Haberman Penguin Cup – Review

Could this be the best trainer cup ever?  Three babies down the line and I’ve tried a lot of sippy cups and drinks bottles . . . I have a cupboard full of the things . . . some leak, some are hard to drink from, some just pour water everywhere if they’re not the right way up.

I have to admit that when I asked if I’d like to try the latest offering from Haberman I didn’t really expect it to be any better or worse than the other cups I’ve tried – I just liked that it was a penguin?!

I couldn’t have been more wrong.  Amy has been using this cup for a few weeks now and she loves it. I love it. It’s flipping ace.  I could happily throw away just about every other cup in the cupboard and replace it with this one!

Haberman Penguin Cup

The Haberman leak-proof valve really is leak proof.  Previously the leak-proof cups I’ve tried have usually had an extra piece which needs fitting in the lid – a pain for washing up as it often gets lost, stops fitting properly or just makes it awkward to clean.  I’ve also found they tend to make it harder for your little one to drink – which is not exactly what we’re looking for in a training cup is it!  The Haberman Penguin cup is easy to drink from – the angled spout is designed to protect teeth and only allows liquid through when your little one sucks and swallows meaning they’re taught to sip rather than glug!

The shape of the cup is fabulous, it is slightly angled forward meaning it doesn’t have to be tipped up too far for your child to get their drink out.

Haberman Penguin Cup

Despite being thrown from the highchair many times (anyone else find this phase very frustrating?!) the lid hasn’t worked loose, it always fits tight and there has never been any sign of leakage.  I’ve even carried it around in my changing bag – no leaks there!

I’m always glad when the children’s things are dishwasher safe – both through hygiene and laziness on my part!  So another point to the penguin!

The handles are easy to grab and the lid is always the right way round – how many sippy cups have you tried where the spout ends up misaligned with the handles? It might seem like a small thing but it’s actually really important when your little one is learning to drink.  They’re already working hard on their hand-eye coordination to get the drink to their mouth in the first place without needing to turn it round because the handles & spout or out of line.

Haberman Penguin Cup

This is by far the most ergonomic training cup I’ve come across – combined with the fact it’s actually, genuinely leak proof and I’m sold.  The best bit?  It’s not even expensive!  Less than a fiver in fact.  Buy one, you won’t regret it!

*We were sent the Haberman Penguin Cup free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions remain our own*

29 Comments

  1. January 9, 2015 / 3:31 pm

    The amount of money I've wasted on sippy cups/beakers/flasks that don't acually perform well is stupid. Think I might get Emily one of these as I trust your recommendation.

    • January 9, 2015 / 3:51 pm

      Honestly Shaz its by far the best I've ever used x

  2. January 9, 2015 / 8:45 pm

    This looks fab and it's another brand I haven't heard of. WIll have to investigate, I think Little Man needs one in his life! x

    • January 9, 2015 / 9:00 pm

      No I hadn't either till I was offered it to review. Definitely invest, he'll love it x

  3. January 13, 2015 / 8:14 am

    sounds great, i went through zillions of beakers too. Not a brand I've heard of. Must look and see if they do stuff for older kids too, as we're always losing water bottles at school #triedtested

  4. Chloe Elphick
    January 13, 2015 / 9:09 am

    Sounds Fantastic, I absolutely love the design.

  5. January 13, 2015 / 9:19 am

    This looks fab! How cute that its a penguin too? #TriedTested

  6. January 13, 2015 / 10:06 am

    Wish I'd read this review 2 years ago…the number of cups we got through was crazy. And we lived in Hong Kong then where we were paying a lot more for everything!! #triedtested

  7. January 13, 2015 / 10:20 am

    This does sound brilliant! I'm fed up with leaky ones #triedtested

  8. January 13, 2015 / 10:24 am

    Boo has one of these cups but it's the green one, we have been reviewing them too, they are amazing! I couldn't sing it's praises enough, I was actually thinking about buying another so that we have a spare, and I love the penguin design!

  9. Bean
    January 13, 2015 / 12:12 pm

    This looks perfect on all accounts. Glad you found something good for your little beans 🙂

  10. January 13, 2015 / 12:49 pm

    I love the look of the cup! Noah is extremely fussy with the cups that he drinks out of so I may need to give it a go. At the moment he will only entertain soft teet cups.

    Linking up from Tried & Tested

    Jen @chicgeekdiary

  11. January 13, 2015 / 12:49 pm

    I don't think we need these anymore but I kind of want to buy one anyway; they look and sound great! I love that you say that they don't have a separate valve to wash as those bits are always a pain to wash and like you say can come loose. I'll have to remember them for next time! x #TriedTested

  12. January 13, 2015 / 1:22 pm

    What a great idea, I used to have some many problems with Joe and different cups, we got through so many!

    #Tried/Tested

  13. Sian PottyMouthedMummy
    January 13, 2015 / 1:34 pm

    I love the idea of a penguin cup too! We're passed sippy cups now but this sounds fab and no leaks is always a bonus! x

  14. January 13, 2015 / 2:00 pm

    No leaks? this is the holy grail of sippy cups!

  15. January 13, 2015 / 2:58 pm

    That looks fab, I hated that stage – nothing was ever as good as it said. This would sounds like a winner though.

  16. January 13, 2015 / 3:42 pm

    The fact that this actually doesn't leak is a win on it's own! Every "leak-proof" sippy we have owned has leaked. #TriedTested

  17. Mummy Melton
    January 13, 2015 / 4:11 pm

    I think I will buy this, like you've I've lost track of cups we've tried and they've been rubbish or Mini M hasn't liked them. This sounds great

  18. January 13, 2015 / 8:38 pm

    We have been looking EVERYWHERE for a new non spill beaker for my 2yo who still uses one for naps – his is falling apart but haven't found one that's as good, so will definitely be trying one of these – especially at that price! #triedtested

  19. January 13, 2015 / 8:40 pm

    This sounds great! I have recently cleared my cupboard of all leaky and useless cups which has left us with not very many at all! WIll have to look out for these!

  20. January 13, 2015 / 10:21 pm

    We've tried these too and I definitely agree how good they are especially no spills. #TriedTested

  21. January 13, 2015 / 11:37 pm

    I've seen these in the shops and wasn't sure if it was worth getting one or not – you've convinced me though, we will pick one up next time we are there!

  22. Amy Treasure
    January 14, 2015 / 8:49 am

    I haven't tried this yet but definitely finding a leak proof cup is like finding the holy grail, they all promise to be leak proof but rarely are the real deal! X

  23. katefever
    January 14, 2015 / 9:45 am

    It sounds fantastic – I also have a cupboard full of cups and bottles and very few of them actually work well. Might have to try one of these next time! #TriedTested

  24. January 16, 2015 / 9:39 am

    This looks brilliant, I used to hate it when arak proof beaker leaked in your bag x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.