Joseph Joseph LockBlock – Review

Dave is king of the kitchen in our house so I’m handing this review over to him: 

I’m quite into cooking. That’s a good thing as I do all the cooking in our house, so if I didn’t enjoy it doing it would be a form of torture. Anyway, as I’m into cooking I’ve got some good knives. They make a big difference to all your prep work and generally speed things up. When you’ve got knives you’ve got to keep them somewhere. We keep our knives in the cutlery drawer (revolutionary I know). We’ve got a drawer divider and keep them in a section to themselves. Not just thrown in with everything else for obvious reasons.

This hasn’t really been much of an issue for the past 6 years as the kids have either been too small to reach the cutlery drawer or haven’t been able to defeat the child locks we’ve had fitted for as long as Ben has been able to run around.

Ben has been able to open the child locks for a while now (although he only does it with permission), and Chloe has been watching him intently so she can do it too. Our defences are slowly crumbling! As such, having the very sharp knives in a drawer where the kids regularly reach into probably isn’t the best idea. Even though we tell them not to touch the knives as they are very sharp. That brings us onto knife blocks. We haven’t had one for years but when Colette was offered a ‘child proof’ knife block to review I was very interested.

Joseph Joseph LockBlock

The Joseph Joseph LockBlock knife block is designed to foil the curious mind of children with curious fingers. And to keep those fingers attached to their curious hands. It’s available either with or without knives. It’s got 6 slots for knives of differing sizes. They are standard sizes so should accept any standard sized knives. I’ve got an 8″ chef’s knife, 6″ utility knife, 3″ peeling knife and a bread knife. All fitted into the block without hassle.

However, our block came with knives. Which is nice. The knives have a slim coloured band between the handle and blade which corresponds with a slot in the block that has the same colour to make it easy to find the right slot. They look very nice, have a pleasant weight to them and feel good quality. They’re also wickedly sharp. I stuck the tip of one of them into one of our chopping boards by accident without any force. Watch your digits.

Joseph Joseph LockBlock - Sunday roast
Joseph Joseph LockBlock - Pizza

The Joseph Joseph LockBlock has a one way locking mechanism that allows the knives to slide into the block without any force but won’t release the knives unless you use the unlocking mechanism. There are two green handles. One halfway up each side of the knife block, that when pulled allows the knives to be slid out with no force required. This does mean that removing a knife is now a two handed job, but you can’t have everything now can you.

If you don’t use the release handle you can physically pick up the whole block by the handle of one knife and swing it around your head if you so wish! Not that I recommend this you understand. You can if you want though. The box the block comes in states that in testing 95% of under 5’s couldn’t beat the block and get a knife out. As I’m a scientific sort of bloke I devised a test. Ben is 5 3/4 and Chloe is 3 3/4. I sat them both down independently in front of the knife block and asked them to remove a knife if they could. I reminded them that if they succeeded they would be holding a very sharp knife so they had to be careful. I gave them 1 minute to try.

Chloe tried for about 20 seconds before saying she couldn’t do it which is a win for the block. Ben  unfortunately has fewer fingers now than he had before so it’s fair to say I’m in the dog house with the wife! Not really! Ben tried for the full minute and even with me giving him a few clues couldn’t remove a knife so that’s another win for the block. The Joseph Joseph LockBlock is undefeated for those keeping count.

Amy is 17 months old, so she didn’t really understand when I tried to explain the test to her. She just pushed the block over and sat on it for the minute. She didn’t remove a knife though so that’s another win for the LockBlock. 3 for 3. Although I’m not sure of the validity of the third test. (He’s joking! Amy hasn’t been anywhere near the knife block!!)

So, I really like the LockBlock and the Joseph Joseph knives in it. It does what it says it does and it looks reasonably nice too which is a bonus as it’s going to be sitting out on your counter top for a long time. As the kitchen is mine, that means my word is law and we’re keeping it.

So there you go -the Joseph Joseph LockBlock isn’t going anywhere – and neither are the kids fingers! 

 

*Disclaimer – We were sent the Joseph Joseph LockBlock free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

36 Comments

  1. April 6, 2015 / 10:35 pm

    I am looking for a new set of knives and these look fantastic – I love the colour coding too, I'm always easily pleased! Love the locking mechanism too, great idea and not something I have seen before x

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:45 am

      The colour coding really does make it so much easier to put the knives away quickly.

  2. Beth Twinderelmo
    April 7, 2015 / 7:19 am

    Very clever idea to keep littlies safe! My husband would love these as he does most of the cooking and likes decent knives to do the job (hope that doesn't make him sound a knife fiend!!!) Xx

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:45 am

      Ha no, Dave is exactly the same!

  3. April 7, 2015 / 7:18 am

    It does look nice, which you do want if it's out on display. And very child safe, though I probably wouldn't swing it around either!

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:45 am

      I must admit that Dave did try that just once to prove his point 😉

  4. April 7, 2015 / 7:21 am

    I am loving this! Decent knifes and a knife block are hard to come by! The colour coding is a fab idea and I'm loving the locking mechanism! Off to look further!

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:46 am

      I've never really liked knife blocks in the past, I couldn't see the point of them. However this one has really won me over x

  5. April 7, 2015 / 7:57 am

    Looks super stylish – my kitchen is full of bright accents and so it would be perfect there!xx

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:46 am

      It's really attractive isn't it? I was pleasantly surprised I must admit!

  6. April 7, 2015 / 8:17 am

    This looks brilliant, my daughter is always opening drawers and messing with things she shouldn't so this would be great for us, fab review 🙂 x

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:46 am

      It's so hard to keep them out isn't it!

  7. Odd Socks and Lollipops
    April 7, 2015 / 9:25 am

    Looks really great, and I like the locking idea, Great review!

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:49 am

      Such a simple idea isn't it!

  8. April 7, 2015 / 8:35 am

    This is such a good idea but I can't lie, I'd never let J within reach of the knives anyway! Even when he begins to climb I'll just move them, take them out of the kitchen if I have to! It does seem like a bizarre concept to me, but they do look fab! X

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:47 am

      Surely the kitchen is the safest place for these things! Our knives have always been kept in drawer fastened with child locks. Now Ben is older and able to open the drawers he has been taught to do this safely and to always ask before he does.

  9. April 7, 2015 / 9:10 am

    That's a good idea, I do worry about having knives in the drawers that are in reach of children.

    • April 7, 2015 / 9:49 am

      It really does solve a tricky problem doesn't it.

  10. April 7, 2015 / 11:19 am

    They look fab, but as mummy keeps her block up on the kitchen work top, I can't reach it anyway 😉 #TriedTested

    • April 7, 2015 / 6:30 pm

      Yes I don't think JosephJoseph are suggesting for a second that you should start leaving your knives out within reach – it's just an added precaution isn't it.

  11. April 7, 2015 / 11:55 am

    That's such a good idea – even without the lock it looks lovely and the knives seem great quality but as my daughter is also drawn to anything potentially dangerous, I'm going to check this out. #triedtested

  12. April 7, 2015 / 11:58 am

    Oh I will have to check this out. I really am in need of a new knife set and love the lock idea on it. Great review. Thanks for hosting darling. (good to see you this weekend)

    • April 7, 2015 / 6:30 pm

      Lovely to see you too!

  13. April 7, 2015 / 1:31 pm

    Oh wow these look great – will have to check them out, we need a new knife block #TriedTested

  14. April 7, 2015 / 5:38 pm

    These look fantastic….The locking idea is brilliant.

  15. April 7, 2015 / 6:59 pm

    Sounds like a very good device, it's always a worry where to store knives (my mother, who lives with us, wants to hang them from a magnetic strip! Yeah because that is so safe!! Maybe I could get this instead just to stop her crazy ways).

  16. April 7, 2015 / 7:23 pm

    Wow I've never heard of this but I love the sound of it. For some reason knife blocks really freak me out and this would make me feel safer! This is definitely the next one I'll buy.

  17. April 7, 2015 / 7:24 pm

    Oh what a clever idea. Looksfab too, would be happy to have it in my kitchen. Ps I do all the cooking too and HATE it! X x

  18. April 7, 2015 / 7:25 pm

    I'm laughing at the image of swinging the block around, but it does sound good. I have a traditional block and it is stored in a high level cupboard which is awkward for me to reach even, so would be great to have a block I could actually put on the counter #TriedTested

  19. April 7, 2015 / 9:52 pm

    We have a knife block but yours is way snazzy. And I love the 'child-lock' feature – so safe!

  20. April 8, 2015 / 9:12 am

    I love the fact that it has a locking mechanism, what a wonderful feature! I think it looks great on your shelf too. #TriedAndTested

  21. April 8, 2015 / 7:53 pm

    Ooh this looks really good. I am always nervous around knives so this would be perfect #triedtested

  22. April 8, 2015 / 9:50 pm

    These look great. I love the idea of a locking mechanism. I keep our knives in the drawer and we have catches on the drawers but a block would be better. Preferable this type of block! 🙂

  23. themamastory.com
    April 10, 2015 / 10:26 pm

    These look really good. We could do with some new knives so I will check them out. We just have knives in the drawer at the moment but the 3 year old has been known to take them out from time to time.

  24. Dave H
    April 12, 2015 / 7:55 am

    Love the look of this – particularly like the colours. And how awesome that it is childproof. Also nice to hear from Dave 🙂

  25. Stacey G
    April 25, 2015 / 8:45 pm

    Ooh I love kitchen knives! (That sounds bad doesn't it, ha!) We have some really good ones but I like the idea of this block.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.