Blue Denim Pinafore Dress from Milk & Biscuits – Review

Chloe is something of a fan of dresses.  At one stage I had to make sure I told her the night before if it was going to be a “trousers day”, thankfully she seems to have got a bit of a grip now and it doesn’t end in tears if she needs to wear jeans but she would still always prefer to wear a frock – the twirlier the better!  Of course a twirly dress isn’t always practical and whilst browsing the Milk & Biscuits site I fell in love with this blue denim pinafore dress . . . yes ok so really I just want to wear it myself but if I’m honest that’s the case with most of Chloe’s wardrobe!

Blue Denim Pinafore Dress from Milk & Biscuits (1)

Blue Denim Pinafore Dress from Milk & Biscuits (2)

When the dress arrived I was impressed with how soft the denim felt – there’s nothing worse than an overly stiff denim pinafore bunching up around your waist or chin when you sit down.  Chloe is fairly tall and I felt the age 5-6 would probably be a bit small so I ordered the blue denim pinafore dress in age 7-8.  Because of the slim-fit style it turned out to be a great fit on her – the length is great, with room to grow and of course the adjustable braces mean it should last her for ages.  The only place that shows I sized up for her is the zip fastening waistline – it is quite a structured shape and isn’t adjustable so you can see there is room in it for her but it just looks generous rather than far too big if that makes sense?  All in, Chloe’s comfortable and I know her new dress is going to last her.  We’re both happy!

Blue Denim Pinafore Dress from Milk & Biscuits (3)

Blue Denim Pinafore Dress from Milk & Biscuits (4)

Blue Denim Pinafore Dress from Milk & Biscuits (5)

Blue Denim Pinafore Dress from Milk & Biscuits (6)

At the moment, whilst the weather is cold, the blue denim pinafore dress works a treat with a navy stripe top (of course) and boots.  Come the warmer months a pretty blouse and Converse will be a winning combination. (Yes, I’ve already admitted I want to wear this myself haven’t I?)

At £35 this Milk & Biscuits blue denim pinafore dress is a little more expensive than the dresses I usually buy for Chloe but for the versatility and longevity I think it’s worth the extra spend.

*We received this Milk & Biscuits blue denim pinafore dress free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

28 Comments

  1. January 3, 2017 / 11:02 pm

    That pinafore is gorgeous! I love her style – and I need her wardrobe in my life. That outfit is gorgeous x

    • Colette
      Author
      January 4, 2017 / 4:28 pm

      It’s just gorgeous isn’t it! I would wear pretty much the entirety of Chlo’s wardrobe if I could!

  2. January 6, 2017 / 9:11 am

    Oh that is so sweet! And no I’d never have guessed by your blog that you like blue and stripes!! She looks gorgeous in it and it’s nice to have something so versatile that the kids can actually get some wear out of before they shoot up into the next size next winter. I’m glad it works sized up too – I’m now buying age 10 for my 6 year old and they’re often a bit too roomy around the middle!

  3. January 6, 2017 / 10:25 am

    I love denim dresses and she is truly rocking it with a Breton top!!! #alivelystyle

  4. January 6, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    She looks so happy in it! Like I said on IG I have a grown up version of this outfit and I love it – now I will have to go get this dress for my girls so we can all match! Hurrah!! x #ALivelyStyle

  5. January 10, 2017 / 8:12 am

    Colette this is adorable and what a natural little model you have there! I would love a grown up version! #TriedTested

  6. January 10, 2017 / 10:11 am

    I love that type of denim that is super soft, it’s so comfortable to wear. I like how versatile that pinafore is, you could use it in all seasons which is always a big bonus when choosing clothes for children. #TriedTested

  7. January 10, 2017 / 10:22 am

    I love a pinafore for my little girl. They’re so cute and so versatile to wear plus they’re comfortable. This one is a little expensive but looks like it would last a good while.
    #TriedTested

  8. January 10, 2017 / 10:35 am

    Beautiful dress and, as you say, one which will last a while. My daughter is a dress girl as well, I have persuaded her to wear leggings under her dresses so she doesn’t freeze in winter. I still can’t persuade her to wear jeans, maybe a denim pinafore dress is the way forward…

  9. January 10, 2017 / 11:07 am

    What a gorgeous dress….Your girl really suits it.
    I wish my girls were more willing to wear dresses. hehehe
    #TriedTested

  10. January 10, 2017 / 11:18 am

    I love this pinafore and I can understand why you fancy it yourself! My Mia would look so pretty in this, I think the price puts me off slightly but I would still spend that for a dress that lasted her. Lovely photos! 🙂

    #triedtested

  11. January 10, 2017 / 1:13 pm

    She looks so cool – it’s posts like this that make me wish I had a girl, just so I could buy her lots of lovely clothes! I can totally see you in a matching outfit too – I just bought a fab dungaree dress from Debenhams 🙂 #TriedTested

  12. January 10, 2017 / 1:18 pm

    I love the look, denim dresses are so practical aren’t they and this one is just that little bit different to look totally great.

  13. Jodie Melling
    January 10, 2017 / 2:17 pm

    My daughters the opposite at the moment she hates dresses and always asks for me to take it off. She usually just wears leggings haha.
    This dress is super cute though and would go with everything.

    Jodie x

  14. Becki Parsons
    January 10, 2017 / 4:57 pm

    Makes me want a girl, lol! I love pinafores, although I hated them as a kid. Go figure. She looks very fashionable – I love those boots too!

  15. January 10, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    I can see why you would want this for yourself, it’s lovely.

  16. January 10, 2017 / 9:03 pm

    Colette! I love it! I would totally wear her whole outfit myself 🙂 Gorgeous!

    Thanks for linking up to #ALivelyStyle xx

  17. January 10, 2017 / 9:44 pm

    That’s a really lovely dress, I love it (and want one too!!). It looks like it would go with lots of tshirts and seasons too. #triedtested

  18. January 10, 2017 / 9:50 pm

    What a lovely dress. #TriedTested

  19. January 10, 2017 / 10:38 pm

    This is a beautiful dress and I love the photos, she looks so cool!

  20. January 12, 2017 / 12:22 pm

    Oh that looks lovely. I am glad to hear the demin was soft. It sounds like it’s exactly what you want from a dress. I think I need to have a nosey at their website for clothes for Boo! #TiredTested

  21. January 14, 2017 / 9:58 pm

    Aww this is a very cute pinafore dress and it suits her so well! She looks fab in it!

    Thanks for hosting 🙂

    • Colette
      Author
      January 16, 2017 / 11:59 pm

      It reminded me of you actually!

  22. January 17, 2017 / 8:29 am

    I have never heard of this brand before. She looks so funky! I love it! I am looking for ideas for a new more fashionable me now I’m done having little ones! I think I may steal this outfit… in adult sizes of course! Thanks for hosting #triedtested x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.