The Clever Tykes Books – Review & Giveaway

At almost 6 and a half, Ben is becoming a keen reader.  Reading has very definitely “clicked” for him now and he is happy to pick up a book to sit and read to himself.  He has recently started to hunt out more challenging texts and has borrowed a set of alternative fairy tales from my bookshelf which we thought made a great introduction to books with chapters and less illustrations.  I’ve also picked out a selection of non-fiction books for him relating to his current topic at school.  (It’s handy when your Mum is a teacher and has lots of books at just the right level for your school work!) 

Before Christmas we were sent the Clever Tykes series for Ben to have a look at.  This set of three books is aimed at KS2 children (8 to 11) but it was suggested that Ben would probably be able to manage them and of course I planned to sit and share the books with him anyway.

The idea behind the stories is that each features a main character who realises that they have something which they are really good or passionate about and that, in fact, they can make this a business venture!  Of course the purpose of this is to encourage children to consider their own passions and ambitions whilst developing learning behaviours such as independence, goal-setting, hard work and resourcefulness.  I think bringing children up to have ambition and to believe they can have the career they want is of utmost important.  Many a time I’ve sat down with a class and asked them what they want to be when they grow up only for them to not have a clue.  Children need a focus, a reason to work and a belief in themselves.  The Clever Tykes books are built upon positive role models whilst subtly delivering entrepreneurial messages. 

Although the books are more novel like than Ben is used to, the text spacing and line drawings make the books more accessible to him.  He was excited to have a go at reading them and was more than able to cope with the text.  I love that the books are giving Ben things to think about, teaching him things, without him really realising.  As far as he’s concerned he’s just reading a story. I do think that he will get more out of them for re-reading them in another year or two though when he’s older and more able to absorb the messages.

If you’d like a set of Clever Tykes books of your own then complete the Rafflecopter for your chance to win – as ever please take care to complete each of the options carefully to avoid disqualification

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Disclaimer – We were sent the Clever Tykes series free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

Share:

48 Comments

  1. February 10, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    A teacher!

    Ashleigh

  2. February 13, 2016 / 3:19 pm

    My son says he wants to be a builder.

  3. Anonymous
    February 23, 2016 / 7:28 pm

    Little one too young at the moment :- Too busy just enjoying everyday life with family, friends, attending nursery etc.

    I wanted to do something which was beneficial to mankind ( a term frequently used when I was young, I mean it to include men, women and children). Was interested in science.

    I would now like :- Happiness, Health and Wealth, just as previous generations used to wish for the next generation.

    Rachel Craig

  4. Susan Smith
    February 23, 2016 / 8:40 pm

    At the moment, she is only 4, but at the moment she is going to have a house full of animals, so i would say a vet

  5. February 24, 2016 / 9:53 am

    my daughter would like to be a teacher x

  6. February 24, 2016 / 5:31 pm

    Marianna's a bit young for it all yet, but I always wanted to be a teacher x

  7. Sadiyya maryam
    February 25, 2016 / 10:51 am

    My daughter who is 4 always says she wants to become an artist when she grows up, failing that…'an artitect' architec!

  8. February 25, 2016 / 12:47 pm

    not sure what baby to be will want to be but I wanted to be a vet ! I was obsessed with Trude from Vets in Practice!

  9. February 28, 2016 / 8:30 pm

    I wanted to be a librarian 🙂

  10. March 1, 2016 / 1:50 am

    Forensic scientists my daughters always wanted to be. She is now studying forensic science at college xx

  11. Solange
    March 1, 2016 / 10:01 pm

    A vet

  12. Lynsey Buchanan
    March 4, 2016 / 8:22 pm

    My daughter wants to be a vet but she does not like blood so unless she toughens up that won't be an option.

  13. March 4, 2016 / 8:27 pm

    im due our first child in 2 weeks time n love imagining what she will b wen she grows up, i always wanted to b a nurse and i hae acheived that goal and have been nursing for over 2 years now

  14. Anonymous
    March 6, 2016 / 9:05 pm

    A vet and I really regret not trying to be one. (@PeanutHog)

  15. March 7, 2016 / 6:58 pm

    Amber is 5 and wants to be a midwife to deliver babies like her little sister

  16. March 8, 2016 / 1:50 pm

    She has learnt this word from Topsy & Tim but she wants to be an optometrist at the moment!

  17. March 8, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    My daughter want to be a doctor at the moment 🙂

  18. Susan B
    March 8, 2016 / 6:01 pm

    The eldest wants to be the UK Prime Minister.

  19. adrian price
    March 8, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    THIS week a fighter pilot—but it changes weekly

  20. Pam Francis Gregory
    March 8, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    A Firefighter

  21. March 9, 2016 / 9:39 am

    My grandson wants to be a teacher

  22. March 9, 2016 / 9:56 am

    My son wants to be a footballer and play for Real Madrid 🙂

  23. March 9, 2016 / 10:10 am

    my son wantd to be a footballer

  24. March 9, 2016 / 7:16 pm

    My nephew wants to be a chef – he loves helping out in the kitchen.

  25. March 10, 2016 / 11:40 am

    My son Ronan wants to be the real Harry Potter!

  26. March 10, 2016 / 6:18 pm

    my daughter said yesterday that she'd like to be a chef xx

  27. March 10, 2016 / 8:45 pm

    A rubbish truck man or sitting in the road sweeper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.