Vosene Kids & Nits – Review

Nits.  Pretty much a rite of passage for any school child.  But still grim.

To be honest I think it’s something of a miracle that I’ve taught for almost fourteen years and had kids in childcare for six of those, without getting them before now.

The pesky little blighters finally made their unwanted appearance back in September of last year and we fought a losing battle through till Christmas.  The only times we seemed to be properly free of them was in the school holidays so, although I was treating and combing till I almost lost the will to live, someone in Chloe’s class clearly wasn’t doing the same.

Of course, when it comes to head lice, prevention is better than cure.  From Chloe’s very first day at Nursery I insisted that she wore her hair tied up and that has been the rule ever since.  Neither girl ever wears their hair loose for school.  Ever.  (And the odd time Chloe has dared to take her bobble out she’s had a rocket up her I can tell you!)

Along with keeping their hair tied up and the occasional spritz of hair spray (which apparently makes it more difficult for lice to hold onto your hair) we’ve also been trying out the Vosene Kids Head Lice Prevention Shampoo and Conditioning Defence Spray.

Vosene Kids head lice prevention range

The Vosene Kids Head Lice Prevention Shampoo is super easy to use and is basically just like any other shampoo except it contains natural tea tree oil and lemon eucalyptus oil which head lice just don’t like!  Chlo really likes the smell of it and we found that it cleaned her hair up beautifully without appearing to irritate her sensitive scalp.  If I’m honest I’m not sure what the “3 in 1” is in reference too, I had thought perhaps it contained conditioner but  apparently not.  I can’t find any information about it but I’m assuming it must be to do with the ingredients that the nits don’t like?!  Either way, we like it so if there’s a cat in hell’s chance that it might save us from a nit infestation we’re going to keep on using it!

Little girl washing her hair with Vosene Kids head lice prevention shampoo

Vosene Kids head lice prevention shampoo

bamboo towel as turban

Once the hair has been towel dried, you can spray it with Vosene Kids Conditioning Defence Spray – this leave in conditioning spray should be spritzed on, rubbed in and then dried.  Whilst it’s easy enough to apply I’m afraid I can’t stand the smell – I think it must be the citronella which I took offence too as I don’t mind tea tree oil.  Chloe never complained though so it’s definitely a case of personal taste.

Vosene Kids head lice defence spray

Unfortunately the conditioning spray doesn’t really suit Chloe’s hair – we found it left her hair a bit dull and lank which, combined with the lingering fragrance, meant it’s not something we’d carry on using.

So all in, can I prove that the Vosene Kids range is working to prevent nits?  No of course, I can’t but when you’ve spent a full term combing and treating your daughter’s hair every week you will take your chances so I’m going to carry on using the shampoo, cross my fingers and hope for the best!

(Sorry for making you itch!!)

*We were sent these samples from the Vosene Kids range free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

36 Comments

  1. Jodie Melling
    March 11, 2017 / 8:05 am

    I am dreading this! Sophia starts nursery in September and she will not keep a bobble or hair clips in. She is nearly 3 and yesterday was the first time she manged to keep a bobble in for 1 hour argh. Thankfully her hair isn’t very long yet but I am dressing nits. I will definitely be looking for some prevention shampoos.

    Jodie x

  2. March 11, 2017 / 8:06 am

    I am itching. I hate the email coming round. It’s been every week recently. We have used this and I am going to put some more in my basket next shop 🙂

    • Colette
      Author
      March 13, 2017 / 2:02 pm

      Sorry! I knew this was going to be an itch inducing post!

  3. March 11, 2017 / 2:29 pm

    We use this shampoo. The latest has the trolls on the bottle so my kids call it trolls shampoo. We’ve not had them yet but I live in fear!!! I’ll try anything to avoid them. I’m still traumatised from having them as a child.

  4. March 11, 2017 / 8:07 pm

    I keep meaning to buy some of this stuff….
    We were infested with nits a few weeks ago. My teen was riddled and I caught them too. Ugh!

    • Colette
      Author
      March 13, 2017 / 2:01 pm

      It’s just horrible isn’t it!

  5. March 11, 2017 / 8:54 pm

    We’ve got this shampoo and think it’s brilliant. Its inevitable that they’re going to be going round pre-school sometime soon so i’m hoping we can get a-head (get it?, ha!) and ward them off!

    • Colette
      Author
      March 13, 2017 / 1:46 pm

      Fingers crossed! I can’t believe we got away with it for so long!

  6. March 14, 2017 / 8:08 am

    My head started itching as soon as I started to read! Sorry to hear about your nit problem and great that you have found a shampoo that smells good as well as helping. Luckily we’ve managed to escape nits so far. It’s a great argument for keeping your hair up at school too, I’d never thought of that as a reason although I won’t let my daughter go to school with her hair down either.

    #TriedTested

  7. March 14, 2017 / 8:21 am

    We’ve managed to escape nits so far, fingers crossed it stays that way. I insist Alice wears her hair up too, thankfully the school do too. I never knew about the hairspray trick! I agree prevention is better than cure and if the shampoo does the trick I’m all in favour of it x

  8. March 14, 2017 / 8:21 am

    We tried this as well and like you we liked the shampoo but the conditioner didn’t work for us. I am going to keep using the shampoo – honestly I am so, so sick of delousing the house! #TriedTested

  9. March 14, 2017 / 8:36 am

    Ugh, the thought of nits sends my skin crawling, so anything that can prevent them sounds worth a try! I don’t mind the smell of citronella either, although I agree it’s probably a personal taste. #TriedTested

  10. March 14, 2017 / 8:49 am

    Ooh I had no idea that a product like this even existed and it’s definitely something for me to consider for the future. I hate nits more than most because I actually got them when I was 16 from a friend during a sleepover- can you imagine?!

    #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      March 14, 2017 / 10:06 am

      Oh that’s just mortifying!

  11. March 14, 2017 / 9:13 am

    We haven’t had the nits yet but I’m just waiting on it coming! I’ve got combs at the ready but will need to get some Vosene in the house just in case.
    #TriedTested

  12. March 14, 2017 / 10:29 am

    This is the only shampoo we use on the children and we haven’t had any “visitors” since we started using it! #triedtested

  13. March 14, 2017 / 10:46 am

    I remember this brand from the olden days of my childhood! 🙂 My mum was a teacher and swore by it #TriedTested

  14. March 14, 2017 / 2:42 pm

    Oh nits were such a pain in primary school, this is one stage I don’t miss, any help you can get to keep them away is most welcome #TriedTested

  15. March 14, 2017 / 3:12 pm

    I’m all itchy now. We have a little friend over from preschool at the moment and she’s itching her head too!!! Thankfully we’ve not had the dreaded nits so far but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time!

  16. March 14, 2017 / 7:13 pm

    Thankfully we’ve only had the dreaded little blighters, once! All when Jacob started Primary school many moons ago. But this brand is great and even though we don’t use it personally, I have heard it’s a great nit deterrent. #TriedTested

  17. March 14, 2017 / 7:58 pm

    Oh God they are just awful.

    *stops to scratch my head*

    Izzy had them last summer and it took 2 weeks to get rid of them completely- in that time me and Clara both caught them! You’ve done well to avoid them for this long! #Triedtested

    • Colette
      Author
      March 15, 2017 / 11:58 am

      Just thinking about them makes you itch doesn’t it! I combed Chloe’s hair last night and I’m pleased to say we’re still nit free!

  18. March 15, 2017 / 9:31 am

    I don’t often say this about reviews but I’m absolutely going to buy this. I love tea tree oil and lemon eucalyptus. It’s also a really good point you made about always putting the girls’ hair up. My daughter has a bob but I do get lazy and think it will be ok. She’s escaped nits so far but, point taken. Hair up from now on!!

    • Colette
      Author
      March 15, 2017 / 11:56 am

      As a teacher I can tell you I much prefer kids to wear their hair up in school too just because they’re less inclined to mess about it with or for it to get in their way when they are working 🙂

  19. March 15, 2017 / 11:47 am

    This looks fab. Must get this for my kids. I used to love the smell of old school vosene, especially the herbal one. Do they still do it? #triedtested

    • Colette
      Author
      March 15, 2017 / 11:51 am

      Oh I don’t know? It’s not something we’ve really used before.

  20. March 15, 2017 / 3:06 pm

    Oh my gosh I am DREADING the day one of our kids comes home with nits. I’m surprised it hasn’t happened yet! Anything that helps prevent them is a winner in my book x #triedtested

  21. March 15, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    Love Vosene, hate nits. I dread the day my kids bring them home. Just the thought makes me itch all over. We use Vosene for my eldest and we have the melon smelling one. It’s a lovely smell. #TriedTested

  22. March 15, 2017 / 8:25 pm

    We’ve never been hit by the lice yet and we’re in Year 2… will definitely this in mind in case I’ve now tempted fate!! Thanks for hosting #TriedTested

  23. March 15, 2017 / 11:01 pm

    Hahaha no itching yet thankfully! This does look like a good thing I may have to try – I am so paranoid about them getting nits!!! Does it smell rough? like when we were little nit treatments had a distinct smell you couldn’t get rid of haha AWKWARD x #triedtested

  24. March 16, 2017 / 3:06 am

    I didn’t even know there was a way to prevent them. Definitely something I’ll keep in mind for when Peachy is of school age. #TriedTested

  25. Madeline (This Glorious Life)
    March 17, 2017 / 4:03 pm

    I didn’t know there were products like this, that can actually keep the lice away! I think it might be worth me getting some now both my children are in school. We’ve been lucky so far and only been hit once with them, I think our school is quite good at insisting parents treat any outbreaks! x #TriedTested

  26. March 18, 2017 / 1:32 pm

    I used this on my daughters hair for years until she grew sick of the smell. It really worked as she didn’t get nits until we stopped. I now use the nitty gritty comb if she gets them! #triedtested

  27. Sian
    March 20, 2017 / 1:40 pm

    Ah I think we should get some of these – we’ve avoided the little blighters so far but I guess it’s only fair we get them at some stage. Would prefer to avoid it though!

  28. March 21, 2017 / 6:18 am

    Ha ha that did make me itch too! You sum it up completely – Grim! The shampoo looks look though and it’s something we would consider using with Monkey. Thanks for the tips and for hosting #TriedTested

  29. March 21, 2017 / 8:26 am

    There is currently a bout of knits going around the school at the moment. Mine are yet to get it but I know it’s only a matter of time! #TriedTested

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.