Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages, Attractions of Snowdonia – Review

This reivew of Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages is the fourth and final post in a series of posts about our festive weekend away in Snowdonia . . . 

As you know we took a festive trip to Snowdonia with Attractions of Snowdonia in the middle of December.  (You can read more about our adventures in the following posts: Father Christmas at Bounce Below, Father Christmas at GreenWood Forest Park, Bodnant Garden, Snowdonia)

Today I want to tell you about Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages, our accommodation for the weekend.

We had set off to Wales straight from picking Ben up from school on the Friday afternoon.  The drive took around 2.5 hours in total and by the time we arrived it was absolutely pitch black.  Finding the cottages in the dark was a little tricky and despite using out sat nav we both managed to drive past initially.  (It’s worth bearing in mind that your GPS on your sat nav may well drop out once or twice due to a lack of reception)

When we arrived Dave went up to the big house to collect the keys and a welcome sheet which included clear instructions for the heating etc.  (This was in addition to the extensive file of information in the living room about the property and leaflets about things to do in the area.) The moment we walked through the door Ben was dashing about, exploring every nook and cranny – he was so excited, and of course glad to stretch his legs after the long car journey!

Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - Christmas tree
The Christmas tree in the living room

The cherry on the cake was finding a fully decorated Christmas tree all lit up in the living room – as we hadn’t got round to putting our own decorations up at that point this was a really lovely touch and really made Ben and Chloe’s day.  We also appreciated the tray in the kitchen laid out with tea & coffee making facilities, milk in the fridge, buttered tea loaf and a nice message inviting us to make ourselves a brew after our long journey.

Even though I had looked at the website and seen pictures of where we would be staying I was really surprised by what we found.  I guess “cottages” conjures up images of tiny little places but no – this place was huge.  Three decent sized bedrooms – two twins and a master bedroom with en-suite, a spacious main bathroom, downstairs toilet, large living / dining space with ample sofa seating.  Oh and free Wifi – always a winner!

Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - Living room
Living / dining area
Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - master bedroom
Master bedroom
Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - twin room 1
Twin Room 1
Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - twin room 2
Twin Room 2

Everything was really clean and comfortable, and whilst it’s not the most modern of decor it suits the cottagey feel of the place.

We had asked for a travel cot and high chair to be provided and these were both waiting in the property when we arrived.  In fact it wasn’t just a travel cot – set up in the master bedroom was a proper cot which was a real bonus as it meant Amy was much more likely to have a decent sleep.  She went to sleep without a peep which was a bit of a surprise and slept just as well as she would have done at home.

Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - cot in master bedroom
Cot in the master bedroom

Although there was plenty of space for Ben and Chloe to have their own rooms, they chose to sleep together and we decided this was probably for the best as if they woke in the night they would feel more reassured if they knew the other was there rather than getting in a panic.  Again once they were tucked in for the night they settled relatively quickly, there might have been a little bit of landing exploration and a stern word from Daddy but I think that’s understandable really when they were so excited!

Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - kids in bed
Two children ready for bed!

And of course I have to mention the surroundings . . . when we had arrived the last section of the journey was long and dark and a little hairy at times but we knew it would be gorgeous in the daylight.  In fact absolutely nothing could have prepared us for the spectacular sights which would greet us the next day!  From the view out to the back of the cottages to every corner we turned on our adventures over the course of the weekend the views were absolutely epic.  Snow covered mountains, beautiful expanses of open water and forests which wouldn’t have looked out of place in Narnia.  We were both awestruck, even Ben seemed to be able to appreciate the beauty of the place.

Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages - outside
The cottages
parking at Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages
Parking
Incredible view from Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages
And what a view
view from Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages
Can you imagine having this in your back garden?

Overall our stay at Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages was completely pain free and we would most definitely love to return!  I think it would be especially lovely to book a number of cottages & go with a group of friends.  The last word on the cottages must go to Ben though who said “Mum, I wish we could live here forever“.

*We stayed at Coed Gelert Holiday Cottages free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

*Read about more of our adventures here*

54 Comments

  1. January 2, 2015 / 11:46 pm

    Lucky you! Looks like a lovely break xxx

    • January 3, 2015 / 4:17 pm

      It really was – a lovely way to relax just before Christmas & a fabulous way to spend some more family time. Made me realise we should get away more often.

  2. January 3, 2015 / 9:17 pm

    Oh wow, this place looks fantastic! I've never really ventured into that part of the UK but would love to visit – the cottage looks great! x

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:53 pm

      It wasn't somewhere we'd been before but we'd definitely go back!

  3. February 3, 2015 / 8:11 am

    We went to Wales last year and would love to go again. This accommodation sounds great – will definitely check it out.

    #TriedandTested

  4. dambaby.com
    February 3, 2015 / 8:22 am

    Looks like you had a brilliant time as a family, what a lovely thing for you all to experience together.

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:55 pm

      We really were very lucky x

  5. February 3, 2015 / 8:54 am

    Ahhh I love this Colette. And that photo of your two in their twin beds is ADORABLE!!! So nice to get away with the family. Great memories made too I can imagine. Thanks for hosting. #triedtested

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:55 pm

      They're so cute together 🙂

  6. February 3, 2015 / 8:58 am

    Lovely pictures of making memories! Thanks for sharing with us all 🙂 Xx

  7. February 3, 2015 / 9:21 am

    What a lovely place to stay! and what a view!!
    What a fantastic touch having a Christmas tree up…

  8. February 3, 2015 / 9:28 am

    what a really beautiful place .. i have no idea why we dont think of that part of the country to holiday in! .. stunning x

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:55 pm

      It wouldn't have occurred to us before, we'd definitely go back.

  9. February 3, 2015 / 9:42 am

    I love North Wales and this looks like a great base for a family break. Really rather envious. A proper cot makes life a little easier too doesn't it. Looks fab.

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:56 pm

      The cot really did make all the difference!

  10. February 3, 2015 / 9:44 am

    We have a caravan in Snowdonia, it is just so beautiful. I love that they put a Christmas tree up for you – little details mean so much.

    #Tried/Tested

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:56 pm

      Oh you lucky thing!

  11. February 3, 2015 / 9:54 am

    Such a lovely looking cottage – very jealous! #triedtested

  12. February 3, 2015 / 10:18 am

    Nice looking cottage. Loved that they did a tree for you and love even more how Welsh it looks! (but then I am biased!) 😉 #triedtested

  13. February 3, 2015 / 10:31 am

    Sounds like a lovely break for you all.

  14. February 3, 2015 / 11:00 am

    Looks lovely there, very comfortable and beautiful surroundings. It makes me want to go now!

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:56 pm

      It was absolutely stunning.

  15. February 3, 2015 / 11:04 am

    Wow, those scenes are absolutely breath taking. Having a decorated tree is a lovely touch too. Love the space you had there also

  16. February 3, 2015 / 11:33 am

    What a wonderful view!! Sounds like a lovely break. The cottage looks great, I especially like that you had a cot and not a travel cot. #triedtested

  17. February 3, 2015 / 11:37 am

    What an amazing location – absolutely stunning!

    I love how accommodating they were for you – providing a proper cot and highchair. Proper family friendly service.

    Jenna at Tinyfootsteps xx

  18. February 3, 2015 / 11:39 am

    Oh wow, imagine opening your curtains to that view every morning, no wonder they didn't want to leave it's just stunning. How nice were the personal touches too?

  19. February 3, 2015 / 11:42 am

    We camped near there in February one year…freezing and won't be doing that again (we were young, and my friend was hard core having done DofE before!). The cottages look lovely, and it does make a difference having glorious views as well.

    • February 5, 2015 / 8:57 pm

      Oh heck I couldn't have managed a tent! Give me a cottage any day of the week!

  20. Bean
    February 3, 2015 / 12:15 pm

    It looks fantastic, what a great holiday 🙂

  21. February 3, 2015 / 12:22 pm

    Oh, what a beautiful setting and a lovely looking cottage. Just the kind of thing we're looking for, with the lovely little touches, too. Wi-fi always ranks on my list, too!

  22. February 3, 2015 / 12:30 pm

    What a gorgeous cottage in a beautiful place! I'd love to go! #TriedTested

  23. February 3, 2015 / 12:38 pm

    We are looking to go to Wales with the boys and my sister next year (walking, pony trekking, scenery/photography and relaxation) and Coed Gelert looks perfect!

  24. Kaye
    February 3, 2015 / 2:06 pm

    What a beautiful view! I've been looking for somewhere we could rent for a little holiday and this would be perfect. Great review. (:

  25. February 3, 2015 / 2:18 pm

    These cottages look great and perfect for a family holiday, and I love that they put a Christmas tree up for you! Those views are beautiful! xx #TriedTested

  26. February 3, 2015 / 2:29 pm

    Looks lovely – we're off to Snowdon for half term too – can't wait now!!

  27. February 3, 2015 / 3:42 pm

    We used to holiday in Wales and regularly visit Snowdonia! Its such a beautiful place. x

    #Tried&Tested

  28. February 3, 2015 / 3:59 pm

    Looks fantastic. We always struggle to find places with enough room but this looks fab. I love Wales too

  29. February 3, 2015 / 6:22 pm

    We've stayed in some lovely holiday cottages around the country and have always enjoyed the homeliness that you don't get when you are in a hotel. We haven't done it since we had kids but would love to give it a go. It sounds like your little ones were well catered for and enjoyed the experience x

  30. February 3, 2015 / 7:21 pm

    Sounds utterly fab and what a sweet thing for your boy to say!

  31. February 3, 2015 / 9:01 pm

    It sounds, and looks fab! How cute do your little ones look in the twin beds! x

  32. February 3, 2015 / 10:48 pm

    Sounds lovely. I love Wales although I think we've decided to look for a cottage in County Durham for our next holiday #TriedTested

  33. February 3, 2015 / 10:54 pm

    What a lovely view. How great is it to have an actual cot, I remember some pretty horrible travel cots.

  34. February 3, 2015 / 11:13 pm

    How lucky are you?! I've just read two holiday reviews and it really is making me think about our summer holiday with the children. Your photos look fab and you all look so relaxed, which is what a holiday is supposed to do for you, right?! It does sound lovely and another to add to our discussion pot!
    #TriedTested

  35. February 4, 2015 / 9:02 am

    What a stunning setting, and a really lovely homely cottage. I would love to wake up to that view. #TriedTested

  36. February 4, 2015 / 12:43 pm

    This looks like a gorgeous place to stay. If only for those views alone! Wow! x

  37. February 4, 2015 / 11:45 pm

    Isn't Snowdonia just one of the most heavenly places on earth? Absolutely love it there. Stunning pics x

  38. February 5, 2015 / 7:12 pm

    Those cottages look lovely and the children so sweet and snuggly in their beds. That view is outstanding – I must take my family to Snowdonia soon! #TriedTested

  39. February 8, 2015 / 7:42 am

    This looks, like a lovely place for the family to stay! Definitely somewhere I'd love to be with my boy!
    #triedtested

  40. February 8, 2015 / 4:42 pm

    what a lovely break, we went to Wales with our little one and booked a cottage as well all was lovely but the road were just dreadful

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.