Story Box – Review & Giveaway

As soon as I saw the promotional video for Story Box I was excited.  Both as a teacher and a parent I could see that this simple box was packed full of potential for developing story telling skills, inspiring creative and imaginative thinking and the use of story language.

The basic premise of the product is that the 20 double sided puzzle pieces are interchangeable allowing for you to create your own 8-foot long fairytale!  The pieces are sturdy and well made allowing for them to be used over and over again as you create your own stories. 

At first I gave the Story Box to Ben to explore by himself, asking him to put the pieces together and come up with a story to go along with it.  You can see how he got on in this video: 

I then realised that we could take it in turns, (a little like that game you played as a kid where you folded the paper over so the next person could write a sentence?) which makes for great fun! 

What we love about them: 


* The potential for developing story telling skills is huge 

* The pieces are all stored neatly in a tidy box

* The pieces are double sided allowing for maximum freedom to create your own tale 

* The illustrations feature familiar elements from known fairy tales as well as some more unusual scenes

* The jigsaw pieces are high quality and allow for being use and reused over and over again.

What we’re not so keen on: 


* Nothing, the kids love them and I think they’d be great in the classroom too. 



If you’d like to win one of two copies of Story Box to try for yourself, please complete as many of the Rafflecopter options as you fancy.  (Take care to complete them accurately to avoid disqualification.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway




*Disclaimer – We were sent the Story Box free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

Share:

38 Comments

  1. February 27, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    My favourite fairy tale as a kid was Snow White. The whole thing is so vivid–from the mother's almost dreaming her into being with the sewing and blood on the snow; the whole business with the hunter; the three other attempts at killing her; to the fact that it wasn't a kiss but the jolt that saves her as the prince (rather creepily) takes the coffin home and the apple piece falls out of her mouth. My mom got me a copy of the Grimms' original fairy tales when I was 7-8 and I caught the fairy tale bug. The originals are chilling, and bloody, and amazing. I've been reading retellings ever since (Angela Carter's, Neil Gaiman's, and Philip Pullman's are my favourite ones), and teaching them, too, back when I used to teach. I'm hoping my kids catch the bug, too.

  2. February 27, 2016 / 10:33 pm

    Hansel and Gretal – I want to see the house with lots of sweets!

    Ashleigh

  3. February 27, 2016 / 11:13 pm

    My favourite to read to my boys is the three little pigs. We love huffing & puffing together to blow the houses down!

  4. February 28, 2016 / 7:43 am

    Cinderella classic rags to riches story and who wouldn't want a fairy godmother

  5. February 28, 2016 / 10:59 am

    What's your favourite fairytale and why? . . . . . The Emperor's New Clothes . . . . l loved it when l was a child, still makes me chuckle and l find it educational

  6. Julieann Harrison
    February 28, 2016 / 3:45 pm

    My favourite fairy tale is 3 little pigs my 2 little boys love to do the huffing and puffing we have some real fun at bed times 🙂

  7. February 28, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    Snow White and the Seven Dwarves – loved reciting the names of the dwarves and imagining what their characters would be like x

  8. Anonymous
    February 28, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    Cinderella – love how it all works out for her in the end.

    @rachiegr

  9. Samantha Loughlin
    February 29, 2016 / 2:41 am

    Little red riding hood because my nan always read the story to me xxx

  10. Neha Parmar
    February 29, 2016 / 12:19 pm

    Cinderella because the story made every little girl who read it including me feel like a princess and made us day dream about it all the time

  11. Anonymous
    February 29, 2016 / 3:16 pm

    Little Red Riding Hood, as a cautionary tale :- people are not always what they initially seem, or as you first expected. Be careful.

    Like all fairy tales the good person survives to live another day.
    Rachel Craig

  12. Susan Smith
    February 29, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    Cinderella, a wonderful story

  13. March 1, 2016 / 7:43 am

    Little red riding hood, because it shows that things are not always what they seem 🙂

  14. March 1, 2016 / 10:38 am

    The magic porridge pot because it's so mischievous.

  15. Johannah Carroll
    March 1, 2016 / 11:41 am

    Little Red Riding Hood was my favourite because Dad used to do such a great Big Bad Wolf impression 😉

  16. keri brooks
    March 2, 2016 / 4:49 pm

    My little girl the big bad Wolf and the three little pigs just laughs all the way through lovely to watch her

  17. March 3, 2016 / 3:49 pm

    I always loved Rumplestiltskin as I thought he was funny and it was good that the girl could trick him as he had an evil plan!

  18. Solange
    March 4, 2016 / 6:48 am

    Snow White because I love the dwarfs

  19. Lynsey Buchanan
    March 4, 2016 / 8:20 pm

    I love the Snow Queen I always found it chilling and scary as a child

  20. March 5, 2016 / 12:48 pm

    I love Snow White because she is always fighting for her own freedom and safety. She was a wonderful role model for fighting to be yourself.

  21. March 6, 2016 / 1:55 pm

    Rupunzel and her long flowing hair

  22. March 6, 2016 / 7:12 pm

    101 dalmatians (if it counts) and they all lived happily ever after

  23. March 8, 2016 / 1:51 pm

    The Snow Queen as it really sparked my imagination as a child.

  24. Pam Francis Gregory
    March 8, 2016 / 9:18 pm

    Red Riding Hood – Good to see the wold defeated!

  25. March 11, 2016 / 1:43 am

    sleeping beauty was always my fave since a little girl, just loved the idea of true loves kiss saving the day

  26. March 12, 2016 / 3:50 pm

    Jack & the Beanstalk – I loved the idea of a hen that could lay golden eggs

  27. March 13, 2016 / 8:56 am

    Princess and the Pea, oh that spoiled little madam, that's why I love it

  28. Susan B
    March 15, 2016 / 5:12 am

    The Three Little Pigs was a particular favourite because my parents used to tickle my toes as they read it to me.

  29. Anonymous
    March 15, 2016 / 8:56 pm

    Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs (@PeanutHog)

  30. March 16, 2016 / 4:41 pm

    Little Mermaid. My favourite since I was little 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.