Springwood Park Table Table – Review

As you may well know things are pretty busy in our house at the moment and we’re not spending a lot of time together as a family.  Dave is working hard at getting the house finished off and I’m doing my best to keep the kids out of the way!

We were understandably delighted to be invited to Springwood Park Table Table last weekend to try out the latest menu.

I’d already had a bit of a nose at the menu online before we went so had a fair idea of what to expect.  Up until now when we’ve eaten out we’ve always taken food with us for Amy and then given her a few bits off our plates however this time we decided to try her out on something from the children’s menu.

We had booked our table for 4.30pm however we were about 15 minutes late – it’s so hard to get everyone out on time!  This wasn’t a problem at all though, we were greeted by a wonderfully jolly man called Mark.  He was really welcoming and spoke to each of the children before giving them a colouring pack & taking their drinks orders.  I was immediately impressed.

We were seated at a lovely big round table with plenty of space.  Because the table was in the window it was a little cold when we first sat down but as soon as I mentioned this the heaters were put on and all was well.  Amy’s highchair was in good clean condition but unfortunately because of the tray height we couldn’t quite get it up to the table so it did feel like she was slightly off to one side.

Little cutie in her highchair

Mark told us who our named server would be and mentioned one of two things which were off the menu – I’m always grateful for this as I have a tendency to spend ages choosing only to be told I can’t have what I wanted!  Much better to know up front right?

Choosing his tea

The children’s menu was part of their colouring pack – the main course menu was divided into three sections so that you can pick one item from each section and make sure the meal really suits your child’s tastes.  Something which we particularly appreciated was the fact each meal had a photograph alongside it making it really simple for little ones to choose.  We chose Cod Cubes for Amy, Sausages for Chloe and Poppin Chicken for Ben.  Mummy took the executive decision to order peas all round as they’re just less messy than beans aren’t they?  (It meant Amy could eat them with her fingers without me worrying about beans all over everyone’s clothes and the table!)

The main menu is packed with choice and each meal is clearly marked if it is vegetarian, contains alcohol or even if it may contain bones.  I was immediately drawn to the “Hearty Pies” – I think in part because they was such an appealing photograph of them at the top of the menu but mainly because it was a proper pie, not a puff pastry lid, a proper shortcrust pie with a bottom and everything!  I went for the Chicken & Leek Pie served with mash & peas.  The pie doesn’t actually come with gravy but our lovely waitress offered me some should I want it.  (In what I believe goes completely against my Northern heritage, I actually can’t stand gravy so I really wasn’t bothered however I appreciated the offer!)  Dave, being a man who loves his meat, didn’t take long to choose the Table Table Mixed Grill.

Everyone really enjoyed their meal – the clean plates all round speak volumes!  (Apologies for the lack of photographs.  We took loads but it turns out that we are not food photographers and the lighting wasn’t that great!)

When it came to pudding Ben and Chloe were both immediately drawn to the Mini Chocolate Challenge – I think the photograph helped their decision somewhat!  A fabulously appealing combination of marshmallows, chocolate brownies. ice cream and chocolate dipping sauce – I’m sure you won’t be surprised to know that they both made short work of that!  Amy enjoyed the Fruit & Chocolate Fondu – an ideal dessert for a toddler as it’s mainly fruit!

Pudding!

I knew before we’d even arrived that I was going to be having the Black Forest Sundae and my word it didn’t disappoint.  Dave had the Rocky Road version.

So three children’s meals, two adult mains & desserts, a couple of beers and some soft drinks came to just shy of £60 – which when you considered is dinner for 5 isn’t bad going at all!

We had a really lovely evening – the children were utterly angelic and it made me wish I could go out for dinner every Sunday night!  So huge thanks to the staff at Springwood Park Table Table for having us!

*Disclaimer – We were invited to enjoy our meal free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions are our own!*

Share:

37 Comments

  1. December 1, 2014 / 10:20 pm

    I've never been to a Table Table. It looks really family friendly. Will have to visit one, I'm sure there's one near us somewhere x

    • December 2, 2014 / 9:50 am

      We hadn't been before either but we'd definitely go back!

  2. December 2, 2014 / 8:13 am

    I've not heard of these guys before, so I'll be looking out for them. We love eating out as a family, it's a real treat and this place sounds great #triedtested

  3. December 2, 2014 / 8:29 am

    So lovely when you have a successful family meal out isn't it! Great price too.

  4. December 2, 2014 / 8:31 am

    That's a really good price for five of you with drinks

  5. Jenna Richards
    December 2, 2014 / 8:48 am

    OK, now I'm hungry!!

    Glad you had such a nice time – great family restaurants are few and far between.

    #TriedTested

  6. December 2, 2014 / 9:05 am

    Looks great, but now I am feeling really hungry!!
    It's nice to find a restaurant for the whole family =)

  7. December 2, 2014 / 9:21 am

    It can be hard to find good genuinely family friendly restaurants-this sounds like a rarity. Glad you enjoyed it.

  8. December 2, 2014 / 9:22 am

    That looks like a wonderful place for a family meal! A great price too x

  9. katefever
    December 2, 2014 / 9:39 am

    I have never been to Table Table but the menu sounds great – I love that you can choose things in sections from the kids menu to get their meal the way they want it. #TriedTested

  10. December 2, 2014 / 9:41 am

    Sounds like a great family place. Love when I find somewhere that is suitable for us all to eat out at. Great review. Thanks for hosting. #triedtested

  11. December 2, 2014 / 9:42 am

    The food (and price) sound great – yummy! #triedtested

  12. Sian PottyMouthedMummy
    December 2, 2014 / 9:58 am

    Really good price! I would like some of that chocolate pudding now please!! xx

  13. December 2, 2014 / 10:18 am

    You can't beat a good family friendly restaurant! I've never heard of Table Table before, thanks for sharing x

  14. December 2, 2014 / 11:37 am

    We just went to the table table here in n.ireland on the north coast too, it was fab, like you say such great value for money for a family dinner out 🙂

  15. December 2, 2014 / 12:27 pm

    Sounds like a fab place to visit for food, and it does make a difference when they tell you what's not available! X

  16. Louisa
    December 2, 2014 / 1:11 pm

    I have never heard of Table Table before but it looks like great value at at good price. I love proper pies, I always feel a bit cheated when it's just a pastry topping, so this sounds ideal for me.

  17. December 2, 2014 / 1:56 pm

    Never heard of table table, but it looks like a great place to eat out with kids.

  18. Karen Bell
    December 2, 2014 / 1:59 pm

    Sounds like a great place and reasonably priced too.

  19. December 2, 2014 / 2:05 pm

    Not somewhere I've heard of, but sounds like a family friendly company and like the look of the menu #TriedTested

  20. The London Mum
    December 2, 2014 / 3:10 pm

    I can't wait until my Son is of an age where we can order his meals and not feed him baby food! Looked like a great day out. #triedtested x

  21. December 2, 2014 / 3:44 pm

    Sounds lovely. I am often disappointed by desserts when I go out so nice to hear they were good x

  22. Blogger Mummy Lauren
    December 2, 2014 / 4:48 pm

    Have never heard of this place before but it looks good. It's great to find a place that is really family friendly, some places that claim to be just have a kids meal shoved to bottom of menu like an after thought, I love the idea of a special kids menu and little activity packs and all.

  23. Katie Haydock
    December 2, 2014 / 8:03 pm

    We love table table! They are so easy to eat at, we always find something we like and it's normally pretty quick turnaround and reasonable price xx

  24. emma lander
    December 2, 2014 / 8:53 pm

    Ha ha peas always win over beans for us too! The review has made me hungry now. I could just do with a hearty pie (you can take the girl out of Wigan) I am going to look up our nearest one. Mmmmmm

  25. Joanna McCaffrey
    December 2, 2014 / 11:09 pm

    Sounds like a lovely meal 🙂 Good to have a day off from cooking as well xx

  26. December 3, 2014 / 1:01 am

    I haven't heard of Table Table before but it looks so very child friendly and for what you guys ate a reasonable price tag. Glad you have a lovely time – great photos, too

  27. December 3, 2014 / 2:43 am

    I haven't heard of Table Table, but just looked and there isn't one anywhere near us. Shame because it sounds great from what you've said #triedtested

  28. December 3, 2014 / 4:02 pm

    What a super place to eat – so lovely when restaurants take the time to cater to and greet children.

  29. sharon powell
    December 3, 2014 / 7:45 pm

    We like our local Table Table, we've never had a problem. It's a great restaurant chain. Great review x

  30. Mummy Melton
    December 4, 2014 / 10:52 am

    Looks like a lovely meal and tasty food, we've got a Table Table near us and the portion sizes are always brilliant #triedtested

  31. Eline Alcocer
    December 4, 2014 / 2:52 pm

    This looks like a really good place for families with little ones. My toddler is going through that fussy stage so the kids menu with pictures would be great for helping him to decide on his meal.

  32. December 7, 2014 / 7:57 pm

    this sounds like a really fab place .. those puddings sound delicious!

  33. Stacey G
    December 11, 2014 / 12:35 pm

    Sounds like such a lovely meal!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.