Oxford Children’s Books Christmas Titles – Review

Books make such a great gift – especially for children who may well end up overwhelmed with exciting toys this Christmas.  This Christmas, Oxford Children’s Books have a fantastic selection of festive picture book titles ready to solve your gift giving dilemmas!

Christmas Picture Books - Oxford University Press

Greatest Animal Stories, chosen by Michael Morpurgo (£12.99)

I am completely in love with this collection of animal stories chosen by award-winning children’s writer and former Children’s Laureate Michael Morpurgo.  It’s beautifully illustrated and the stories are the perfect length for a bedtime story or for Ben to read to himself.  This is the sort of book I could imagine keeping in my classroom to dip into just before home time!

Inside "Greatest Animal Stories" - Morpurgo

Winnie and Wilbur Meet Santa, by Valerie Thomas illustrated by Korky Paul (£12.99)

I loved Winnie the Witch as a child so I was excited to see what Chloe thought of this book!  (According to the sleeve, Winnie & Wilbur have been delighting readers since 1987 . . . I feel old).

The festive pictures are busy and exciting with plenty of things to look at and discuss as Winnie and Wilbur come to the rescue of Santa who is, rather predictably, stuck up the chimney!  The special pop-up at the end of the story is a lovely surprise too!

Inside "Winnie and Wilbur meet Santa"

Walking in a Winter Wonderland written by Richard B Smith, illustrated by Tim Hopgood (£12.99)

We all know Peggy Lee’s iconic song “Walking in a Winter Wonderland”, you can hardly get through a December day without it ringing through your ears at some point.  This book brings the song lyrics to life with the most gorgeous illustrations.  I defy you to read this book out loud without breaking into song (and just in case you need a little music to accompany your singalong, the book comes with it’s very one Walking in a Winter Wonderland CD)

Walking in a Winter Wonderland CD

Inside "Walking in a Winter Wonderland"

The Mouse That Cancelled Christmas by Madeleine Cook illustrated by Samara Hardy (£6.99)

This paperback offering is the perfect festive bedtime story, with super cute illustrations, a little bit of counting and plenty of humour all with a nod to the seasonal traditions which make Christmas Christmas!

Inside "The Mouse that Cancelled Christmas"

A Dot in the Snow by Corrinne Averiss illustrated by Fiona Woodcock (£11.99) 

From the outset my girls were drawn to the glitter on the front cover of this story – I don’t blame them, who can resist a bit of festive glitter?  This book is not so much Christmas-themed as Winter-themed which I really liked as, much as I love Christmas, you can only read them for a few weeks of the year (or at least we do – I think it keeps it special that way)

Inside "A Dot in the Snow"

*We were sent this selection of books free of charge for the purposes of review.  All thoughts and opinions remain our own. This post contains affiliate links*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

150 Comments

  1. Rachel Butterworth
    November 27, 2016 / 11:44 pm

    Snow (fingers crossed).

  2. Richard Tyler
    November 28, 2016 / 12:04 am

    Making family xmas memories 🙂

  3. Joanna Kasznicki
    November 28, 2016 / 12:33 am

    Seeing my childrens faces when they see father christmas has come

  4. Susan Sargent
    November 28, 2016 / 11:05 am

    Watching my grandson’s face when he opens his presents

  5. Lorraine Stone
    November 28, 2016 / 1:50 pm

    Winnie and Wilbur meet Santa. Love the title! ~~

  6. Caroline Bourne
    November 28, 2016 / 3:25 pm

    Spending time with my family

  7. Nicola Lynch
    November 28, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    Being able to eat a Christmas dinner. I’ve missed the last two due to ill health!

    Really it’s seeing the joy on my four year olds face when he sees santa has been though – priceless.

  8. Addie Roe
    November 28, 2016 / 5:46 pm

    I am looking forward to seeing my little girl opening her presents and understanding the magic of santa. She is two on Christmas Eve 🙂

  9. Kerry Locke
    November 28, 2016 / 6:43 pm

    The food and copious amounts of alcohol I’m allowed to consume without feeling guilty!

  10. Laura Corrall
    November 28, 2016 / 7:27 pm

    It might sound daft but, The Elf on The Shelf. I love seeing the wonder and amazement of my girls in the morning when they see the fun things he has done.

  11. Diana
    November 28, 2016 / 8:40 pm

    Spending time with family 🙂

  12. Lisa Wilkinson
    November 28, 2016 / 8:57 pm

    Taking my little girl to meet Santa

  13. TEE simpson
    November 28, 2016 / 10:15 pm

    Seeing family and friends

  14. sandy
    November 28, 2016 / 10:45 pm

    Finishing work 😉

    • Colette
      Author
      November 28, 2016 / 10:49 pm

      I don’t blame you!

  15. Jessica Cook
    November 28, 2016 / 11:03 pm

    My last family christmas in the uk before we move to spain

  16. Samantha Parkes
    November 28, 2016 / 11:32 pm

    Christmas Day morning seeing my little girls face when she sees Santa has been

  17. Rachel Craig
    November 29, 2016 / 1:03 am

    Spending Quality time with family and friends, expressing goodwill etc.

  18. Laura Harrison
    November 29, 2016 / 2:00 am

    Spending time with my family and friends, enjoying ourselves xx

  19. November 29, 2016 / 2:26 am

    honestly I am looking forward to not being in work, sleeping late, lazy pj days watching disney movies cwtched on the sofa and eating the weight of my car in chocolate

  20. Jenny Prest
    November 29, 2016 / 4:56 am

    I had my daughter three weeks ago, do looking forward to out first Christmas as a family of four ?

  21. Michaela Hannah
    November 29, 2016 / 6:28 am

    I’m most looking forward to those cosy family nights in watching Christmas films and sharing yummy goodies

  22. donna l jones
    November 29, 2016 / 8:37 am

    seeing all the decorations

  23. Juliet Wilson
    November 29, 2016 / 10:04 am

    I can’t wait to see my son running in so excited because his stocking is full! I just love seeing the magic of Santa every year 🙂

  24. Charlotte A
    November 29, 2016 / 11:47 am

    Our first Christmas as a family of 5! So excited to see the kids faces on Christmas morning 🙂

  25. Miss Tracy Hanson
    November 29, 2016 / 12:00 pm

    The fact that my sister and brother-in-law (who live in the USA) are coming home for Christmas but Mum and Dad don’t know. We are going out for a meal on Christmas Eve (which has been booked) and they are going to meet us there.

  26. michelle anderson
    November 29, 2016 / 12:33 pm

    i love waking up to see my childrens faces on xmas day and this year will not be any different

  27. Sarah Parker
    November 29, 2016 / 1:02 pm

    family time

  28. Jayne Townson
    November 29, 2016 / 1:25 pm

    The chance to relax and spend a few days doing family things.

  29. Holly Edmundson
    November 29, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    i am looking forward to spending time with my daughters and partner as this is the first year hes been off for christmas day in years and its our youngest first christmas too 🙂 xx

  30. Gemma Cook
    November 29, 2016 / 3:24 pm

    I’m really looking forward to spending quality time with my family & friends. Making lots of new memories.

  31. Laura Kevlin
    November 29, 2016 / 4:03 pm

    I’m most looking forward to my youngest being old enough to experience the magic of Christmas and really take part – she’s such a funny little character, and I think she’s going to be spellbound by it all!

  32. lucy knight
    November 29, 2016 / 4:15 pm

    spending quality time with my family and eating lots of chocolate!!

  33. Pauline Black
    November 29, 2016 / 5:37 pm

    Christmas dinner with all the family. 18 of us!!

  34. laura pyper
    November 29, 2016 / 6:43 pm

    having all the family for dinner on christmas day 🙂

  35. tammy neal
    November 29, 2016 / 6:43 pm

    having all the family round and all the laughter and happy faces 🙂 x

  36. November 29, 2016 / 7:25 pm

    The quality family time and eating ALL THE CHOCOLATE!

  37. Danielle Bassford
    November 29, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    Spending time with family, last bits of shopping done, then being able chill watching Christmas films 🙂 xx

  38. Pauline Burroughs
    November 29, 2016 / 8:49 pm

    I’m looking forward to the family all being together and seeing my grandchildren open their presents

  39. Jodie A Harvey
    November 29, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    quality family time!

  40. Jacki MacTaggart
    November 29, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    Loads of snow..so no one has to go to school!!! ;)))-or work

    • Colette
      Author
      November 29, 2016 / 10:45 pm

      Oh now wouldn’t that be lovely!

  41. Sheri Darby
    November 29, 2016 / 9:38 pm

    Having all my family at home together

  42. November 29, 2016 / 10:06 pm

    Having some time off my studying to read and relax with my son.

  43. Nicole S.
    November 29, 2016 / 10:28 pm

    Spending time with family and having fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.