfy on the sofa . . . I’m not sure this is the attitude of a runner?

A hat – just in case I ever build up the courage to go out running in the cold (though with my stupid asthmatic lungs this seems unlikely)

When all the kit arrived I got the tights out and couldn’t see how I’d ever get them on – they’re like half the size of me.  But then they are “compression tights” – so they work a bit like Spanx.  Getting them on was quite an effort but they fit and were pretty comfortable . . . did I take them out for a test run?  Nope, took them off and had a curry on the sofa.  Oh yes.

So . . . the SportsShoes website is ace – lots of running stuff for not a lot of cash.  Me?  I’m not so ace. I now have some super running gear folded neatly in my drawer whispering to me to get my fat arse out there and start running.  I might. Maybe.  We’ll see.

*Disclaimer – I was sent these items free of charge for the purpose of review however all thoughts and opinions are my own*

*Read more reviews here*

44 Comments

  1. Clare Nicholas
    October 22, 2014 / 10:14 pm

    I've the giggles. This is the reason I don't own any…I would just keep putting off too

    • October 23, 2014 / 6:31 pm

      I'm glad it amused you πŸ˜‰ x

  2. October 22, 2014 / 9:31 pm

    I love your honesty in this post! Go on, run Colette, run! x

  3. October 22, 2014 / 9:43 pm

    These look great – I could defo do with some new sports gear for when I start my new me new start thingybob πŸ™‚ x

  4. October 22, 2014 / 10:01 pm

    Lol, you sound just like me. I opted for 'walking gear' so less pressure on running (I will never do running), but even with that I do need to do some serious walking other than just a walk at lunchtimes

    • October 23, 2014 / 6:32 pm

      Yeah I'm not a runner – I'm really not. I think some quick walking might be the way forward! x

    • October 28, 2014 / 11:08 am

      Definitely. Although i get shin splints (yet another excuse), but it's quite hilly ever direction back to the office so works quite well!

  5. Beth Twinderelmo
    October 28, 2014 / 7:26 am

    I bloody love you! Well done for not throwing together a complete sham of a review. Ps – how was the curry?! x

  6. October 28, 2014 / 7:32 am

    Lol love your honesty in this post. It looks very comfy though and am sure it would be great for running in too but suspect I would have started off with good intentions and not managed to go running either x

  7. October 28, 2014 / 8:06 am

    Ha ha! This is brilliant! I bet it is comfy to wear while blogging on the couch though x #TriedTested

  8. October 28, 2014 / 8:20 am

    Bless u! I'm the same! I need some new gear to inspire me! Oh wait that chocolate cake is calling me!

  9. October 28, 2014 / 8:25 am

    Great Post! The running gear looks really comfy, I too am guilty for putting exercise on the back burner so I'm with you there! #TriedTested

  10. London Mum
    October 28, 2014 / 8:36 am

    Hahaha you sound like me.. I always have the 'intention' but all my sports clothes end up as comfy outfits instead! x

  11. October 28, 2014 / 8:43 am

    You make me laugh and I love your honesty. That's what its all about. I would be the same wearing it to blog on the couch for sure!!! Lounge wear is the way forward I thought! lol haha Great review though looks great. #tried&tested

  12. October 28, 2014 / 8:46 am

    Oh dear lol, hopefully you'll be spurred onto getting out there for a run soon.

  13. katefever
    October 28, 2014 / 8:59 am

    I love you. I went running twice when my gear arrived and then, ermmm, stopped lol. Maybe tonight? Shall I text you when I am going so you can join me? πŸ˜‰ #TriedTested

  14. October 28, 2014 / 9:07 am

    Oooh, will take a peek at the website as I need some new gear. I started running/jogging/walking very fast at the beginning of the summer and managed to get to 5k in 35 minutes but over the last few weeks with the evenings drawing in I have lost my running mojo xx

  15. October 28, 2014 / 9:59 am

    Haha I love this post you sound so like me I keep putting exercise off day after day. Love that you tried your exercise clothes on then had a curry on sofa. At least when you do find time to exercise you have all the snazzy kit ready xx #TriedTested

  16. October 28, 2014 / 10:18 am

    Hilarious god bless you. I found it hard to start running at first but started building frm just round the block (after i had flo so just under a year ago) and building up. I ran my first 10 k back in May and my 2nd 10k in the summer for Race for Life. plus i just have a pair of leggings and a tshirt (wish i had mum tum hold in πŸ˜‰ )
    If you do actually want my advice would be to book a 5 k so you have no escape πŸ˜‰
    ps – I haven't ran since the 10k in the summer – naughty naughty! #TriedTested
    Kath x

  17. October 28, 2014 / 11:23 am

    So funny. Its hard to get motivated in the winter I think – far too dark outside to run πŸ˜‰ #TriedTested

  18. October 28, 2014 / 12:01 pm

    hahaha! I love your honesty! I love the idea of running but tend to choose the sitting about option more…lol

  19. October 28, 2014 / 12:29 pm

    haha love your honesty. I am the same about exercising. Good intentions, and then the house and kids tire me out.

  20. Mummy Melton
    October 28, 2014 / 12:39 pm

    haha!! I have been so bad when it comes to running lately, don't think the weather helps, need to give myself a kick.

  21. Karen Monkeyfooted Mummy
    October 28, 2014 / 1:27 pm

    Sounds likea good website, I too have lost my
    Motivation for running but I'm hoping it comes back with the next bar of chocolate!

  22. October 28, 2014 / 2:39 pm

    I am so the same, always thinking tomorrow I'll do it! Fab post x

  23. Suzanne W
    October 28, 2014 / 2:41 pm

    Ha ha I love your honesty here Colette! The gear does look fab….in the wardrobe πŸ˜‰

  24. October 28, 2014 / 4:06 pm

    I love extremely honest reviews!

  25. Lamb & Bear
    October 28, 2014 / 6:08 pm

    I would be the same as you. I always have good intentions and end up finding any excuse not to exercise etc. I think looking after a 19 month old is enough exercise! Alex x

  26. dambaby.com
    October 28, 2014 / 7:38 pm

    Nice honest review … lets face it, that’s probably where a lot of Mums running gear is languishing. I’m starting to think about post baby fitness. But the thinking stage may last a while …

  27. October 28, 2014 / 7:40 pm

    My kind of girl Colette I have been known to watch exercise DVDs and feel thinner without ever even doing it haha. You will one day xx

  28. October 28, 2014 / 8:28 pm

    I love your post. I'm so unfit but I just can't motivate myself to do anything about it #TriedTested

  29. October 28, 2014 / 8:33 pm

    I highly recommend the Couch25k program. Get into a routine. I was the same, I'll do it later, tomorrow, but then when I finally started I loved it. Not always, but I forced myself. I'd drop the kids off at school and head out for a run, and that was my routine. I wish I could do it now – I injured myself pretty seriously in a boat accident 18 months ago and I'm left with permanent ligament and nerve damage and I can barely stand long enough to fold and put away the laundry without being in agony. I miss running. If you can do it – go and do it! Wishing you all the best πŸ™‚

    • October 28, 2014 / 8:44 pm

      Thanks Elizabeth. I'm sorry to hear about your accident πŸ™ x

  30. October 28, 2014 / 8:42 pm

    Hehe! At least the website was easy to use though πŸ™‚

  31. October 28, 2014 / 9:23 pm

    Love your honesty! I will never be a runner. I've been telling myself for weeks I am going to start doing workout DVD's, it's not happened yet πŸ™‚

  32. October 28, 2014 / 9:34 pm

    Most honest review ever πŸ˜‰ I know a few people have got into running but they seem to get a bit obsessive about it and work their lives around it. If and when I exercise it's when I can fit it in with other things, not vice versa! Nice clobber nonetheless πŸ™‚

  33. October 28, 2014 / 10:35 pm

    I think you and I might be on the same page. Running just seems so dull to me tbh #triedtested

  34. October 29, 2014 / 4:01 pm

    I hear you, curry is so much more appealing #TriedTested

  35. November 1, 2014 / 6:47 am

    This made me giggle! You could wear it on the school run and pretend like lots of mums do at my sons school!

  36. sharon powell
    November 1, 2014 / 7:53 pm

    Sounds like a good website. Good luck with the running, I'm not a runner either x #TriedTested

  37. Stacey G
    November 15, 2014 / 10:13 pm

    Ha, I'm pretty much the same! I've been meaning to start running again since J arrived over 2 years ago! Oops!

  38. June 28, 2017 / 9:33 am

    hahaha your honesty made me chuckle!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.