Baby Annabell’s Brother – Review

Let me introduce you to the newest member of our family.  This is Baby Jack (more commonly known as Baby Annabell’s brother).  He arrived in our house a few weeks ago now to shrieks of excitement from his new Mummy, Amy.  Amy is fully obsessed with dolls at the moment – be it at home, at her childminder’s or at play school – if you ask her what she’s done that day the answer is almost guaranteed to be “played with the babies”.

Little girl with Baby Annabell's brother

Cuddles with Baby Annabell's brother

Where can you buy clothes for Baby Annabell boy doll?

Baby Annabell’s brother is the most realistic doll I’ve come across yet.  He has a lovely face, we’ve all seen some scary dolls haven’t we?  In terms of his size and weight, he feels very much like a real baby in your arms.  (Yes, I’ve been caught inadvertently rocking him when Amy has passed him to me.  It’s just a standard motherly instinct isn’t it?)  This also means that as well as the wide range of Baby Annabell clothing and accessories available – he also fits real baby clothes!  We’ve bought him a couple of sleepsuits in the sale in Tesco and found that the newborn size is probably a little big for him so I’m keeping my eyes peeled for tiny baby outfits now.

Baby Annabell's brother - Baby Annabell interactive doll

What’s the difference between the Baby Annabell and Baby Annabell’s brother?

In terms of the Baby Annabell’s brother doll being a “boy doll” the only actual difference I can see between him and the comparable Baby Annabell is that he has a blue spot on his tummy – he doesn’t have any of the usual boy ‘bits and bobs’ which means you could just as easily dress him in pink clothes and have a girl baby for the day. . .

What accessories does Baby Annabell’s brother come with?

Baby Annabell’s brother comes with a bottle, dummy, bib, nappy and a random pendant which I can’t possibly figure out a use for and all things which Amy has promptly lost.  Obviously one nappy doesn’t last very long when your baby is small so you can buy replacement Baby Annabell branded nappies (or just pop to the supermarket for tiny baby nappies which fit almost as well!)

Changing Baby Annabell's brother nappy

Baby Annabell's brother in nappy

Now Amy adored “Baby Jack” from the moment he was born (or removed from the packaging, whichever) and I must admit I was tempted to swerve the whole putting batteries thing in but in the interests of a proper review of course we had to . . .

What interactive features does Baby Annabell’s brother have?

Baby Annabell’s brother takes 4xAA batteries and rewards you with babbles, gurgles and realistic mouth movements as he sucks on his bottle.  He even yawns, falls asleep and wets his nappy.  Of course these interactive functions, whilst exciting, means he’s no longer a great option for Amy to keep in her bedroom at night – we’ve had enough of being woken by sleeping babies thanks so very much!

Baby Annabell's brother in bed with toddler

Amy is completely besotted with Baby Jack and takes him everywhere – either in her pushchair or a carrier just like I used to use when she was little!

*We were sent the Baby Annabell brother doll for the purpose of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own.  Post contains affiliate links*

*Read more reviews here*

24 Comments

  1. May 30, 2017 / 8:35 am

    Oh my goodness my daughter would love this. The fact it makes baby noises would be the cherry on the cake lol. Fab review and fingers crossed for the giveaway 😀
    #TriedTested

  2. May 30, 2017 / 8:49 am

    He looks very realistic to hold, which I think is important for a doll, they need to feel cuddly like a baby, that’s the best bit!

    • Colette
      Author
      May 30, 2017 / 8:51 am

      Yes absolutely – I think that’s what I love most about him.

  3. May 30, 2017 / 9:13 am

    Ah we have two of the ‘normal’ annabels (though one is blue… annabob? who knows – my kids call him ian!) but they don’t make a noise or have moving mouths… so this looks like the next step up! Love that she carries him around!

  4. Jemma Willson
    May 30, 2017 / 9:37 am

    This looks amazing-my daughter would love it, so I’ve also entered the giveaway, which was a pleasant surprise when I’d finished reading the review!
    Lovely review and pics hun!

  5. May 30, 2017 / 10:14 am

    I always used to buy premature baby clothes for my daughter’s dolls. They were cheaper than buying real dolls’ clothes!

    #TriedTested

  6. May 30, 2017 / 10:45 am

    Awww bless, I love boy babies, I see no reason why kids are so obsessed with girl babies all the time! #triedtested

  7. May 30, 2017 / 11:17 am

    My Ben loved his doll, I liked that it was a boy doll. Not all babies are girls so not all dolls should be girls either 🙂

  8. May 30, 2017 / 2:48 pm

    Oh I love the final image of your daughter pushing the doll down the road. Too sweet! We love Baby Annabelle products and have the sister version of this you at home (also good).

  9. May 30, 2017 / 4:19 pm

    Having only had a boy for the last four years I use to bypass all the girly toys, however, I had a little girl in March so I am super excited at the girly stuff I can now look at.

  10. May 30, 2017 / 6:29 pm

    Entered as my daughter LOVES dolls. Though in our house they don’t seem to keep their clothes on for very long as she’s obsessed with stripping them naked! #TriedTested

  11. May 30, 2017 / 9:39 pm

    Baby Annabel is much loved here by all our holiday makers, how wonderful to discover she has a brother too #TriedTested

  12. May 30, 2017 / 10:14 pm

    I don’t think my kids had any boy dolls when they were little, its lovely to see how besotted Amy is with him 🙂 #triedtested

  13. May 31, 2017 / 6:35 am

    Oh that girl’s happy face is just so happy! We had Baby Annabell’s brother and the kids loved him! #TriedTested

  14. keepmum
    May 31, 2017 / 9:52 am

    Aww she loves him!
    I had a baby Annabel as a child, I’ve recently given her (still works!) to my daughter to play with after my mum found her in the attic! and she loves her! I must admit though, I don’t find the new dolls as pretty. I like that there are boy dolls now ?
    #triedtested

  15. May 31, 2017 / 9:25 pm

    Great that the range has boy dolls too but a little bit disappointing that they aren’t anatomically correct as everything else is so lifelike #triedtested

  16. Jodie Melling
    June 1, 2017 / 3:43 pm

    My daughter has a baby Annabel and she loves it. It’s good to see a male doll around as I don’t think I’ve seen one before. I get sick of pink.

    Jodie x
    #TriedTested

  17. June 1, 2017 / 6:57 pm

    This is fab. My little boy, Arthur, LOVES dolls – especially as he has a baby sibling on the way he is really interested in babies and looking after them…even at nursery! #triedtested

  18. June 2, 2017 / 10:07 pm

    He looks great. I love how little children are drawn to doll babies. They are so hi-tech these days (God I sound old)

  19. June 3, 2017 / 7:48 am

    It was my dream to have a “baby cry” doll when I was 5. I never got one! I’m sure my parents got me other great things though but I always remembered the feeling of desperately wanting one like this. However, after 30 years, the dolls have certainly advanced in technology. Love it. #TriedTested

  20. Sian
    June 4, 2017 / 11:40 am

    Ah we love baby dolls here but I’m not keen on the crying ones! My 3 year old got one for Christmas and when she cries, the doll is passed to me to deal with. I’ve done my bit with crying babies 😉 #TriedTested

  21. June 4, 2017 / 7:53 pm

    That is a lovely doll! I did laugh at the thought of you rocking it though! Amy looks so pleased bless her x
    #triedtested

  22. June 4, 2017 / 9:23 pm

    Wow, this sounds truly interactive! I always wanted a baby Annabelle when I was little! Thanks for hosting #TriedTested

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.