Lonely Planet Kids – Review & Giveaway

Lonely Planet are a well established, trusted brand of travel books loved the world over and famed for offering nuggets of information which might be brushed over by other books.  What I didn’t know was that they also have a sister brand; Lonely Planet Kids, aimed at kick-starting the travel bug in children from an early age.  I love the idea of developing an early lust for travel and exploration in children!  There is so much to discover if only we’d step off our own front door step.

  - Lonely Planet Kids

Ben was sent a selection of Lonely Planet Kids books which he was super excited about – you can see what he thinks about them here:

So now you’ve seen what Ben thinks about his books, it’s my turn to share my thoughts with you.

The Travel Book (Ben doesn’t mention this book in his video)

My own geography and knowledge of the world is pretty poor so I found this book really interesting myself.  I love the way the book is laid out in a really friendly and accessible way – small snippets of information that can be dipped into.  This is great for more reluctant readers as it’s not too overwhelming and I think it makes for great conversation starters as you read together.  The sheer number of interesting and random facts really appeals to Ben!  He loves a good “Did you know . . . ?”

You Rule!

This book is laid out in such a way as to give you all the information you need to start and run your own country.  I love this sneaky way of actually teaching you all about how countries are ruled and managed with sections focusing on Border Security, Migration / Immigration and Democracy.  The tone of the book is really chatty and friendly but gives a lot of really detailed information at the same time.  The teacher in me loves this!!

You Rule! - Lonely Planet Kids

Adventures Around the Globe – World Atlas

This special edition Atlas is designed to introduce young readers to the continents with a beautifully illustrated map along with all sorts of activities and stickers to really help them get involved.  I think this is particularly great for those kinesthetic learners who learn more by doing.

How to be an international SPY

Obviously as soon as this book arrived I knew Ben was going to be thrilled with it – who wouldn’t want to learn about being an international spy!  It’s the coolest thing ever!  Obviously we can’t share all the details of the book with you . . . it’s a secret!

How to be an international spy - Lonely Planet Kids

We love this selection of Lonely Planet Kids books and think they would make for great Christmas presents!  They’re so exciting and interesting for kids but full of information too.

*Disclaimer – We were sent the books free of charge for the purposes of review and have been compensated for our time however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

45 Comments

  1. November 10, 2015 / 5:25 am

    I would love to visit New Zealand! Somewhere I would love to see before I die!

  2. November 10, 2015 / 7:08 am

    florida – we love disneyworld

    Ashleigh

  3. November 10, 2015 / 5:37 pm

    I'd love to visit New Zealand just because it's on the other side of the world

    Kelly Ellen Hirst

  4. November 10, 2015 / 8:17 pm

    las vegas as i got married there

  5. November 11, 2015 / 9:30 pm

    We love going to London. We went to Manchester this year for the first time too and loved it there.

  6. November 11, 2015 / 9:56 pm

    I love Melbourne. Visited it a few years ago and loved the atmosphere of the city.

  7. November 12, 2015 / 9:03 am

    Loved Rome, but we only had a day, gonna go back for a week to explore xx

  8. November 13, 2015 / 9:30 am

    Canada we went to Alberta and it's beautiful

  9. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 15, 2015 / 4:50 pm

    I would love to visit the pyramids in Egypt

  10. Layla Thomas
    November 18, 2015 / 2:11 pm

    I loved Egypt. The beaches, the people, the food and especially my day trip to Luxor and the Valley of the Kings.

  11. November 18, 2015 / 10:20 pm

    I've travelled quite a lot but my favourite destination is New Zealand by far

  12. November 18, 2015 / 10:23 pm

    Texas as all my family are there

  13. November 19, 2015 / 9:08 am

    I love Venice, it's beautiful.

  14. Anonymous
    November 19, 2015 / 12:13 pm

    I would love to visit Bora Bora.

    @rachiegr

  15. November 19, 2015 / 2:15 pm

    Almost any small Greek island, specially Megannissi, which seems to offer all you could want – quiet, blue sea and boat hire, friendly people and tavernas

  16. November 20, 2015 / 11:53 pm

    I love Cape Town, South Africa, Luckily I've been a few times as my dad lives there.

  17. November 22, 2015 / 3:45 pm

    I'd love to explore some of the old castles in England!

  18. November 23, 2015 / 3:29 pm

    I visited Egypt when I was 15 with my school & have always wanted to go back. I have pictures of me posing by the Sphynx & sitting on a stone (bigger than me!) by the Great Pyramid. I'd love to see more of the country.

  19. kris
    November 26, 2015 / 2:27 pm

    would love to go to ausralia

  20. November 29, 2015 / 7:22 am

    Mauritius as beautiful place and have some family who live there

  21. December 1, 2015 / 9:46 pm

    My favourite place in the world is Normandy in France. It is so lovely there and they people are so nice and amazing.

  22. December 2, 2015 / 10:23 am

    My favourite place in the world is Venice, a leave a little piece of my heart there everytime i visit.

  23. December 2, 2015 / 7:30 pm

    i would love to go to blackpool x

  24. December 3, 2015 / 12:02 am

    would love to visit Rocky Mountains in Canada

  25. December 3, 2015 / 6:36 am

    Anywhere in France… just love it.

  26. December 3, 2015 / 7:16 am

    I'd like to go to australia

  27. December 3, 2015 / 7:36 am

    Interlaken in Switzerland! So beautiful and calm 🙂

  28. December 3, 2015 / 12:26 pm

    I'd love to go to iceland & see northern lights 🙂

  29. December 3, 2015 / 5:05 pm

    A secret garden near Hampstead Heath

  30. December 3, 2015 / 9:00 pm

    My favourite place is my home town in Northern Ireland where I grew up, currently living in Cornwall so only get home about once a year

  31. December 3, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    New York City, I've always wanted to go there at Christmas, its on my bucket list x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.