PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar Review

There is no escaping it now, Christmas is coming.  December is not far away at all and it’s most definitely time to start thinking about advent calendars – unless you want to be rushing round Tesco late at night on 30th November grabbing whatever naff chocolate offering is left on the shelves . . . In recent years advent calendars have really upped their game.  I remember as a kid having a paper one – one that just had a picture behind each door! Remember those!?  Yeah they don’t cut the mustard now do they . . . from a PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar for the kids to luxury beauty calendars or even gin – there’s something for everyone right?!

This year we have our very first PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar – and I’m pretty excited about that!  Now of course for the purposes of writing you a proper review, I have opened a couple of the doors – just to give you a flavour of what’s inside – but I’m sure you understand why I haven’t opened them all . . . I don’t want to ruin the surprises for you guys, nor do I want to spoil the PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar for my own little team!

There are six PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendars available this year – which means in theory Ben, Chloe and Amy could have a different one each.  We have “Christmas on the Farm” which I love as it’s perfectly unisex!

PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar - Christmas on the Farm

Each door of the PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar opens to reveal a part of a festive farm scene – these are normal sized PLAYMOBIL figures and accessories so the play value from this advent calendar is huge!  It comes with fold out 3D scenery for you to build your set on throughout the course of December.

PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar
PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar - open door
PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar - cow
PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar - cows

Somehow I’ve managed to keep the PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar a secret so that’s going to be a lovely surprise for the kids on the 1st December and I can’t wait to see them build up the scene piece by piece.  Of course part of me would like to pack it all away at the end of December and bring it out again next year but I know realistically it’s going to go into their steadily increasing PLAYMOBIL collection!

*We received the PLAYMOBIL Advent Calendar free of charge for the purposes of review.  All thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

21 Comments

  1. November 17, 2016 / 1:51 pm

    I love Playmobil Advent Calendars and we’ve had one strictly each year since about 2005, and we do have some even older ones. Back in the day they weren’t windows, they had little boxes to open, so it really was intended for re-use, and some years we bring one of those out as a special bit of excitement for the grown ups – and nostalgia for the kids. I love the little touches – letters to Santa, DVD’s in cases, and the fact that it always comes with a full backdrop to create a play scene is brilliant 🙂

  2. Amanda Blackburn
    November 17, 2016 / 2:50 pm

    My little 6 year old is a playmobil fan. Looks great fun, you’ve encouraged me to purchase one.

  3. November 29, 2016 / 8:15 am

    How cute is this? I would have loved this as a kid.

    Sally @ Life Loving

  4. November 29, 2016 / 8:55 am

    I just love the look of these calendars, especially with the farm theme. I’m already thinking how I could create a Coombe Mill version myself. Having it as playmobil does make it that extra bit special.

  5. November 29, 2016 / 9:12 am

    Advent calendars have really upped their game in the past few years! I think this is brilliant especially if you already have Playmobile stuff as it’s a fun way of adding to the collection.

    I am planning to buy a paper accent calendar though. I am feeling a bit nostalgic this year 🙂 #triedtested

  6. November 29, 2016 / 9:26 am

    Ohh! This is so cute…I used to love Playmobil as a child. Advent calendars are so cool now 😀 x

  7. November 29, 2016 / 10:10 am

    I think the range of Playmobil Advent Calendars is fab, this one is probably my favourite, though I also liked the pirate one. Such an upgrade to a chocolate calendar. Great review.

  8. November 29, 2016 / 10:12 am

    Oh this looks amazing, I really want to get one for Boo but at nearly 3 I would worry about little pieces. I love advent calendars which have things other than chocolate in them. I am going to have to get her one for next year I think.

  9. November 29, 2016 / 10:44 am

    I love this. We had WOW advent calendar last year and I would have loved to have a Playmobil one this year but I just couldn’t spot one other than London Stanstead airport and it was too bulky to carry around. #TriedTested

  10. November 29, 2016 / 10:46 am

    I was thinking about those paper advent calendars we had in our house when I was little, we used to close the doors back up and re-use them the following year ! The Playmobil ones this year are brilliant though deciding which one to buy is tricky. #TriedTested

  11. November 29, 2016 / 1:40 pm

    Aww how fab is this. Makes a change from the usual chocolate calendar. We did a Lego calendar last year for my son which he quite enjoyed but I’m thinking this one would be perfect for my little girl. She’s a mad animal fan.
    #TriedTested

  12. Jodie Melling
    November 29, 2016 / 1:57 pm

    These are such a good idea! My daughters ultimate dream calendar would be a kinder surprise one with an egg or small toy behind each door because she is obsessed with kinder eggs. I love the idea of a you behind each door as it’s something that they will continue to play with and I love how it builds up into a small set.

    Jodie x

  13. Faye Colegate
    November 29, 2016 / 2:12 pm

    What a great idea. Fab alternative to chocolates!

  14. November 29, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    I love this, it’s such good value when they can add all the figures and accessories to their collection. We had a Lego one last year and it was worth it for the figures alone. #triedtested

  15. November 29, 2016 / 3:31 pm

    Oh I love these, we have the lego one this year, thankfully we were prepared last year!

  16. November 29, 2016 / 6:11 pm

    They’ve definitely changed a lot since I was little! This looks fab though, definitely worth it to get the full sized figures. Love that there are 6 different designs too! x

  17. November 29, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    It’s amazing how much advent calendars have changed, so much more to them, but I guess there is to so much. This one looks great for little ones.

    #TriedTested

  18. November 29, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    Middle Man had a Playmobil calendar a couple of years ago and loved it! #TriedTested

  19. December 2, 2016 / 5:08 pm

    It looks fantastic and so much healthier for us too. How much is it? #TriedTested

  20. December 2, 2016 / 11:44 pm

    How cool! Fantastic idea and looks great. Thanks for hosting #TriedTested

  21. December 5, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    Mine had a Lego one last year, and they loved it. Well done on keeping a secret! I hope they have been enjoying opening each day this week

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.