Tech21 iPad mini case – Review

Since I got my iPad mini last Autumn, I’ve been really conscious of protecting it from damage.  By the very nature of an iPad and it’s portable design, I often have it out and about with me so the risk of bumps, knocks and scratches is high.  I immediately invested in a fairly standard Apple cover.  You know the one which attaches magnetically down the side and flips open to create a stand.  It has it’s benefits.  I love the bright red colour, the stand, the smooth feeling.  However it also has it’s niggles – it only really protects the screen – the back is open and therefore prone to scratches and there is no protection from bumps or knocks.  The cover has also been known to fall off in my hand before now (in fact last time it happened I dropped my ipad on the floor screen down – thankfully it survived unscathed).

I was excited to see if the Tech21 Impact Folio Case would cut the mustard – featuring advanced impact protection to 6ft this had to be good right?

On first impressions I was disappointed by the brown colour.  Why would you choose brown anything?  I get that dark colours are practical but you know, black, navy, grey . . . anything but brown.

Colour aside, the texture or the cover is pleasingly smooth to hold but not slippy so as to mean you’re at risk of dropping it.  This geometric ribbing and “FlexShock” technology plays a significant part in protecting your tech from impact.  Designed to withstand being dropped from around 6ft you can be safe in the knowledge that you’re doing everything you can to prevent damage to your precious technology – now you know I like to be thorough in my reviews but I’m afraid I’m not going to test that one out for you.  Let’s just trust them on it shall we?

By definition of the case, it is going to add a certain level of bulk to your slick, slim ipad – but this is a small price to pay for increased protection from bumps and knocks on your daily commute or at the hands of careless children.  I’ve certainly seen bulkier cases on the market that’s for sure.

Fitting the case is child’s play – your tablet just pushes neatly into the flexible edges and you’re done. They curve very slightly to hold your ipad securely in place, there is no way it’s going to accidentally slip out.

I’ve mentioned already that the case does add to the size of your iPad and of course it’s to be expected this heavy weight protective case is going to weigh more than your naked ipad but again, this is just pay off for the protection you’re getting (and if you compare it to the ones we use on the kids’ iPads at school it’s as light as a feather!)

When choosing a case, I think it’s important to ensure that you retain all the features of your tablet or phone.  Who wants to have to keep taking it in and out of it’s case to be able to use it properly – you know you’ll only drop it whilst messing about trying to get it back in or something.  Thankfully the Tech21 case offers full access to all the features of your iPad.  Use of the camera is not affected – as you can see, it fits neatly around the camera without interference and the buttons are still responsive.  (There really is nothing worse than using a case which means you have to press buttons a million times with the pressure of an elephant to make them respond)

As you would expect from a case of this style, it features automatic wake on opening the front cover – I do think the magnet on this could do to be a little stronger as if I hold my iPad face down then it will flop open reasonably easiliy.  It also provides a great multi angle stand – which I think is one of my favourite features of this case, it is far more stable than my previous Apple branded cover.

Tech21 ipad case

All in, I’m impressed with the protection provided by the Tech21 case, yes it’s a little bulkier than carrying your iPad around on it’s own, yes it weighs a little more and yes, I would definitely prefer it to be a different colour but do I feel safer carrying my iPad in my bag now? Absolutely.  Would I panic if Amy picked it up off the kitchen side, no probably not.  This Tech21 Impact Folio case absolutely does the job in protecting your iPad from bumps and knocks (and even 6ft drops) so is ideal of those of us with small children or busy commutes!

*Disclaimer – We were provided with a Tech21 case free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*
Share:

49 Comments

  1. February 23, 2016 / 1:39 pm

    Yes, my daughter dropped her iPad and it broke – we had to get the front replaced as it had cracked.

  2. February 23, 2016 / 7:51 pm

    I'm touching wood as I speak but I've been so lucky with mine. I hope the luck continues.

  3. Susan Smith
    February 23, 2016 / 8:32 pm

    No havent had any problems, i'm really careful

  4. Anonymous
    February 23, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    I had only just got new phone unlocked at shop, put it in my bag to go home. On arriving home I discovered phone screen scratched, house keys had been the culprit. I believe new technology should come with protective covers etc. As seem incomplete without these.

    Rachel Craig

  5. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    February 23, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    This looks great, my daughter loves to 'borrow' our phones and tablets so sturdy cases are a must!

  6. February 23, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    Ooh this looks fab. I've given my iPad to my children and need one of these!

  7. February 24, 2016 / 3:09 pm

    Great design….yea, I wouldn't go for those colours either, but to stop a damaged iPad, its perfect.

  8. February 24, 2016 / 10:08 pm

    I wouldn't go for brown either, but I have to say I need some more protection than the standard Apple cover as well. I dropped my iPad mini a few times, and the screen is cracked all over

  9. February 25, 2016 / 9:00 am

    So far, so good. I always buy clamshell mobiles to try and prevent damage x

  10. February 25, 2016 / 11:18 am

    I broke my tablet while reading an ebook and dropped it down the stairs. Resulted in a cracked screen.

  11. February 25, 2016 / 5:10 pm

    I've dropped my phone a few times but thankfully haven't broke it

  12. February 25, 2016 / 7:46 pm

    I have smashed my OH phone before. Have a tech21 case and it is brill! I have dropped my phone loads and it hasn't smashed yet. Didn't know they did tablet cases.

  13. February 25, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    My 2 most epic fails were: spilling a glass of cola over my MacBook Pro's keyboard (and killing the whole machine), and my first iPod falling out of my pocket into the toilet (so dead). Hubby put his Samsung Galaxy phone through the wash, and shockingly enough it came back to life and worked for another 8 months!

  14. February 26, 2016 / 8:56 am

    My son dropped a laptop down the stairs about four years ago. it still works today – and it was the cheapest on the market when I bought it!! shows how little it means to spend a forune on things, eh?!!

  15. February 26, 2016 / 5:25 pm

    My teenager dropped his iPhone at school, the whole screen smashed

  16. February 26, 2016 / 8:54 pm

    I've dropped a couple of mobiles over the years.

  17. February 26, 2016 / 11:22 pm

    I am terribly clumsy as I have dropped a phone down a toilet scratched and cracked nearly every screen and lost about 4 mobiles on nights out, what am I like! x

  18. Lynsey Buchanan
    February 27, 2016 / 1:31 am

    I stood on the Galaxy tablet the other night thankfully I did not crack it.

  19. February 28, 2016 / 7:46 am

    Oh touch wood I have been lucky

  20. Neha Parmar
    February 29, 2016 / 12:14 pm

    My daughter has dropped my phone twice and both the times I have repaired the screen since it was cracked and the other time the whole screen came off it was such a bad drop…I need to save it from her so bad..

  21. March 1, 2016 / 1:45 am

    My boyfriend knocked my phone out of my hand by accident and it smashed I didn't have a case on it I had to take out another contract because glass and speaker were smashed I ended up paying for 6 months for a phone I didn't even have plus pay for another contract at same time so I could get a new phone as it wasn't insured. 🙁

  22. March 1, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    My phone flew out of my pocket when I walked right into one of those 2 foot bollards that councils are putting up all over the place at entrances to parks to stop joyriders driving into them. It was quite dark and they switch off half the lights in the area too to save money 🙁 My screen smashed, but I was more upset by my cut knee.

  23. Solange
    March 1, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    No, I'm always very careful.

  24. Andrea Lloyd
    March 5, 2016 / 8:04 pm

    Near misses of falling phones

  25. March 7, 2016 / 5:54 pm

    My sister in law knocked my phone off the arm on the chair into a pint sitting below. She was more devastated than I was.

  26. Pam Francis Gregory
    March 8, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    Cracked the screen on my phone in the past!

  27. March 21, 2016 / 10:49 pm

    Yes my Google tablet nexus 7 dropped it on my kitchen floor and the screen completely smashed.

  28. March 21, 2016 / 10:50 pm

    Yes my Google tablet nexus 7 dropped it on my kitchen floor and the screen completely smashed.

  29. Teresa Lee
    March 24, 2016 / 3:15 pm

    I dropped my phone down a flight of concrete steps on a night out once – cracked the screen and pretty much everything else. It's quite a sickening feeling watching your phone as it bounces of every step whilst you desperately try to chase after it in heels.

  30. March 25, 2016 / 4:43 pm

    I am usually careful but my daughter has dropped her phone a few times and scratched it

  31. March 26, 2016 / 2:53 am

    embarassingly yes on girls nights out lol

  32. Susan B
    March 26, 2016 / 12:14 pm

    Yes, badly scratched and often spoiled. Sturdy protection is really important.

  33. March 26, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    Luckily my Ipad has survived quite a few near misses but this would definitely give me peace of mind

  34. Kat Allinson
    March 27, 2016 / 9:22 pm

    I try and be very careful, I have had cheap cases crack and once a tiny bit chipped off my phone screen

  35. March 27, 2016 / 8:46 pm

    my phone screen shattered 🙂

  36. March 28, 2016 / 8:52 am

    Yes, broke my phone by dropping it many a time

  37. March 28, 2016 / 3:33 pm

    even though I havent any protection on my phones I have been lucky enough to avoid scratches and breaks

  38. March 28, 2016 / 8:41 pm

    i cracked the screen on my iphone 3G years back so have always protected since

  39. March 28, 2016 / 9:07 pm

    It was! Cracked screen on the kitchen floor while pregnant, then got it fixed just before due date and then in hospital after having my daughter the nurse by accident pushed my phone of the table and screen cracked again!

  40. March 28, 2016 / 9:12 pm

    No, I'm super careful

    Kirsty Fox

  41. March 28, 2016 / 9:13 pm

    We have 2 cracked screens on mini iPads thanks to a clumsy 4 yr old & they were in cases . But unfortunately they both landed screen facing down on hard toys !

  42. March 28, 2016 / 9:16 pm

    I've been lucky and had no mishaps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.