Sharing #MySleepSecret: Silentnight Miraform – Review

I’ve been looking forward to sharing this news with you for a while.  If you follow me on social media you may have seen a few cheeky hints about a collaboration with Silentnight.  Well, here’s the deal; over the coming year I’m going to be working as an ambassador for Silentnight and in particular trying out a new Miraform bed.

Our old bed was in a shameful state.  We got it second hand about 5 years ago as a “put me on” after we’d had loads of problems with an IKEA bed and had to return it.  We fully intended to buy a new bed a few months later and then life just took over, other things took priority and we’ve never got it sorted.  Of course the old double divan has got more and more knackered as time goes on and we’ve been less and less comfortable.  You can imagine just how excited I was at the prospect of a posh new bed.

When I first read up on the Miraform beds the thing which stood out to me most was the phrase “unbeatable pressure relief” – oh what joy!  I suffer from persistent back problems and painful hips as a leftover treat from pregnancy and in recent months have found that sleeping on my side is increasingly uncomfortable – I had even resorted to a pillow between the knees again in a preggo fashion!  I have no desire to spend the rest of my life sleeping with a pillow between my knees I can tell you the words “unbeatable pressure relief” had my hopes raised on a major scale.

The Slientnight Choices range offers a mix and match collection of mattress, base style and headboard style in a choice of 5 colours.  I must admit that I wasn’t sure about the colours at first and thought the fabrics looked a little odd, almost velour like.  Rest assured they’re not!  When we made our way to our local Benson’s for Beds, I was pleased to find that I actually really liked the headboards – the fabric wasn’t at all what I expected and they really make the beds feel very grand.  The grey colour fits perfectly with our newly decorated bedroom too.  An all round win considering it’s not a style I’d have actually looked at under normal circumstances.  I’ve definitely had my head turned.

grey Silentnight bed with headboard

So aside from our bed looking very grand and luxurious – the most important thing is how we’re actually sleeping!

I must admit that I was really nervous about choosing the mattress – what if we got the firmness wrong?  I mean how can you really tell just from lying on it in the shop?  Dave was convinced we wanted a firm “4” mattress whereas I thought the medium firm “3” would be more comfortable.  As it was, when we tried them out in the shop, Dave agreed that 3 was indeed our magic number.

The Miraform mattress is spring free and instead features a generous layer innovative Geltex (I know, it sounds amazing right?).  Optimum support and pressure relief is offered up by the triple layers of Miraform technology with teardrop cavities.  It all sounds a bit “blinded by science” doesn’t it?  Basically it’s really flipping comfortable!  As someone who is ridiculously allergic to dust, the beautifully soft and washable mattress cover with Purotex for the elimination of house dust mites, is an added bonus!

Silentnight Miraform mattress cover

We’ve been sleeping on our new Miraform bed for a few weeks now and the novelty has yet to wear off.  I love slipping into bed and knowing that I’m not going to wake up in more pain than when I went to bed.  I’m getting to sleep easier because I don’t hurt as much (obviously my hips haven’t been magically fixed, they’re just a lot more comfortable).  Another surprise bonus is that, now Dave can sleep on his side again, he’s not snoring either!  Winner!  Literally the only downside to our glorious new bed is that we don’t want to get up in the morning!

Silentnight Miraform mattress

We’ve made a video so you can see our bed in all it’s glory and hear what we think of it:

Right, I’m off for a cheeky lie down  . . .

*Disclaimer – We were sent the bed free of charge for the purposes of review as part of our role as ambassadors for Silentnight.  All thoughts and opinions remain our own*

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

29 Comments

  1. March 10, 2016 / 12:54 pm

    I'm glad it's helping. I know how excited you were about it, so it's lovely to hear it is doing the trick. There is nothing worse than waking up in more pain than you were in when you lay down – my days are rarer than yours were, but by crikey
    😀

  2. March 10, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    This sounds and looks like the perfect bed ! I love silent night beds we got one a few months ago and it is so comfy I never want to get up in the mornings either xx

  3. The DADventurer - UK Dad Blogger
    March 10, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    Looks good and pleased that it's helping with your hip issues etc. Definitely an improvement on your old bed in terms of size and quality! Enjoy 😉

  4. March 10, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    This looks brill and sounds perfect for you. Just make sure the kids don't bounce on it – ours do as soon as our backs are turned!!! 🙂 xxx

  5. March 11, 2016 / 10:16 pm

    I don't often get jealous – but I am now! We invested in a new bed frame a year or so ago but we are yet to replace our incredibly old mattress – I would do pretty much anything for a bed that looks as comfortable as yours! But, I had heard how awful your old bed was, you'd been saying about it for months so I am so pleased that you have this collaboration – it's perfect for you! And how cute is Amy!? x

  6. March 15, 2016 / 8:06 am

    A new bed is such a luxury – enjoy 🙂 Good to hear that you are sleeping so well, a good bed can make so much difference to how you sleep.

    #triedtested

  7. March 15, 2016 / 8:17 am

    Well this has made me want to jump straight back into bed (although that one looks way more comfortable than mine!). Glad it's helping you sleep better xx

  8. March 15, 2016 / 8:17 am

    Oh how comfortable does this bed look? Such a luxury but so essential. I look forward to hearing how you get on over the next year 🙂 x

  9. March 15, 2016 / 9:21 am

    I have such a bad back this sounds like it would be awesome!
    #triedandtested

  10. March 15, 2016 / 9:27 am

    Oh wow! How exciting!
    That bed looks and sounds amazing….

  11. March 15, 2016 / 9:38 am

    Oh that looks lush!
    We have not long had a new bed, but we went for the firm mattress, with also getting back troubles every now and again after having the kiddies.
    But it's a bit too firm lol, I feel like I'm planking hehe!
    I look forward to your updates 🙂 x

  12. March 15, 2016 / 9:39 am

    How lovely! I like my bed but it was a cheapy pick it up old display model frame and it's starting to wear now after three years use. I can't really bring myself to even start looking for a new bed. However, our mattress is lovely and comfy. It's always a bit awkward trying a mattress in a shop because you never actually try it properly and lay down as if you would when going to sleep. #TriedTested

  13. March 15, 2016 / 9:53 am

    Looks really good! We have a great bed that we invested in a while back – my problem is I'm not in it long enough to get the benefits lol #TriedTested

  14. March 15, 2016 / 10:07 am

    It's lovely getting a new bed, that one really looks comfortable. It think it's great the mattress comes with washable, anti-dust mite covers…that would really be useful for my husband, he has asthma and is allergic to dust too. #TriedTested

  15. March 15, 2016 / 10:27 am

    zzzzz sleep inducing post! I got a new mattress last month. Not as swanky as this one but still a hefty price! I love it though so comfy compared to my old one. #triedtested

  16. March 15, 2016 / 10:28 am

    This looks and sounds great. I totally agree that a comfortable bed is an essential. We've got a memory-foam mattress which I love. But whenever we go away, I never get a good night's sleep as I feel that either my hips are jabbing into the bed or the mattress is far too soft.

  17. March 15, 2016 / 11:09 am

    I'm glad you're enjoying your new bed so far! It looks and sounds lovely. I remember buying a new mattress, so much pressure and fear!

    #TriedTested

  18. March 15, 2016 / 11:52 am

    This looks so good! very luxurious and comfy #triedtested

  19. Emma Lofthouse-Burch
    March 15, 2016 / 1:13 pm

    Oh my goodness I am so jealous! That looks ridiculously comfortable! #triedtested

  20. March 15, 2016 / 1:33 pm

    Oh you lucky bean!! This bed looks divine! Our bed is on its last legs too, and we're currently deciding whether to upgrade to a king size or not, as H-Bear is in bed with us most nights now xx

  21. Leslie Rickerby
    March 15, 2016 / 2:20 pm

    Oh it takes me back to when we first got our bed. I'd love to get that new bed feeling again and that mattress sounds like a dream, quite literally!

  22. March 15, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    It even looks comfy! You just can't beat a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed – I hate it when I sleep away from home and wake up with a sore neck and feeling achy. #triedtested

  23. March 16, 2016 / 12:24 am

    Oh I know what it's like to have hip issues and when even going to sleep doesn't help but hinder, it's so painful – and depressing. I really hope this helps long term. We have just got a new mattress and it does make all the difference!
    #triedtested

  24. March 16, 2016 / 11:08 pm

    Totally jealous! That bed looks so comfy and a great design too, especially the storage drawers!

  25. March 16, 2016 / 11:09 pm

    P.S. I have suffered from back problems for ten years and unbeatable pressure relief would fill me with unbridled joy too! Only fellow back sufferers understand the glee of simply lying down sometimes!

  26. NewMummy Blogger
    March 19, 2016 / 7:56 am

    Wow it sounds great and so so comfy! Hope it keeps helping your back, every second of sleep is vital!

  27. Victoria MyLittleLBlog
    March 31, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    wow, it looks very comfy and storage cupboards make it an even better investment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.