RAVPower External Battery Charger – Review (Word from the Mr)

RAVPower Luster 6000mAh External Battery Charger
Colette is many things:- Gorgeous, caring, an animal in bed (by which I mean she claws and spits at me if I attempt to touch her)!  One of the things she is not good at however is answering her phone.  This is exacerbated when her battery is run down (which is all the time).  Mainly through her addiction to social networks.  On some occasions I’ve got a better chance of reaching her if I send her a message through Facebook rather than ring her!  It is a source of constant frustration to me, as since the kids have been born I worry about her pretty much constantly.  Silly I know, but if I wasn’t silly I wouldn’t be with her!
For a while now I have been saying that we needed to get her a portable battery pack to recharge her phone on the fly as there is no hope of her staying off it for more than 2 minutes.  As with many things I say though I haven’t gotten around to it yet.  I’m far from perfect.  So imagine my joy when we received a battery pack from Ravpower to review.  As the resident ‘family geek’ Col asked me to do the review and I jumped at the chance.
That’s enough background, onto the review.  The battery pack is 6000mAh which is reasonably large.  You can get a battery charger from China advertised with capacities of up to 30000mAh off eBay reasonably cheap, but I’m doubting their actual capacity is anywhere near that in reality.
RAVpower battery charger
In the box you get a carry case.  A USB to micro USB cable.  Instruction manual and of course the battery bank itself. In this case the battery is an anodised bronze colour with a dark band around one edge which houses 4 LED’s to give you an idea of remaining charge. The face is where the action happens. There’s a micro USB socket for charging the battery, a full size USB socket for charging everything else and an LED. Its got one button which is for power and also to turn on the LED light if you press it twice in quick succession. The LED is pretty weak in all honesty but in a pinch its better than nothing and apparently runs for 250 hours if the battery is fully charged if you believe the manual. Call me slapdash but I will not be checking this stat.
You might have noticed that there isn’t a plug adaptor provided in the box. You have to use one for your phone, or at a push a USB socket on your computer (although this will mean charging takes much longer). Leaving these out of packaging seems to be fairly commonplace nowadays, but I can’t imagine there are many houses without one or two spare knocking around.
battery charger from RAVpower (power bank)
My phone has a 3050 mAh battery so we should get nearly 2 full charges out of the battery pack but I’ll be happy with one and a half.  To test I fully charged the battery pack.  Then charged my phone from flat with it turned off, so all the charge from the battery pack was going into charging my battery rather than running the phone (its also the quickest way to charge your phone).  Charging time was just over 2 hours which is exactly the same as from a wall socket.  Very good.
The next day I charged my completely flat phone again and it charged to 85% before the battery pack gave out.  That’s pretty darn good considering I hadn’t recharged the battery pack since the first time I charged my phone, and it had been left to sit for a full day where it will have lost some charge.
That works out at 5642.5 mAh of charging power, not taking into consideration the small amount lost while it was sat there for a day. Much better than I’d hoped.
The other bonus of using a battery charger is when you’re using your phone as a sat nav in the car, which many people do.  If you charge your phone from the 12v car socket then the amount of power you get from the car (roughly equivalent to charging your phone off your laptop) is less than the power you will be using to run your GPS, download maps and keep your screen on.  So your battery will be going down regardless of what you do.  Not good if you need use your phone once you get out of the car.  And who doesn’t?!  Those selfies won’t take themselves now will they!  Using the Ravpower will provide more juice, which will actually charge your phone even with the draw from all the stuff mentioned above. Winner!
So to sum up. Looks OK.  Very easy to use.  Packs a punch and might actually keep Colette’s phone on for long enough for me to be able to contact her!  We should have got one sooner.  They’re on offer at the minute on Amazon for £15.  Bargain.  I’m going to get one myself!

*We were sent the battery charger free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions are Dave’s own!*

49 Comments

  1. Brenda BusyBee
    October 10, 2014 / 10:44 am

    My other half has been on the lookout for a charger pack for a while and this sounds well worth the money. The sat nav saga has sold me as well – I hate that you use your phone as a sat nav and then that's pretty much it because it dies a death after that! 🙂 xx

  2. October 12, 2014 / 10:39 pm

    We have two of these ad they are great! I have one with me at blogging events 😉 #geek x

    • October 13, 2014 / 9:17 am

      I'm looking forward to making full use of it this week while I'm at several blogging events! It's going to be a complete lifesaver.

  3. October 13, 2014 / 7:07 am

    This looks great – and a good price too. I love that you have got her husband to review this, I would have done the same, as although I do like using gadgets, I'm no very technical – I just want them to work NOW 🙂

    • October 13, 2014 / 9:18 am

      Exactly the same here – just make it work please Dave 😉 x

  4. emma lander
    October 14, 2014 / 7:14 am

    oh that is handy. I am always running out of battery, yay for new inventions 🙂

  5. Clare Nicholas
    October 14, 2014 / 8:04 am

    I've a similar one to this and it's the only way to get through blogging events 🙂

  6. October 14, 2014 / 7:06 am

    Such handy gadgets. Not got this one but same sort of thing! Great review Dave!

  7. katefever
    October 14, 2014 / 8:39 am

    These are a fantastic idea, my phone always dies at the most inconvenient times. Great price too, might have to invest! #TriedTested

  8. October 14, 2014 / 7:46 am

    Great idea. It would be perfect for when travelling as well.

  9. TheGigglesFamily
    October 14, 2014 / 8:46 am

    That's so cheap! I'm tempted, especially to keep in the glove box for emergencies.

  10. October 14, 2014 / 7:52 am

    I really really need one of these, my phone is always out of charge! #TriedTested

  11. October 14, 2014 / 8:06 am

    I need a one of these as I too am forever on social media and my phones always dying #TriedTested

  12. Karen Monkeyfooted Mummy
    October 14, 2014 / 9:10 am

    These are a great idea, and a very detailed review

  13. October 14, 2014 / 8:13 am

    Great idea for when you're out and about, need to get me one! #TriedTested

  14. October 14, 2014 / 9:14 am

    I've been offered one of these to review, and as I constantly forget to charge my phone, this has convinced me I need one of these in my life.

  15. Jo Smith
    October 14, 2014 / 9:56 am

    With all the apps n such on my phone my battery is forever running out whilst i'm out and about – this would be perfect for me!

  16. October 14, 2014 / 9:09 am

    My phone is always running out of power – this looks like a fab idea for travelling!

  17. October 14, 2014 / 9:17 am

    This looks fab! I so need one in my life, as a social media addict also my poor phone just cant take it!

  18. October 14, 2014 / 10:03 am

    I would never have thought to get one of these but it sounds great (and would be perfect for my disorganised hubby ) ha!

  19. October 14, 2014 / 10:10 am

    This sounds fantastic….What a great price. I've been thinking about something like this for my fella….He's terrible for remembering to charge his phone x

  20. October 14, 2014 / 11:55 am

    At that price seems well worth buying, certainly good incase of emergencies #triedtested

  21. Sian PottyMouthedMummy
    October 14, 2014 / 1:25 pm

    Oooh this is actually a really good idea for me, I need in my life! x

  22. October 14, 2014 / 12:28 pm

    Looks like a pretty handy gadget! If I'm out I tend to be in the car and I have a usb charger that plugs into the cigarette lighter socket.

  23. October 14, 2014 / 12:53 pm

    ooh I need to get something like this, my battery is always running low thanks to my little ones watching youtube on it :/

  24. October 14, 2014 / 1:07 pm

    This sounds like a really handy thing!

  25. London Mum
    October 14, 2014 / 2:39 pm

    I definitely need one of these, my battery dies all the time!

    #triedtested

  26. October 14, 2014 / 1:48 pm

    The speed with which my phone's battery goes, I definitely need one of these!

  27. October 14, 2014 / 3:39 pm

    Very nice. I think my mother could use one of these! #TriedTested

  28. October 14, 2014 / 5:46 pm

    This looks great, and with my iPhone rarely lasting a full day definitely something I could do with having – I'm tempted to nip straight over to Amazon and buy one right now!

  29. October 14, 2014 / 5:56 pm

    Definitely useful these things! I love how small this one is, mine probably does the same charge but is huge in comparison! Perhaps it's time to upgrade!

  30. October 14, 2014 / 6:00 pm

    Great review and this is something that I'll be sure to have on me for Britmums 2015! 😉 x

  31. Kiddy Reviews
    October 14, 2014 / 7:25 pm

    I NEED THIS! My hubby is constantly complaining about my phone never being charged (thanks Twitter). This is just what I need!

  32. October 14, 2014 / 6:50 pm

    Sounds good and well explained for someone like me who doesn't understand these type of things #TriedTested

  33. October 14, 2014 / 7:30 pm

    What a great idea!

  34. Christina Marriott
    October 14, 2014 / 8:49 pm

    Great review from the hubby hun! looks like a great product for those of us glued to our phones 😀 #TriedTested

  35. October 14, 2014 / 7:57 pm

    I've been thinking about an external battery pack, so this review's come at a timely point. Great price as well.

  36. October 15, 2014 / 10:20 am

    A great review of something I am always looking for as there is nothing worse than your phone dying on you when you are out! A good price too #TriedTested

  37. October 15, 2014 / 11:14 am

    I think this is a high priority on my Christmas list as I just cant live without my phone these days and its such a pain when you pull it out and its flat! Thanks

  38. October 15, 2014 / 12:40 pm

    Oh I have one of these and I love it! Such a life saver at times as I am always going out without my charger and my phone drains quickly too 🙂

  39. Karen Bell
    October 15, 2014 / 1:45 pm

    Ooh, that looks great, might have to get one. 🙂

  40. October 15, 2014 / 4:46 pm

    My phone battery is utter pants. This would be very handy indeed!

  41. Joanne Mallon
    October 15, 2014 / 7:43 pm

    I really like the sound of this, need one for my holidays. And what a bargain too. #TriedTested

  42. Louisa
    October 15, 2014 / 7:43 pm

    My husband could do with one of these, his phone battery is always running out in the middle of nowhere!

  43. October 16, 2014 / 10:43 am

    This looks really good, I bought one which was twice the price but doesn't last any time at all. Definitely look into this! #triedandtested
    Jeannette @autismmumma

  44. October 17, 2014 / 7:25 am

    Its a nightmare isn't it, batteries just don't last long enough. With have to get one of these x

  45. Stacey G
    October 28, 2014 / 11:09 pm

    I could actually REALLY do with one of these – I'm the same!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.