A new term with Puddle Ducks – Review

We’re now three lessons into our new term with Puddle Ducks and there’s been some changes.  Although Amy is still a “Kicker” and is therefore repeating the term we’ve already done, we have changed our lesson time and consequently our teacher.  The main reason for changing our lesson time was because the Friday lunchtime class clashed with Amy’s playgroup sessions which she started last week.  I was a bit sad that changing our lesson time also meant changing teacher but I was pleased that we were able to stay at the same venue.

Puddle Ducks swimming lessons take place at a range of different venues with ranging facilities, some pools are warmer than others, some are schools, others gyms.  Our pool at DW Fitness isn’t especially warm but it’s far more comfortable than our local council sports centre (Ben used to go visibly blue when he was little!)  I quite like that our pool isn’t overly warm as that’s the norm isn’t it?  Swimming pools are cold.  I don’t want Amy getting used to a bath-like pool only to get the shock of her life when we take her somewhere else!  The facilities at DW Fitness are great, there’s plenty of parking, the changing rooms are spacious and clean, there’s a little spectator area and a reasonably priced cafe if you need a bit of lunch or a hot drink.  All these little things add up to make our swimming experience just that little bit easier!  (Far easier than the mad rush I experience trying to get the big two sorted at their council run lessons – small car park, small changing rooms, freezing cold pool, over heated spectator area . . . the list goes on.  Maybe I should move them to Puddle Ducks lessons too!)

I must admit to being quite surprised by the difference that the change in timing has made to Amy’s lessons.  It’s worth bearing in mind how your little one’s swimming lesson fits into their routine.  Amy’s 12pm lesson was basically right on lunch time and she would almost always fall asleep in the car on the way home as she was so worn out.  Now she has an 11am lesson and she just seems to be so much more able to cope with things  – she’s not tired, she’s not hungry and she’s generally just more prepared to get on with it.  Another little girl from our Friday class happened to swap to the Monday class at the same time and her Mummy has commented the exact same thing.  So definitely a top tip – make sure that your lesson timing suits your child!  It might seem like a little thing but Amy is getting even more out of her lessons now than she was before!  (It also means that our day just pans out better as we get more time in the afternoon for a sleep or to get some jobs done in the Trafford Centre).

So how has the change in teacher been for Amy?  We had met Clare before when we went for a bonus lesson in the Autumn so I already knew she was lovely.  I mentioned to Amy a number of times before her lesson that we were going to see her new teacher so that it wouldn’t be too much of a surprise.  She still asks for Sarah but the change in teacher certainly hasn’t done her any harm.  In fact I think the change has actually done her good as it’s a bit “new teacher, new rules” and she has been much braver about demonstrating swims with Clare, going under the water and even jumping in for the first time on her own last week!  (I’m a bit sad for Sarah that these are all things she worked so hard towards but now isn’t getting to see!)

What’s also really lovely is that as we are completing a second “Kickers” term Amy is able to take part in all of the early sessions and really absorb them instead of clinging to me like a little limpet.  Repeating sessions and activities from the start really does show how far she has come and allows her to develop even further before she moves into the next stage.

*Amy currently swims free of charge with Puddle Ducks for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

Share:

36 Comments

  1. January 20, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    LP used to have a 1pm lesson and since starting school it's moved to 4pm. She is exhausted every single time – and pretty blue by the end of it! x

  2. January 26, 2016 / 8:11 am

    It sounds like Amy is really enjoying swimming. It's amazing what a big difference making a small change (timing) can make 🙂

    #triedtested

    • January 26, 2016 / 10:49 am

      Isn't it – she's so much more prepared to get on with her lesson now!

  3. January 26, 2016 / 8:48 am

    Olly had some swimming lesson a couple of years ago but really didn't enjoy it. We need to get him back into the water now he understands a bit more about water and he wants to splash about and have some fun now. So pleased Amy is enjoying it x

    • January 26, 2016 / 10:52 am

      It can be really tricky if they're not keen can't it. I know the guys at Puddle Ducks say the "Water Wobbles" can be common even in previously confident swimmers so it's definitely worth trying again. Chlo was super nervous till we went on holiday last summer and getting her in the pool daily sorted her right out!

  4. January 26, 2016 / 9:33 am

    Getting the time right for swimming is pretty hard but such an important life skill x

    • January 26, 2016 / 10:52 am

      Absolutely. I'm always shocked when I speak to adults who can't swim.

  5. January 26, 2016 / 10:31 am

    I've just signed up my 5yr old for swimming lessons. Been putting it off as the pool near us has terrible viewing facilities and I've been dreading trying to entertain her little sister! But such an important skill I've bitten the bullet! #triedtested

    • January 26, 2016 / 10:55 am

      I must admit my Tuesday nights when the big two have their council lessons are pretty much hell on earth trying to entertain two while the other swims then getting everyone dressed etc but it's worth it. Like you say, it's an important life skill so we just have to suffer it 😉

  6. January 26, 2016 / 10:42 am

    sounds like she is loving there lessons, such a cute pic. Hope it keeps going well now the timing is better #triedtested

    • January 26, 2016 / 10:56 am

      Thanks Rebecca, she had an even better lesson yesterday so it's going well!

  7. January 26, 2016 / 10:46 am

    It sounds like the lessons are going really well!

  8. mummydaddy mia
    January 26, 2016 / 10:53 am

    I'm so glad Amy is still enjoying swimming even though you have slightly changed classes. I worry that because we have been going to the same classes with the same teachers with Mia for 2yrs now, I will never be able to move her if I needed to! We love our swimming lessons too and although we stopped going to Puddle Ducks before Mia was 1, we have carried on swimming regularly at our local pool 🙂

    • January 26, 2016 / 1:46 pm

      My big two have changed teacher a couple of times at their council classes and it doesn't really seem to affect them.

  9. gina caro
    January 26, 2016 / 11:19 am

    I'd definitely say that the time of the lessons has a huge impact on how they get on. Also the day can make a difference too. We use to have lessons on a Friday and they were both exhausted from a week of school so now we've changed to a Monday and they enjoy swimming a lot more than before. #TriedTested

    • January 26, 2016 / 1:44 pm

      It's amazing isn't it!

  10. Jodie Allen
    January 26, 2016 / 11:37 am

    Funny how just 1 hours difference can change things – although when you think about it it makes complete sense! I am glad she is doing well though.

    • January 26, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      Yes, I don't think it would have occured to me until we changed it for another reason

  11. January 26, 2016 / 11:45 am

    We stopped Puddleducks at 2 because the children didn't enjoy the structure anymore – they were brilliant for us but had their shelf life #TriedTested

  12. January 26, 2016 / 1:49 pm

    Glad that Amy has adjusted well to having a new teacher and that the change in time works better for her as well. Sounds like she is really enjoying the Puddle Ducks classes 🙂

  13. January 26, 2016 / 1:55 pm

    It's great that the change has been so positive! We're hopefully going to start swimming lessons with Marianna later this year – my dad never stops telling me that he was taking me right from the tiny baby stage, but he clearly had more patience and endurance than I do! lol #triedtested

  14. Emma Lofthouse-Burch
    January 26, 2016 / 2:18 pm

    It sounds like Amy is doing really well, i'my glad you are still enjoying it #triedtested

  15. Mummy Melton
    January 26, 2016 / 5:15 pm

    We love our Puddle Ducks classes, Mini M's is at 1215 & he always falls asleep then wakes up starving. It's the only one we can make with working though #triedtested

  16. January 26, 2016 / 5:35 pm

    Aw these sound great, I should get Sienna some swimming lessons!

  17. January 26, 2016 / 7:47 pm

    Sounds like she's really enjoying her swimming lessons 🙂 I really need to get my little one to lessons soon. I tried to do them with my son but he likes to do his own thing and just doesn't listen so never enjoyed them sadly.

  18. January 26, 2016 / 8:45 pm

    Sound really good swimming lessons. One of the school mums gave me an eye-opener today. She went swimming at the leisure centre today, same time as son1's lesson and said that of the hour lesson slot, only 12 mins was in the pool. They then had to get out as next lesson was waiting. Rest of time just getting there and back, plus changing #Triedtested

  19. January 26, 2016 / 9:16 pm

    I'm so jealous of everyone's Puddle Ducks reviews! We did Splashers for one term but sadly can't afford it anymore… #triedtested

  20. January 26, 2016 / 9:17 pm

    I've been plagued by ear infections so still haven't managed any lessons. My mummy is waiting for things to settle down but would like me to learn around school age. This sounds like a good company to learn with! #TriedTested

  21. January 26, 2016 / 10:57 pm

    I used to hate taking mine swimming when they were very little, because it was always so cold! You wouldn't think it would be that hard to get right!

  22. January 27, 2016 / 12:42 pm

    Great to hear Puddle Ducks is continuing to work for you

  23. January 28, 2016 / 9:54 am

    Puddle Ducks sounds like great fun, I would have loved something like that when my boys were younger.

  24. January 28, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    We use to go to Puddle Ducks and I thought they were amazing and so worth the money. It sounds like she is really enjoying them x

  25. January 29, 2016 / 7:42 am

    It sounds like Amy is getting on brilliantly with her lessons. I took Toby until he was one but he really didn't like it towards the end (I know they say you should stick with it but this lasted a few months), then I went back to work and we've never really got round to taking him swimming again. I don't know how he'd get on though – he's refused to sit down in the bath for about 6 months now so he might take some persuading!

  26. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    January 31, 2016 / 2:05 pm

    I am glad to hear that a change in the lesson time is working better. we have had the other way with our gymnastics group that we go to, now that Boo is two it's 11.30 instead of 10.30 and she sadly doesn't enjoy it as much as she is too tired!
    It sounds like lessons are so much fun!

  27. February 2, 2016 / 7:52 am

    Sounds like it was a good move there's no point having a class which doesn't work time wise and that she's demonstrating what she can do is fab!! Thanks for hosting #TriedTested xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.