Querkles Masterpieces – Review

Colouring books for adults have been a bit of a “thing” for a while now.  I totally get the appeal of sitting down and zoning out on real life whilst concentrating on choosing pretty colours and keeping within the lines.  For someone like me who loves the idea of being creative but actually finds it quite frustrating because I’m not remotely artistic, colouring means I get to create a pretty picture without having to draw it myself.  However, I’ve said before that whilst I do really love a bit of colouring in – either sat with the kids or for work (being a teacher has it’s perks) – it’s not something I could see myself making time for of an evening.

I’ve recently been sent a copy of “Querkles Masterpieces” along with a set of 30 fineliner pens.  Nope, not sharing those beauties with the kids thanks very much!  Querkles Masterpieces are made up of overlapping circles which, as you colour them, reveal iconic works of art.

Querkles Masterpieces and fineliner pens

Now aside from being a seriously cumbersome book, this is basically a really fancy “colouring by numbers” – except the numbers don’t relate to specific colours.  The instructions state that each of the numbers represents a tone -with #1 being the darkest tone and #5 the lightest.  You can colour with one colour or a range or even experiment with a mixture of pens, pencils and paint.  My head was already beginning to explode just reading this.

Querkles Masterpieces - grown up colouring by numbers!
The tips section suggests colouring in one number at a time which I must admit was my first thought.  The idea of shading and cross-hatching for someone so rubbish at arty stuff wasn’t very appealing but having been sent such a varied pack of pens with the book I was able to pick out a selection of shades to work with instead.
Querkles Masterpieces - pen selection

As I mentioned, the book is enormous so you do need quite a bit of space to work on and I would suggest you need to be able to move the book around so you can get to all the sections.  I found that it was actually easier to take the sheet out of the book to work on it (the pages are perforated).  The book takes a lot of concentration (which is clearly great if you’re looking to spend some time emptying your mind) and all the circles made my eyes go a bit funny but it was great watching your masterpiece emerge as you colour.

Querkles Masterpieces - precise colouring

At first I wasn’t convinced by the whole colouring in different shades of the same colour but, as I worked, I realised it was actually really effective.  It also meant that I didn’t have to think too much about the creative side of what I was doing, it was already done for me – I just needed to follow the instructions and colour!  I was pleased to notice that as I coloured, the numbers were no longer visible.  I discovered that rather than colouring each individual section, it was easier to draw around the edges of a cluster of sections that were the same number and colour them all at once.

Querkles Masterpieces - one colour

Now as I mentioned at the start of the review, I’ve never been convinced that colouring was for me – however Querkles are fairly addictive and not only did I spend a full Saturday night colouring in this one (in part as I really wanted to show you a photograph of the completed image) but Dave decided he quite fancied having a go too!

I’m really impressed with the overall effect and I’m definitely going to have a go at doing another one!

Querkles Masterpieces - Henry VIII

*I was sent the Querkles Masterpieces book and pens free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain my own*

Share:

100 Comments

  1. May 10, 2016 / 11:41 am

    when i have the time i love to read xx
    #triedtested

  2. May 10, 2016 / 11:54 am

    i've recently discovered adult colouring books so have taken to curling up with one to relax

  3. gina caro
    May 10, 2016 / 1:23 pm

    Wow that turned out really well. I love how unique this is, I bet I could spend hours colouring in one of these #TriedTested

  4. May 10, 2016 / 2:37 pm

    Wow, this looks so relaxing and the picture turned out wonderfully. Love it x #TriedTested

  5. May 10, 2016 / 5:33 pm

    This looks pretty cool! I like to read and watch TV. #TriedTested

  6. May 10, 2016 / 5:59 pm

    I go for long solitary walks along the beach

  7. May 10, 2016 / 5:59 pm

    Wow that looks awesome! I don't think I'd have the patience for it, though. #TriedTested

  8. May 10, 2016 / 6:11 pm

    What a clever idea – I get a bit fed up adult colouring books usually becasue they are so intricate to colour but this looks like you can kind of zone out without really having to decide which colour you want to use #triedandtested

  9. May 10, 2016 / 7:01 pm

    Wow that looks fab 🙂 I love the idea of this but I always feel like I never have time, there's always something else that needs doing. #TriedTested

  10. Jo Not A Frumpy Mum
    May 10, 2016 / 9:02 pm

    I love a bit of colouring in, and as a fellow teacher it definitely has its perks! x

  11. May 10, 2016 / 8:06 pm

    That looks amazing although don't think I'd find time to colour #TriedTested

  12. May 10, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    that looks amazing, I bought a set like this for a friend recently to help calm her mind when she was stressed!

  13. May 12, 2016 / 11:48 am

    read a good book, especially sitting outdoors in the sun

  14. Pam Francis Gregory
    May 12, 2016 / 2:55 pm

    A bit of sewing

  15. May 13, 2016 / 4:29 am

    I just love to sit quietly and read a book.

  16. May 13, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    I like to go for a long walk, it always clears my head. Thanks for the lovely giveaway.

  17. May 13, 2016 / 8:14 pm

    I love to play search object games or watch a movie and doodle

  18. Hannah Smith
    May 14, 2016 / 3:17 pm

    I'm actually a big fan of colouring in, but I haven't seen these before. Fingers crossed I win!

  19. Amanda Goldston
    May 14, 2016 / 3:24 pm

    I have found great relaxation in colouring books

  20. May 15, 2016 / 12:43 pm

    I sew, hand sewing or machine. I love it. I find it very relaxing.

  21. May 15, 2016 / 1:14 pm

    I love to do Yoga if I have the time and space, otherwise I like puzzles or colouring in.

  22. May 15, 2016 / 7:53 pm

    I have a cup of tea and read a book 🙂

  23. May 16, 2016 / 1:48 am

    Adult colouring, a good old box set binge or a bubble bath with pampering treats.

  24. May 16, 2016 / 5:52 am

    oh wow that looks really awesome! I'd like a go on one of those!
    #triedtested

  25. May 16, 2016 / 12:36 pm

    I relax with a glass of wine and a good film

  26. Tracy B
    May 16, 2016 / 1:00 pm

    Play a game on my phone or catch up with my favourite tv programmes

  27. May 16, 2016 / 10:48 pm

    Oh I love this. It looks something that I could do when I want to relaxed for a little bit. I loved how it looked after colouring it! Great book! Thanks for sharing and hosting, 🙂 x #triedtested

  28. maggie glover
    May 17, 2016 / 11:09 am

    I make bobbin lace

  29. May 17, 2016 / 4:15 pm

    I love to read outside when it's nice and sunny

  30. Sophie D
    May 17, 2016 / 5:33 pm

    Cross stitching – another 'arty' thing you can do with little artistic talent!

  31. May 18, 2016 / 6:21 am

    Depends on the season- cold, wet weather I snuggle up and read or do jigsaws or knit, but in good weather I love to grab a coffee and my book and relax on the lounger in the garden

  32. Emi nastaly-howard
    May 18, 2016 / 9:20 am

    I love a good book 🙂

  33. May 18, 2016 / 8:42 am

    Cuppa tea and read a book in a bubble bath

  34. Victoria Dixon
    May 18, 2016 / 10:18 am

    A Caramel Latte, a good book and a comfy sofa – perfect!

  35. Scott Fallon
    May 18, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    I listen to music and draw

  36. May 18, 2016 / 2:59 pm

    Cuppa tea in my Christmas jumper!

  37. Steven Beasley
    May 18, 2016 / 4:37 pm

    jig saw puzzles

  38. May 18, 2016 / 6:22 pm

    A nice walk with my dog, a glass of wine and a good book

  39. May 18, 2016 / 6:40 pm

    With a cup of tea & a book 🙂

  40. May 18, 2016 / 9:48 pm

    I either do comping, colouring, or…well, I combine either of those with drinking wine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.