A day out at Flamingo Land – Review

Back in the summer we went to Cbeebies Land at Alton Towers and have talked since about taking Ben and Chloe to another theme park.  I was excited to find a “buy one get on free” promotion on the Kids Pass website for Flamingo Land (this offer has now expired).  I’ve not been to Flamingo Land since my late teens and Dave has never been.  The Kids Pass website is super easy to use.  Once I had chosen the promotion I wanted to take advantage of I clicked through and was given a voucher code to use on the Flamingo Land website which gave me a voucher to print out and use on the gate.  (Do make sure you check any expiry dates or other terms and conditions to avoid disappointment)



Standard “on the day” tickets for Flamingo Land are £35 a piece for age 4 and up.  As we didn’t need a ticket for Chloe, the Kids Pass website saved us 1/3 of what it would have cost us had we just rocked up and bought tickets on the gate.  Although Flamingo Land do offer cheaper pre-booked tickets online, the Kids Pass offer still trumped this so it was a winner for us!

Kids Pass - Flamingo Land
Chlo loved the tea cups!
Kids Pass - Flamingo Land
The pink elephants were definitely her favourite!
Kids Pass - Flamingo Land
Look at his little face!
Kids Pass - Flamingo Land hippos
Hippos – Mummy’s favourite animal!
Kids Pass - Flamingo Land
Cheeky boy!
Mummy hippo spotting!
This is her “I’m enjoying myself” face!
Thrill seeker!
Just to prove she did smile once or twice during the day!
Whoo!
This was before the ride set off . . .
Hands up Chloe!
Love my boys!

And what of our day out at Flamingo Land?  Well we discovered several things:

* Ben is very much the thrill seeker (just like his Daddy) and would go on any ride he was big enough for

* Chloe most certainly is not a thrill seeker and the tea cups were about her level

* Flamingo Land a week before it closes for Winter is very quiet – which is great as it means no queues, but it also means lots of rides are shut, kiosks are shut and there is a distinct lack of atmosphere

* Late October is very cold for being outside all day!

* The zoo provides a welcome respite from the thrill of the rides – and with real life proper hippos Mummy was very happy!

* There’s a good selection of rides ranging from little pink flying elephants (Chloe’s favourite) to scream-inducing, adrenaline fuelled rides for the more hardened roller coaster enthusiast (that would be Dave) including a previous Guinness World Record holding ride, Mumbo Jumbo, with the “steepest drop in the world” at 112 degrees!!

Ben is definitely keen to go back when he’s a bit taller but he did suggest we might not take Chloe next time!

 

*Kids Pass contributed towards the cost of our day out in order for us to review their website however all thoughts and opinions remain my own*

38 Comments

  1. November 4, 2014 / 7:07 am

    It looks so much fun my daughter has been asking to go here but it's too far for us to go. I like the idea of being able to go to the zoo as well as going on the rides #TriedTested

  2. November 4, 2014 / 7:18 am

    Looks like you had a lot of fun 🙂

  3. Jeni Wood
    November 4, 2014 / 7:37 am

    Looks like you all had a fun day!! I have heard of Flamingo Land but it not been an option to go yet as its too far from us for a day trip xx

  4. November 4, 2014 / 8:10 am

    Awe, poor Chloe! Looks like a fab day out Colette! Great photo's x

  5. November 4, 2014 / 8:16 am

    This looks like a great day out! You captured some fantastic moments and expressions on camera! I also love Hippos, think we may have to put this on our list of places to visit next year!

  6. November 4, 2014 / 8:53 am

    What a fab day – flamingoland isn't too far from us but we have never taken the kids. We used to go on bus trips there when we were little. I will keep this website in mind for next summer and hopefully they will repeat the deal #Triedtested

  7. Sian PottyMouthedMummy
    November 4, 2014 / 9:02 am

    Hadn't even heard of Flamingo Land. Looks like you had lots of fun xx

  8. katefever
    November 4, 2014 / 9:12 am

    This looks like a fabulous place to while away a day. I love Ben's face on the rides!

  9. November 4, 2014 / 9:37 am

    Our kids are different like that with rides. The younger one will go on anything and the older one would never go on anything.

  10. November 4, 2014 / 9:38 am

    wow looks like you had so much fun, never been there before. #TriedTested

  11. November 4, 2014 / 9:48 am

    I haven't been to Flamingo Land for years….Every year for the school trips we used to go….hehehe
    It still looks like a fantastic day out 🙂

  12. November 4, 2014 / 9:49 am

    I went to Flamingo Land a few years ago and it was great, I love that it has the Zoo for when you need a break from the rides xx

  13. November 4, 2014 / 9:55 am

    Looks like a fantastic day out! My kids would love to go to something like that, alas, transport costs from our remote island home are a bit prohibitive!

  14. November 4, 2014 / 10:11 am

    Looks like you all had a fab time, wish we had some things like this here in n.ireland! Lovely family day out #triedtested

  15. November 4, 2014 / 10:16 am

    It does look like a lot of fun – I've never heard of that place. Shame some of the rides were closed – if the park is open, the rides should be open in my view.

    #Tried/Tested

  16. November 4, 2014 / 10:26 am

    WOW look at all that fun you all had. Jealous. I keep saying to my hubby we need to do more fun days out with the kids. This looks great. Thanks for hosting and great review. Love all the photos. #tried&tested

  17. Clare Nicholas
    November 4, 2014 / 10:36 am

    It looks like a fab day out. Loving the look on Ben's face on the rides, Chloe definitely doesn't look as impressed.

  18. November 4, 2014 / 10:49 am

    Looks like such a fun day out. Lovely photos x

  19. Mummy Melton
    November 4, 2014 / 11:09 am

    looks like you had a great time. How great you can sign up for the Kids Pass for free. Bargain!

  20. November 4, 2014 / 12:39 pm

    Looks like a fab day out was had by all. The site seems very helpful, days out are one thing we struggle with as a family of 6 as family passes never cover the 3rd/4th child #triedtested

  21. November 4, 2014 / 2:06 pm

    I have heard of the site before but used it. I might give it a look-we're always searching out new places to visit and save money (otherwise you spend n absolute fortune.)

  22. November 4, 2014 / 2:06 pm

    THis does look like so much fun. It is so handy to have passes and vouchers for these places, otherwise they end up costing a fortune #triedtested

  23. November 4, 2014 / 3:06 pm

    We've always wanted to visit Flamingo Land, now I want to go even more! Love her enjoying myself face! Xx #triedtested

  24. Philippa Tyrer
    November 4, 2014 / 3:59 pm

    Oh I'm going to have a look at that – with seven of us days out are a bit expensive!

  25. November 4, 2014 / 7:39 pm

    It's too far for us too, shame as it looks like a lot of fun. The Kids Pass website is great! #TriedTested

  26. November 4, 2014 / 8:38 pm

    Looks like you all had a great day, I had no idea there was a zoo there x

  27. November 4, 2014 / 11:36 pm

    Looks fun. Great photos. I hadn't even heard of Flamingo Land #TriedTested

  28. November 6, 2014 / 9:00 am

    Ah I've never heard of Flamingo Land before but it sounds like you had an awesome time! Might wait til it warms up now though x x

  29. November 6, 2014 / 11:14 am

    Really want to do a park with z but the idea of queuing puts me off so that's a good idea going somewhere when it's quieter albeit being out in the cold 🙂 glad u had fun 🙂 #tried&tested

  30. November 6, 2014 / 5:55 pm

    Looks like you had a lot of fun! Wish it was closer to us! #TriedTested

  31. January 13, 2015 / 10:25 am

    Fun – will have to check out the Kids Pass, hadn't come across that!

  32. May 7, 2017 / 12:12 am

    Oh My Gosh!
    This place keeps popping up on my YouTube recommended list.
    I really want to try it out, have you been back lately to see if its changed at all?

    x

  33. July 5, 2017 / 10:37 pm

    Haha, they are so cute! when I read the title, I thought there would be real flamingos! haha. Great to see your kids having fun ?

    • Colette
      Author
      July 5, 2017 / 11:10 pm

      I’m pretty sure I thought the same the first time I went as a child!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.