Cable and Cotton – Review

Cable & Cotton sell the most beautiful string lights – you can choose from a number of pre-selected colour ways or make up your own combination.

I spent quite a while browsing the website.  Initially I struggled to decide which room I wanted the lights for so that was obviously the first big decision – I liked the idea of them being in the bedroom providing a soft warm glow but in reality we don’t get to spend much time relaxing in there so they’d just go to waste.  In the end I decided they’d make a lovely addition to the new playroom we are having built later this year.  I like the idea of them perhaps being laid across the top of the shelving unit we are going to get for toy storage or perhaps hanging in a cosy reading corner.

Much as I like the idea of the “pick and mix” I decided that I’d go with the experts on this one and choose a pre-selected combination.  There are so many stunning options but as I wanted the lights for the playroom I thought I’d go for bright and cheerful so chose the Turkish Delight combination, described on the website as a “fusion of Violet, Bright Orange, Ruby Red, Sunflower Yellow and Fuchsia Pink for those who are after a sweet treat”.

Even in the packaging before you do anything with them they look flipping gorgeous so I knew I’d made the right choice.

Coloured lights from Cable & Cotton
When you open up the box you are faced with 20 little balls and a string of lights (like Christmas tree lights) and a set of simple instructions on how to fit your lights together.  You basically just have to shove each bulb into the pre-made hole on the ball.  It states quite clearly in the instructions that you’re not to worry if you squash the ball a bit as it can be fixed once the bulbs are in.  I was quite nervous putting the bulbs in at first – you have to be surprisingly forceful when you’re pushing them in and it’s easy to collapse the balls but a quick wiggle around of the bulb inside soon sorts that problem out.
Cable and Cotton lights

I’m absolutely thrilled with my light string – it’s just SO pretty!  It’s really difficult to get a photograph of them lit which actually does them justice.  Of course our playroom is not yet built so I can’t show you them in their new home but I tried them out in a few different places this afternoon – my favourite being in a fish bowl style vase.

Cable & Cotton

I cannot wait to be able to display them properly when the extension is complete later this year!  I think I could be quite tempted to invest in one of the big lamps for our bedroom too!

If you’d like to find out more about Cable & Cotton you can find them here:
Website 
Facebook
Twitter

*Disclaimer – I was sent these Cable & Cotton lights free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions are my own*

*Read more reviews here*

36 Comments

  1. May 8, 2014 / 8:07 pm

    These are lovely, love the idea of putting them in a bowl – very effective!

  2. May 8, 2014 / 9:33 pm

    I love cable and cotton, I still haven't seen any lights that I like more. I've had ours for a while and still love them. Great colours choices you have – so nice and bright!

    • May 11, 2014 / 2:27 pm

      That's what I thought – I wanted to choose something that would look nice and cheerful in the playroom 🙂 x

  3. May 8, 2014 / 9:36 pm

    These look fantastic! Such a lovely, simple idea but so effective too! x

  4. Hannah J
    May 8, 2014 / 10:38 pm

    We want a different way to light out kitchen – it's sort of clinical and means business rather than a room with warmth of sorts. Chris has a whole plan up his sleeve but if he changes his mind I'd love a set like these. Then again I love fairy lights full stop.

    • May 11, 2014 / 2:28 pm

      They're definitely lovely and soft. A real feature x

  5. May 13, 2014 / 7:18 am

    These are so lovely, I adore strings of lights to give a homely feel x

  6. May 13, 2014 / 7:27 am

    These are awesome and would be great to the kids bedrooms! I love them. So colorful too! I like what you have done with them in the fish bowl!

  7. May 13, 2014 / 7:29 am

    I need these they look incredible love what you did with the vase ! Going to look for purple ones now !!! Great review #triedandtested

  8. May 13, 2014 / 8:51 am

    OOO those are soo pretty!! I love the way you have placed them in a vase. I might have to borrow that idea lol x

  9. May 13, 2014 / 9:19 am

    Love the look of these, perfect for brightening up any room #triedtested

  10. May 13, 2014 / 9:24 am

    They look fantastic! I love the colours Colette!

  11. May 13, 2014 / 9:33 am

    What a clever idea. Not heard of these #TriedTested

  12. May 13, 2014 / 10:25 am

    They look really cool – I've never seen anything like that before.

  13. May 13, 2014 / 10:45 am

    I have wanted some of these for a while now, waiting for our new house to get some 🙂 #TriedTested

    • May 13, 2014 / 6:44 pm

      I think I might have to get some more once our extension is complete!

  14. Laura Huggins
    May 13, 2014 / 12:46 pm

    I've seen these before and have always wanted some. They're on my wish list. #TriedTested

    x x x

    • May 13, 2014 / 6:44 pm

      Definitely invest. They're just gorgeous x

  15. May 13, 2014 / 1:05 pm

    They are so pretty! I like what you have done with them in the bowl!

  16. May 13, 2014 / 1:22 pm

    They are just so pretty and I love the colours you chose.

    #Tried/Tested

  17. May 13, 2014 / 5:45 pm

    I reviewed for Cable & Cotton last year, I still adore my lights, great company and products #TriedTested

    • May 13, 2014 / 6:43 pm

      They are really lovely aren't they 🙂

  18. May 13, 2014 / 8:20 pm

    I love these! You could put them outside for a garden party too! #triedtested

  19. Lauren Holmes
    May 13, 2014 / 8:57 pm

    They look lovely, we are currently redecorating the kids bedrooms and I am thinking they would look nice for them x

  20. May 13, 2014 / 9:23 pm

    I absolutely LOVE cable and cotton. Going to buy some for my Xmas tree this year.

  21. Clare Nicholas
    May 13, 2014 / 10:35 pm

    I love these, so pretty – I'm eyeing up for Emmy's room

  22. Helen Porter
    May 14, 2014 / 8:53 am

    I really love these lights there really pretty and girly I think I would love some for my bedroom!

  23. Victoria MyLittleLBlog
    May 14, 2014 / 2:01 pm

    i really like them, maybe i should pick one for our future nursery?!

  24. ritz
    May 14, 2014 / 2:45 pm

    they look so good, really lilt the idea of decorating them differently x

  25. May 14, 2014 / 3:36 pm

    We had them on our Christmas Tree once, lots of fun

  26. May 14, 2014 / 5:09 pm

    They look so pretty, love the colours. Remind me of rainbows

  27. Kirsty Phillipson-Lowe
    May 14, 2014 / 7:27 pm

    I haven't heard of these before, they look so pretty! x

  28. Mandi Morrison
    May 14, 2014 / 8:00 pm

    My three girls keep nagging me about lights for their rooms, hadn't heard of these, but feel they may become my new best friend !

  29. May 15, 2014 / 9:11 am

    Awww, they're lovely Colette! My house definitely needs a bit more colour. It's all about the boys here so it might be time to introduce some 'Mum stuff' around the place.

  30. May 16, 2014 / 8:26 am

    We have these and I ADORE mine. You picked a gorgeous colour for yours and I love how they look in the bowl! #triedandtested

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.