The Tiger Who Came to Tea – Review

Last Saturday morning we took ourselves off to The Epstein Theatre in Liverpool to watch a stage performance of The Tiger Who Came to Tea.  Of course The Tiger Who Came to Tea is a pure children’s classic and one we all remember from our childhood (well everyone except Dave who claims to have never heard of it before we had children!) so I was really interested to see how it would translate to stage.

The Tiger Who Came to Tea at The Epstein Theatre

Ben and Chloe know the story of The Tiger Who Came to Tea well, its a firm favourite in our house and the perfect length for a bedtime story.

We settled into our seats and waited for the show to start.  I really liked the soft start to the show whereby the characters came in from side entrances and waved to the audience before making their way up on to the stage.  I felt this worked really well for the younger members of the audience who might have been frightened by a loud dramatic start to the show.

The story was beautifully told, staying true to the original book whilst adding in extra detail and music to make it work for stage.  I must admit that the Tiger himself was my favourite and Ben thought he was great.  He was completely in awe of the fact that the Tiger had actually managed to “eat” all the food and was keen for me to explain all the stage trickery to him later on.  I was only aware of one child in the audience who was scared by the Tiger, most seemed to just find him entertaining.  He looked friendly enough and was very polite and occasionally comical in his actions.

The Tiger Who Came to Tea

I wasn’t really expecting Amy to manage to sit through it but in actual fact she was completely enthralled from the start.  Both girls absolutely adored the show though Ben felt he was a little too grown up for it and refused to join in with the songs.  Essentially he’s probably at the top end of the audience the show was aimed at anyway and he admitted that he had enjoyed the show overall.

Taking the children to the theatre is such a wonderful experience for them and Chloe is still talking about the Beauty & the Beast pantomime almost three months later.  We are becoming something of regular visitors to The Epstein now and will definitely be checking out what’s on for later in the year!

*We were invited to watch this performance of The Tiger Who Came to Tea free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own* 

*Read more reviews here*

*Read about more of our adventures here*

36 Comments

  1. June 22, 2015 / 1:50 pm

    We are going to see this show when it visits Newcastle next month – can't wait xx

  2. June 22, 2015 / 5:46 pm

    Glad to hear you enjoyed it. This is one story that I must have read as a child but cannot recall it at all. It is on my 'To read' list now. x

  3. Karen Bell
    June 23, 2015 / 7:17 am

    Sounds like a great show. We love going to the theatre x

  4. aNoviceMum *
    June 23, 2015 / 7:47 am

    How lovely; interesting how drama brings texts to life. I look forward to introducing my child to this aspect of 'reading' sometime soon. We all have different reactions to things; I hope my little one will find the dramatics enjoyable.

  5. Lucy Vest
    June 23, 2015 / 7:57 am

    I absolutely hate this book but it's my daughter's favourite. I think I could recite it in my sleep! So glad you enjoyed it!

  6. June 23, 2015 / 7:12 am

    We love The Tiger Who Came To Tea. I didn't know that there was a show 🙂

    #triedtested

  7. June 23, 2015 / 7:15 am

    It's lovely to introduce to the theatre, as well as the cinema – looks like a great show 🙂 #TriedTested

  8. June 23, 2015 / 7:46 am

    I had never read the book either before I had children so Dave is not alone! It's a favourite with my little ones and the show sounds great – one to try and take mine to if I get the chance I think! 🙂

  9. Jenna Richards
    June 23, 2015 / 9:13 am

    Oh this sounds fab – I can't wait to take my girl to the theatre when she's older.

    The Tiger Who Came To Tea is one of our faves! 🙂

    Thanks for hosting #TriedTested xx

  10. June 23, 2015 / 8:16 am

    We love the Tiger who came to tea in our house #TriedTested

  11. June 23, 2015 / 8:21 am

    aaa that's one of my favourite books, sounds like a wonderful experience x #triedtested

  12. June 23, 2015 / 8:38 am

    I had never heard of the Tiger who came to tea myself either until i had my own children. My children love it and we often read it before bedtime now. This sounds like a great show and i am glad you all had a good time , i can't wait to do things like this with my little two when they are a bit older x #triedtested

  13. June 23, 2015 / 8:44 am

    I only "discovered" this book last year as I've been building my toddler's book collection. How lovely that it's been brought to the stage! #triedtested

  14. June 23, 2015 / 8:54 am

    I LOVE The Tiger Who Came To Tea. I can't believe that book is still around. I'm adding it to my little ones book collection now!

    It sounds like you all had a great time. 😀 I can't wait to start doing things like this with Evie when she's older. 🙂 xx

    #triedtested

  15. June 23, 2015 / 9:15 am

    Aww! It sounds like a lovely show…..My girls used to love the book when they were younger x

  16. beagreenbean
    June 23, 2015 / 10:50 am

    Fantastic! i loved that book as a kiddy. Sounds like a great family show! Mummy & Bean #Triedtested

  17. June 23, 2015 / 9:55 am

    I've heard of this one, sounds like a real success.

  18. Polly Mixtures
    June 23, 2015 / 11:51 am

    I wish we had a lovely theatre nearby – what a lovely treat for everyone involved! I love that book and hope my little one will too!

  19. June 23, 2015 / 11:40 am

    Of gosh – how lovely, loved the book as a child #TriedTested

  20. June 23, 2015 / 11:58 am

    I've taken my two to the theatre once before and was pleasantly surprised that they did actually sit through it! Bodes well for ITNG Live next month 🙂 Glad you all enjoyed it x

  21. June 23, 2015 / 12:06 pm

    This looks so lovely – my daughter loves this book too, and we've just been to our own first theatre performance, so I shall have to try to build on that…

  22. June 23, 2015 / 1:27 pm

    Oh, I love this book and have been reading it so Oliver since he was tiny. I would love to take him to see this, I feel he a little young though. Hopefully one will be on next year.
    Becky xx
    #TriedTested

  23. June 23, 2015 / 3:15 pm

    We've read the book many times, I didn't realise it was a show as well.

  24. Mummy Melton
    June 23, 2015 / 7:40 pm

    Great story and sounds like you had a lovely time. I look forward to taking Mini M to things like this when he's older and can sit through them

  25. Blogger Mummy Lauren
    June 23, 2015 / 8:26 pm

    Sounds like a great show, love the book!

  26. June 23, 2015 / 7:28 pm

    Classic story!,,glad they enjoyed the experience 🙂 x

  27. June 23, 2015 / 8:12 pm

    Ah I'm so sorry I didn't manage to get to see this, sounds fab. We all love the story too x x

  28. gina caro
    June 23, 2015 / 9:37 pm

    Sounds like it was a good show. I've just started taking my 4 year old to shows and she's really into them now. Last one we saw was Goldilocks and the 3 bears, which she loved! #TriedTested

  29. June 23, 2015 / 8:44 pm

    We love the Tiger who came to tea book! One of Izzy's favourites. The show sounds fab. #triedtested

  30. June 23, 2015 / 9:24 pm

    Love this book as does Monkey, we have seen the show too and really enjoyed it 🙂 How great you got to review it #TriedTested

  31. June 24, 2015 / 11:39 am

    It is a lovely experience going to the theatre as a family. A fab treat. My boys still talk about our trip to Horrible Histories. They were very taken with the 3D effects #TriedTested

  32. Tea Cup Toria
    June 25, 2015 / 12:24 pm

    Oh you lucky things! It sounds brilliant. It's one of my favourite books and I love the illustrations. Glad you all enjoyed it so much. xx

  33. June 25, 2015 / 3:16 pm

    I love the Tiger who came to Tea and how fantastic they have made it into a play. I love The Epstein Theatre as I took my mum a few months ago. Beautiful old theatre right in the heart of Liverpool #TriedTested

  34. katefever
    June 27, 2015 / 12:04 pm

    We love The Tiger who came to tea – it's one of our favourite books. Would be great to take my kids to see this.

  35. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    June 28, 2015 / 12:32 pm

    Aww sounds like you all had a great time =) is it such a great book too

  36. Victoria MyLittleLBlog
    July 6, 2015 / 8:13 pm

    i would love to go to something similar but just like you I'm not sure if L would sit still

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.