Get rid of pesky limescale & #OUSTyourhouse – Review

Spring is here, the sun is shining and . . . my house looks filthy!!  It’s definitely time to get my Spring Clean on.  My windows are a disgrace (although this is in part due to the fact I asked my window cleaner to postpone his services till the extension was finished).

I’ve been taking part in the #OUSTyourhouse project and to aid in my Spring Cleaning mission I was sent a range of OUST limescale removing products.

Have you ever seen a box of cleaning goodies look so appealing?

Limescale is a calcium compound which can affect any surface which comes into regular contact with water – we’re talking taps, shower heads, bathroom tiles, kettles – you name it.  Now limescale isn’t a massive issue for us in Manchester however Mum’s water in North Yorkshire is much harder and she goes through kettles like most people go through shoes.  I always thought this was because she’s something of a tea fiend but actually I think it’s more likely the limescale reducing their effectiveness and eventually finishing them off altogether.

Our kettle was a wedding present and so is pretty much spot on 3 years old.  I’ve never really noticed the limescale till I started to look for it if that makes sense – which of course suggests there wasn’t an awful lot there to notice.  Anyway I used the OUST Kettle Descaler Drop-in-bag inside the kettle (which was ridiculously easy to use) and some OUST Limescale Remover Spray on the lid and here’s the results:

Oust kettle cleaner
Kettle lid cleaned with OUST Limescale Remover Spray
It’s really hard taking pictures inside the kettle!

So I think the results speak for themselves – I hadn’t thought limescale was an issue for my kettle until I cleaned it!

Onto the dishwasher and washing machine . . . again I didn’t think I had a particular problem with limescale on either of these appliances until I started looking for it.  I used OUST Dishwasher & Washing Machine Descaler and OUST Limescale Remover SprayI’m somewhat ashamed to share the before pictures but in the interests of demonstrating the effectiveness of the products its necessary!

Oust dishwasher cleaner
I cleaned the door seal with OUST Limescale Remover Spray

So my dishwasher was disgusting to say the least!  Aside from the limescale I also discovered some hideous black sludge under the bottom of the door – now I thought the inside of my dishwasher was pretty clean (I use those cleaner things pretty regularly).  Safe to say it wasn’t but it is now!  One sparkly clean dishwasher.  In terms of the washing machine I clearly have no idea if limescale was an issue inside them but based on the effectiveness of the other products I assume it’s cleaner now!  The OUST Limescale Remover Spray worked wonders on the washing machine door.

Limescale on washing machine - before and after with OUST
How had I never noticed all that limescale before?

Once I’d given my own kitchen appliances a good going over I took the selection of products over to York – I particularly wanted to try it out on Mum’s kettle and on the shower head in the main bathroom which is rarely used and suffers terrible from limescale build up which makes the water spray everywhere!

So as I mentioned before Mum’s kettles do suffer a bit with limescale.  Her current one is less than a year old and she didn’t think it was that bad till we actually looked inside – whereas mine was just a bit mottled on the bottom Mum’s had really thick patches of limescale with bits floating in it (bleurgh).  This time I tried the OUST All Purpose Descaler which is a powder to put into the kettle for ten minutes.  After the first application the limescale was significantly reduced but there was still plenty there so as per the instructions I carried out the treatment for a second time and well let’s just say Mum was pretty impressed with the difference:

Limescale in kettle - OUST limescale remover
The perils of hard water!

The hose on the kitchen tap was looking pretty thick with limescale though this was nothing on the tap in the downstairs toilet.  Both Mum and I were shocked when we looked at the before photos I had taken – I suppose you don’t often get down on the floor to look up a tap!  Anyway – there was limescale a plenty.  The OUST Tap & Showerhead Descaler was easy enough to apply if  a bit messy.  The brush applicator allows you to apply the product into all the nooks and crannies though I think I’d have been just as happy with an old toothbrush.  My biggest gripe with it was that it comes out pretty thick but then just seems so slide off – which isn’t ideal if you’re already battling gravity on the end of a tap.  Of all the products this was the least impressive in terms of results and the one I probably wouldn’t bother buying again.

OUST limescale tap - before and after
So that’s some pretty impressive limecale going on there!
Totally should have been wearing rubber gloves . . .

I had planned to take the shower head off to give it a soak in the OUST All Purpose Descaler but we just didn’t get round to it! I’ve left all the products with Mum as she definitely has more need for them in her house.  Overall we were really impressed with the range of OUST products and would certainly purchase them as necessary in the future! (Perhaps Mum will even buy less kettles!)

*Disclaimer – I was provided with the OUST products free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain my own (and Mum’s!)  This post contains affiliate links*

*Read more reviews here*

57 Comments

  1. April 11, 2015 / 9:04 pm

    The difference with the hard water is pretty yucky – that kettle! Looks like most of the products work really well! x

    • April 12, 2015 / 7:51 pm

      I was really shocked! I know Mum has commented before that her hair feels different when she washes it at our house!

    • April 12, 2015 / 7:52 pm

      I was so shocked Beth!

  2. Karen Bell
    April 14, 2015 / 7:27 am

    We have very hard water here and definitely suffer from lots of limescale. I use oust in the kettle and have always found it good, not thought of using it on other things, must give it a go.

  3. April 14, 2015 / 7:35 am

    Great results! We're lucky enough that we don't seem to get limescale, I guess we don't have hard water because it certainly isn't my cleaning skills stopping it!

  4. April 14, 2015 / 7:05 am

    We live in a hard water area……Oust looks like it could well soon be a new fav of mine!

  5. April 14, 2015 / 7:16 am

    Wow, this looks like it really made a difference. We are woefully behind on our spring clean too – the windows in this house are appalling!

    It looks like Oust is really effective. Luckily I haven't noticed too much limescale build up here yet but I think the dishwasher would benefit from some Oust, so maybe I'll be grabbing some of that soon.

    • April 14, 2015 / 6:33 pm

      I'm glad it's not just me! I could definitely do with packing the kids off for a weekend so I could crack on in peace! Not that it would last when they got home of course!

  6. April 14, 2015 / 7:27 am

    We have the same water as your mum so I need to look out for these !

  7. Dawn & Bean
    April 14, 2015 / 8:40 am

    Living in a hard water area, we have similar problems here! Looks like you might be in danger of needing sunglasses in your house now 😉

    • April 14, 2015 / 6:35 pm

      If only the rest of the house was so clean!

  8. April 14, 2015 / 7:53 am

    The drop-in bag sounds a great idea – the thing that puts me off descaling is the faff of filling and refilling and rinsing. I think I should probably take a look at my dishwasher too…

    • April 14, 2015 / 6:34 pm

      It was great – you still had to rinse it out afterwards but much easier than the loose powder

  9. April 14, 2015 / 7:56 am

    Wow – what a huge difference! I love the idea of the limescale remover spray too as I never can get the limescale of the kettle lid!

  10. April 14, 2015 / 7:57 am

    Looks like it really works!! You're North West aren't you? Want to come over and do mine?!!!! x #TriedTested

    • April 14, 2015 / 6:34 pm

      Ha no sorry Sam – I've got more than enough cleaning to do in my own house 😉

  11. April 14, 2015 / 7:57 am

    Those are impressive results! I think I should check the kettle and washing machine at home now 🙂 Time for some descaling!

  12. April 14, 2015 / 8:02 am

    We have really hard water in our area and I've brought a filter kettle but I never even thought off all the other appliances…that's me off to the shops soon!!

  13. April 14, 2015 / 8:07 am

    Wow – there are some pretty impressive results! Especially your kettle. I'm a bit scared to look inside mine now!

  14. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    April 14, 2015 / 9:22 am

    Wow looks like it does the job =)

  15. April 14, 2015 / 8:27 am

    Wow what a difference, we have really hard water where we are so these products would be great!

    #triedtested

  16. April 14, 2015 / 8:48 am

    This looks great, we have a real limescale problem were we are. Off to get some now!! #TriedTested x

  17. April 14, 2015 / 9:26 am

    We have hard water so often get lots of limescale build up. I'm really impressed, looks like it does the job, so I'll have to get some, thanks

  18. April 14, 2015 / 9:33 am

    That looks like fantastic stuff! What an amazing difference it has made! x

  19. April 14, 2015 / 10:13 am

    Such a difference! Thanks for sharing #triedtested

  20. April 14, 2015 / 10:13 am

    Oh we live by Oust in our house! the water is very hard here, and the kettles we have gotten through before using this was ridiculous.
    Awesome review! 🙂 x

  21. April 14, 2015 / 10:44 am

    These products sound just amazing, I think you never release how things like limescale are building up until you use something to get rid of them.

    #Tried/Tested

  22. April 14, 2015 / 10:46 am

    We have horrible hard water! Never tried OUST but after this….we will 🙂 #triedtested

  23. April 14, 2015 / 11:00 am

    That stuff seems awesome at removing limescale.

  24. April 14, 2015 / 12:15 pm

    Wow, what a difference! I think I need to OUST my house too!

  25. April 14, 2015 / 12:44 pm

    OMG I need OUST in my life! I was thinking the other day how I'm going to get rid of the hard water in the kettle and thought I'd just buy a new one…defo need to try these first. Great pics, really helpful, thanks!
    Bx

    • April 14, 2015 / 6:36 pm

      So glad they were useful – it's very hard taking pictures of the inside of your kettle! x

  26. April 14, 2015 / 1:00 pm

    I'm loving these results – must check this out #TreidTested

  27. April 14, 2015 / 1:28 pm

    What a difference! Our kettle really is shameful. I'll have to check out the drop-in bag. Anything that makes cleaning easier gets points from me! #TriedTested

  28. April 14, 2015 / 1:36 pm

    oh, I must get myself some of this. Looks like it does a great job #TriedTested

    • April 14, 2015 / 6:36 pm

      And how was it?

  29. April 14, 2015 / 3:17 pm

    My bathroom taps and shower could do with some Oust I think.

  30. April 14, 2015 / 3:18 pm

    My bathroom taps and shower could do with some Oust I think.

  31. Jo Nicholson
    April 14, 2015 / 7:18 pm

    Wow, you know you're getting old when you're impressed by cleaning products. They look great, we could definitely do with some for our kettle xx

    • April 14, 2015 / 8:16 pm

      haha.. yes, Jo. That is just what I was thinking, 'oh, that's so cool!' Followed quickly by, 'oh, it' so sad I just thought that!' I could really use some in my house though!

    • April 14, 2015 / 7:47 pm

      Sad isn't it Jo!

    • April 14, 2015 / 9:32 pm

      You both made me feel much better about how excited I was in the first place though!!

  32. Emma Lofthouse-Burch
    April 14, 2015 / 8:15 pm

    The results you got are great, I am terrible at not getting round to these things x

  33. April 14, 2015 / 7:21 pm

    Eek just reminded me I need to do my washing machine. You're putting me to shame woman! x x x

    • April 14, 2015 / 7:47 pm

      You should see the rest of my house 😉

  34. April 14, 2015 / 8:38 pm

    We are in a really hard water area, so I definitely need all this stuff! I didn't even think about needing it for the dishwasher and washing machine as I use those cleaning things on them too – but obviously Oust takes it a few steps further. Thanks for a really helpful review. I'm so impressed with you doing your mum's kettle too! x #TriedTested

    • April 16, 2015 / 7:08 pm

      I think she was pretty pleased too!

  35. April 14, 2015 / 9:09 pm

    We've got a water softener fitted which has made a huge difference, as I was always trying to descale the kettle at our old house. Some of this would have been useful there #triedTested

  36. emma lander
    April 15, 2015 / 5:09 am

    Ooo you glamour puss!! What an a amazing set of results. The name oust makes me giggle though I don't know why. I imagine it said by Vic and bob 😀

  37. April 15, 2015 / 7:27 am

    wow, I could definitely use some of this. I really need to start my spring cleaning asap #TriedTested

  38. katefever
    April 15, 2015 / 8:27 am

    Gosh I really need to look inside my kettle I think! The Oust has done a pretty impressive job all round really.

  39. April 15, 2015 / 8:27 am

    I could use this product in my home. Lime scale is a constant battle for me. #triedandtested

  40. Tea Cup Toria
    April 15, 2015 / 9:37 am

    Hi Colette, Lovely to link up with you for the first time. This is a great linky! Well what a great post, so well put together, informative and with great before/after pics. I think you're obviously a bit of a pro at reviewing. I'm just starting out so it's great to see how it's done. I love a good Spring clean! Tor xx

    • April 16, 2015 / 7:08 pm

      Thanks for your lovely comment! x

  41. April 19, 2015 / 8:02 pm

    I have been using oust for years It's great stuff although I have really only used it on kettles and irons. Great review thanks x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.