Trunki Paddlepak – Review

Ben has been learning to swim for a couple of years now but he has never had a ‘proper’ swimming bag – we’ve always just chucked his things in whatever we had to hand, usually a supermarket “bag for life” type thing.  It does the job but it’s not exactly exciting.

We were asked to review the new Trunki Paddlepak and I knew immediately that it would be great for Ben’s swimming kit.  I showed him the website and asked him which bag he would like “That one please Mum, the shark.”  I didn’t have the heart to tell him the one he had chosen was actually a killer whale – besides I was secretly quite pleased he’d chosen that one as I really liked the look of it.

When the bag arrived I was struck by how light it was – but I also thought it seemed quite small and worried that we wouldn’t get much in it.  I needn’t have been concerned.  Ben was so excited when he saw the bag that he rushed off to grab all his swimming gear and pack his bag ready for his next lesson (almost a whole week away!)  We were easily able to fit in a large beach towel, swimming trunks, talcum powder & swimming hat with plenty of room to spare.

Features of Trunki Paddlepak swimming bag

The bag is packed with features – the most notable being the water-resistant fabric and the roll top closure to prevent water getting in (or out!)

What we love about the Trunki PaddlePak:

* The Trunki Paddlepak is lightweight and of a good size to make it comfortable for a child to carry

* The shoulder straps are easily adjustable which is great as I find backpacks often seem to trail down kids’ backs

* Reflective patches on the straps are a great safety feature but fit in with the design beautifully

* It’s deceptively spacious – Ben was easily able to fit all his clothes & shoes in during his swimming lesson (and you can imagine that he hadn’t really folded them!)

* It’s water-resistant – ideal for a soggy swimming kit!

* The roll top is easy for Ben to fasten by himself and also stops water getting in or out

* There’s a handy mesh side pocket “for a drink” according to Ben.

* The back of the bag is padded for comfort and also covered with mesh to stop it being sweaty

* There’s a handy internal pocket

* The tail forms a dry zip pocket which we found useful for popping some change in for the locker

* The “Trunki Grip” makes for a handy place to keep your sunglasses – a feature which Ben though was really cool

* A loop for hanging the Trunki Paddlepak up on a hook

What we’re not so keen on:

The only downside for me is that Chloe loves Ben’s Paddlepak so much I’m going to have to buy her one too when she starts her swimming lessons!  In all seriousness there isn’t anything I would change about the Paddlepak – I’m hugely impressed by it.

Trunki Paddlepak Killer Whale

Ben was excited to try his new bag – the biggest bonus here was that it meant he carried his own bag to swimming instead of me having to carry it!  Although we have used the Trunki Paddlepak for Ben’s swimming kit he also reckoned it would be good for school or adventures and I have to agree.  According to Ben “It’s the coolest bag ever” and who am I to argue with that?

Trunki Paddlepak

*Disclaimer – We were sent the Trunki Paddlepak free of charge for the purposes of review however all thoughts and opinions are our own. This post contains affiliate links*

29 Comments

  1. Tas D
    September 9, 2014 / 9:07 pm

    Ir does look so good. We have a whale one to review shortly and we really love the Trunki so hoping this will be just as good

  2. September 9, 2014 / 8:41 pm

    Yep, I'd agree that looks pretty cool! Seriously considering getting one for my girl's swim lessons now….

    • September 9, 2014 / 8:42 pm

      Totally worth the investment – I will definitely be getting another for Chloe when she starts 🙂 x

  3. September 9, 2014 / 8:53 pm

    We reviewed one of these and LP adores it! Absolutely love the killer whale! x

  4. September 16, 2014 / 7:03 am

    Wow that is so cute, my son would love that x

  5. Pippa Ainsworth
    September 16, 2014 / 8:24 am

    We're huge fans of Trunki, their designs and products are incredibly well thought out

  6. September 16, 2014 / 7:36 am

    That bag looks so cool and sounds fantastic. x

  7. katefever
    September 16, 2014 / 8:50 am

    Gosh, Ben looks so grown up. Love the Killer Whale design – Paddlepaks are awesome!

  8. September 16, 2014 / 8:13 am

    Looks like a great bag 🙂 I'm sure my boys would love it!

  9. September 16, 2014 / 8:25 am

    That bag looks very cute **runs off to see more designs!**

  10. sharon powell
    September 16, 2014 / 9:38 am

    Great review, I love these Trunki Paddlepaks x

  11. September 16, 2014 / 8:42 am

    Ooh, it's good to read a review of these as I've been mulling over buying one for a while but wondered if they were a bit 'gimmicky' if you know what I mean. Think I will definitely take a look at them now, although like you, I reckon I'll have to buy two because I can see both my 4 and 8 year old wanting one!

  12. September 16, 2014 / 8:45 am

    I love Trunki, they have so many good products, and I have heard nothing but good things about the paddlepak, I love the inky octopus one myself. I can't wait until Boo is a bit bigger so I get buy her one!

  13. September 16, 2014 / 8:56 am

    SO CUTE! And I love the fact it is waterproof to stop the gross wet bag look. Lovely bag xxx

  14. September 16, 2014 / 8:56 am

    wow that looks brilliant. my son swims every week and i think he'd love that. i'd say it looks like a shark too rather than a whale lol! great product and fab review #TriedTested

  15. September 16, 2014 / 9:17 am

    Fun looking yet practical, seems like a win win #triedtested

  16. September 16, 2014 / 9:21 am

    This looks brilliant! My boys would love the Killer Whale design too! 🙂

  17. September 16, 2014 / 9:31 am

    I got the shark for Joe and I think they are fab. He just loves it and it is so lightweight, he can hold it himself. Bonus!

    #Tried/Tested

  18. September 16, 2014 / 10:34 am

    It does look like "coolest bag ever"……..I have to agree with Ben! #TriedTested

  19. September 16, 2014 / 1:18 pm

    My son would love the fact that it looks like a shark! #TriedTested

  20. September 16, 2014 / 1:28 pm

    HUGE Trunki fan here and we have Inky to review ourselves. We adore them also and how stylish does Ben look wearing his "shark" 😛 x

  21. September 16, 2014 / 5:06 pm

    Wow, the Paddlepak looks fab, will definitely keep that in mind. Thanks for sharing. #triedtested

  22. September 16, 2014 / 8:59 pm

    I love trunks their products are created so perfectly for kids. They really have thought of everything in the innovative process. This is great. Love the smiley photos too. Great model. Great review hun. Thanks for hosting #triedtested

  23. September 16, 2014 / 9:08 pm

    That looks great. Think I could do with a couple of those for my boys #triedtested

  24. Christina Marriott
    September 17, 2014 / 8:22 pm

    Ive been admiring these in Boots for NOM as she's just started swimming lessons. It looks like a great buy and all the more fun in the different characters they come in. Thanks for the review 😀

    #TriedTested

  25. Karen Monkeyfooted Mummy
    September 17, 2014 / 9:54 pm

    I love the look of these

  26. Michaela - Two Little Paines
    September 17, 2014 / 11:01 pm

    these look great, I'd have to get one for each of my two though, would never get away with just having the one!
    #TriedTested

  27. Philippa Tyrer
    September 18, 2014 / 10:55 am

    I wish I'd bought one for my son when he was swimming at school last year – it would have been perfect. I'll know better when my twins go in a few years time! #TriedTested

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.