Tomy Aquadoodle – Review

Somehow, over the last 6 years, the Aquadoodle has passed us by.  I’ve heard of it but we’ve never tried one out, until now.
Despite being targeted at children over the age of 18 months – so basically Amy, I currently have three children arguing over the Aquadoodle in the playroom!  Of course I’m sure some of this is novelty value and over time Ben and Chloe may be less interested but right now it’s filling a wet, chicken poxy, waiting for a delivery kinda day very nicely!

The mat itself is less than a metre square so doesn’t take up loads of room (and also folds neatly for storage).   It comes with a special pen which you fill with water.  Needless to say, any toy which requires filling with water fills me with dread . . . the potential for spillage is high!  Not so with the Aquadoodle.  The the pen screws together securely so there is no leaking.  The pen nib is soft and allows moisture to flow through for mark making on the mat however it doesn’t dribble or drip.  I’m already impressed.

 Aquadoodle pen

Aquadoodle pen in toddler's hand
Essentially once the Aquadoodle pen is filled with water, you use it like a normal pen and write or draw on the mat and you drawings appear as if by magic.  It’s like a modern day version of those magic books we had as kids where you just painted them with water?  The kids loved drawing on it and seeing the different colours appear (predictably Ben attempted to colour the entire sheet in – typical boy!)
Aquadoodle colours
Writing on the Aquadoodle mat

Aside from the lack of mess, I love that the Aquadoodle mat is reusable – once the water has dried up the drawings disappear and you can fold it up and put it away for another day.

What we love about it: 

  • It’s small size means that whilst it feels like a massive space for little ones to be creative, it doesn’t take up loads of room on your floor or in your cupboard.
  • It’s fantastic for encouraging initial mark making in toddlers – and equally useful for practising letter formation in older children like Ben and Chloe.
  • There is no mess.  No spillages, no ink or paint on hands / clothes / furniture.
  • The chunky pen is easy for little hands to hold
  • The pen nib is sturdy and will withstand plenty of use
  • The bright images around the outside of the mat allow for developing observation skills
  • The letters and numbers on the mat can be used for tracing or copying

 

What we’re not so keen on: 

  • With three kids keen to get involved, there has been some arguing over the pen this morning.  However, I have noticed that spare / replacement pens are available on Amazon so I’m off to invest!  (I do think that, as with any pen, the nib will wear and squash over time – so even if you’ve only got one child using the Aquadoodle, the spare pens could be very useful!)

Ben, Chloe and Amy give the Aquadoodle a massive thumbs up .  . .

*We were sent the Aquadoodle free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

47 Comments

  1. March 29, 2016 / 11:31 am

    Painting & colouring are usually big hits in our house! My boys love colouring books & drawing dinosaurs

  2. March 29, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    get the graft box out ,they love fingers painting

  3. March 29, 2016 / 4:56 pm

    Today we have taken full advantage of Netflix! My youngest loves painting so we save that for rainy days too!!!

  4. March 29, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    apart from watching me pull my hair out….usually we make dens and play house and shops

  5. March 29, 2016 / 5:44 pm

    my boys like to play lego, finger painting and workbooks x

  6. March 29, 2016 / 6:43 pm

    Board games or arts and crafts!

    AShleigh

  7. March 30, 2016 / 1:11 pm

    They are great. Did away with the misery of scrubbing pen marks off the cot bed, off the walls, off the kitchen table, off the buggy…

    Messy craft activities are something I have to grit my teeth through, so the less mess the better.

  8. Sian - The Mama Story
    March 30, 2016 / 6:54 pm

    My kids adore colouring but it's stressful for me when the toddler wants to get involved! Aqua doodle is the perfect way for her to have fun and me not to have a big mess to clear up!

  9. Neha Parmar
    March 30, 2016 / 10:34 pm

    Play with toys or play in the garden

  10. March 31, 2016 / 1:47 pm

    My daughter loves painting, cutting, and stickers. Any crafting projects are always great indoors

  11. March 31, 2016 / 10:51 pm

    We like messy baking and decorating cakes
    Also colouring and making stories up about our pictures

  12. March 31, 2016 / 10:51 pm

    We like messy baking and decorating cakes
    Also colouring and making stories up about our pictures

  13. April 3, 2016 / 12:30 am

    We love baking cookies together (not thinking of the mess in the kitchen at the moment!) xx

  14. April 5, 2016 / 5:05 am

    We love making robots from cardboard boxes & kitchen foil x

  15. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    April 5, 2016 / 7:10 am

    Aquadoodles look like so much fun and no mess which is great! Perfect for rainy days too! Play dough is a great rainy day activity too.

  16. April 5, 2016 / 7:09 am

    I can see why this would appeal, the instant colour and visibility of your drawing is wonderful #TriedTested

  17. April 5, 2016 / 7:25 am

    My girls have always loved aquadoodle and I love the no mess factor 😉 On a rainy day we love baking #triedtested

  18. April 5, 2016 / 7:28 am

    We have one of these and they're brilliant – I love how compact they are when folded up and that they can be used over and over again – plus the lack of spillage with the water is always a good thing! 🙂

  19. April 5, 2016 / 7:32 am

    I bought this when my girls where younger and I've just been reminded of that, must still be here somewhere! They loved it too, mine came with a few pens and some stampers too, so yes definitely good for each kid to have a pen!

  20. April 5, 2016 / 7:48 am

    Looks fab! This has reminded me Holly got one of these for Christmas and is probably now old enough to use it. After seeing this I think she is going to love it and by the sounds of it so with my eldest daughter too. Bring on the arguments, I better enter your giveaway to try and win another one!! x

  21. April 5, 2016 / 7:57 am

    We've had these and they still get used from time to time, a long time after getting them! Great photo's Colette!

  22. Mumdadplus4
    April 5, 2016 / 9:35 am

    The twins love these they fight over my nieces so would love to have one of their own

  23. April 5, 2016 / 9:46 am

    We loved our Aquadoodle. Ours was only one colour though, I much prefer the rainbow version 🙂

    #triedtested

  24. April 5, 2016 / 10:21 am

    Lily has one of these but wasn't keen, I think it may be time to get it out again! #triedtested

  25. April 5, 2016 / 10:30 am

    I had heard of these but we never had one. It does look a load of fun. #triedtested

  26. April 5, 2016 / 10:31 am

    This looks great! I too have heard of the aquadoodle but not seen it or used it before! Mia loves anything to do with water so this may help with that as she drives me insane with her water pouring at the moment! She also loves drawing and anything crafty so this would be ideal! 🙂

    #TriedTested

  27. 3 Little Buttons
    April 5, 2016 / 11:44 am

    We have something similar to this, in fact, maybe it's an older version of this one. Our pen is more slim. Little Button has had this for 2 year years now and it's still going strong. Annette, 3 Little Buttons http:\3littlebuttons.com

  28. April 5, 2016 / 11:30 am

    I had heard of Aquadoodle, but never tried it out either. It looks fantastic and the kids are clearly loving it. Perfect for days they want to craft/draw and you don't want mess! #triedandtested

  29. April 5, 2016 / 2:16 pm

    We have this and it's great, I didn't know you could buy replacement pens though which is handy as we've lost ours! They are fab aren't they, great review. #triedtested

  30. April 5, 2016 / 3:16 pm

    We saw this at the Toy Fair and I thought that it was fantastic!! Lots of fun. The pen is much better than the one the had before. Thanks for hosting, 🙂 x
    #triedandtested

  31. My Petit Canard
    April 5, 2016 / 8:30 pm

    We have a Disney Princess aquadoodle and our little lady loves it. I think there is something quite nice for them about being able to draw and create with water and then watch it disappear. For us parents its great because theres no mess – win win! Fab review, like the look of this one too 🙂 Emily #TriedTested

  32. April 5, 2016 / 8:25 pm

    My toddler would love this! He is a little banksy, leaving little signatures on the wall and other places he shouldn't. I would love to try this out with him.

  33. April 6, 2016 / 6:56 am

    We have one from years ago but don't get it out enough. This has reminded me to! Great review. #triedtested xx

  34. katefever
    April 6, 2016 / 9:07 am

    Jacob used to love the Aquadoodle – I wish we had kept it for Max and Eliza! On a wet day we love to make cakes 🙂

  35. April 6, 2016 / 4:19 pm

    To be honest I tend to sit mine in front of the TV on a rainy day! But they do love drawing – the only problem is pen on the sofa danger! #triedtested

  36. April 8, 2016 / 11:01 pm

    I think these are amazing, although I gave Toby his a tad too early and he did squash the nub of the pen and I need to get a replacement!xx #TriedTested

  37. April 9, 2016 / 8:53 am

    My eldest boy used to love his Aquadoodle, he had hours of fun with it. I think I will be investing in another one for little man too. Thanks for hosting 🙂 x #triedtested

  38. kid_love
    April 12, 2016 / 6:26 am

    my kid would love to have this one.

    thanks john

  39. April 14, 2016 / 9:23 am

    We have a craft bucket filled with paints, glitter, and felt, we make a lot of things when its raining. or we make cakes x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.