Y Velo Balance Bike – Review

Balance bikes weren’t really a thing when Ben was learning to ride a bike – or at least not so as I knew about them!  He had a fairly typical bike with stabilisers and whilst that was great for him to get going and enjoy riding around it did hold him back when it came to actually learning to ride his bike properly.  In an attempt to avoid the same pitfalls with Chloe we bought her a Kiddimoto balance bike but found that whilst it was pretty, it was heavy and cumbersome so she never really got on with it.  Amy has tried to use the same bike once or twice to no avail so I was really excited when we were offered the chance to review the Y Velo balance bike.

Amy was at home when the Y Velo balance bike arrived so was immediately very giddy and told anyone who would listen on the school run that she had a new balance bike!  I promised her I would try and fit it together the following day so we could take it out for a ride in the park whilst the big two were at school and the weather was nice!

The Y Velo balance bike arrives in a number of pieces and whilst it’s fairly obvious how it all fits together, I just didn’t seem to have the strength or knack to get the front wheel on and quickly gave up promising Amy that Daddy would have a look when he got home!  Typically Dave didn’t struggle at all and had Amy’s new bike put together in just a few minutes – cue her attempting to ride it around the living room!

Of course with summer just around the corner (we hope) it’s the ideal time to start getting our bikes and scooters out again to make the most of the sunshine and fresh air!  All three kids were excited at the prospect of dusting off their respective bikes and scooters and heading to the park on Sunday afternoon for a whizz about!

Y Velo Balance Bike

Three year old on Y Velo Balance Bike

Y Velo Balance Bike padded handle bars

As Amy has never really used a balance bike before the Y Velo balance bike is a great starting point for her to be able to learn to steer and balance before she adds in complications like pedals!  Ben was keen to show her exactly how to ride it and was whizzing around all over the place (despite being far too big for it!).  Amy on the other hand is currently quite happy to sit on her bike and sort of walk it along if that makes sense.  She’s already getting quicker at doing this and I’m sure as time goes on she will develop in confidence to go faster and start to lift her feet off the floor a little as she learns to balance.  I was impressed with how quickly her steering came on in just the short time she was riding it this weekend – I think her experiences with learning to ride a scooter probably helped her there!

learning to ride the Y Velo Balance Bike

chunky wheels on Y Velo Balance Bike

What we love about the Y Velo balance bike: 

* It’s really lightweight compared to our previous balance bike making it much easier to manoeuvre

* The seat is height adjustable for longevity – though Amy is pretty tall and already has it on almost the highest setting at three years old.

* The seat and handle bars are both really comfortable

* The wheels are nice and chunky to aid balance

* The bright colour means the bike is easy to spot

* It’s a really sturdy, quality bike – the £49.99 is an investment in a bit of kit that will easily be passed onto younger siblings or friends

little girl riding green Y Velo Balance Bike

I think it’s safe to say Amy is a big fan of her new Y Velo balance bike and I’m excited to see her progress over the summer months!

*Read more reviews here*

Share:

26 Comments

  1. April 28, 2017 / 6:31 am

    This is such a lovely bike. Looks like fun. Great review.

  2. May 2, 2017 / 8:02 am

    I think these bikes are a great concept and much better than the old style bike with stabilizers. Lightweight sounds ideal for taking out and about too. #TriedTested

  3. May 2, 2017 / 8:17 am

    Balance books are really popular in Germany. We had two different ones, for us metal was much better than wood. This looks great, really sturdy and a lovely colour 🙂

    #TriedTested

  4. May 2, 2017 / 9:54 am

    They always look so good and I’ve always heard really good things about it. They definitely seem like very good investments!

  5. May 2, 2017 / 10:27 am

    This bike looks boss! My husband is mega in to cycling so I know he’ll want to get one of these for D as soon as possible!

    #TriedTested

  6. May 2, 2017 / 11:29 am

    Woah. This bike looks brilliant. We have a smaller balance bike and we think T is ever so slowly getting too big for it as his confidence overpowers it.

    This looks like a brilliant upgrade – I like how chunky it is and how comfy everything looks.

    #TriedTested

  7. May 2, 2017 / 11:53 am

    These look so much fun! I should’ve bought a balance bike for Erin as she can’t figure out pedalling at all!!! #TriedTested

  8. Jodie Melling
    May 2, 2017 / 3:07 pm

    These looks great! I used to work in a bike shop for many years and we sold Kiddimoto balance bikes and whilst they look cool they were only made of wood but these look more substantial and more like a bike. I’m sure that my daughter would love this.

    Jodie x

  9. May 2, 2017 / 4:00 pm

    A good balance bike can make such a difference for them when learning to ride can’t it. #triedtested

  10. May 2, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    This looks really good, we are looking for a new balance bike for my little brother so will have a look at these. Thanks! #triedtested

  11. May 2, 2017 / 9:07 pm

    OOOO I really love this! Its so lovely and a great style and colour – I will keep this in mind as Alice gets older, I am sure when shes a tot she will love one! x #TriedTested

  12. May 2, 2017 / 10:24 pm

    Awww this looks fantastic. My little boy has out grown his ride of sadly. This looks like the perfect thing for him to move on too. Lovely pictures too btw. #TriedTested

  13. Sian
    May 2, 2017 / 10:25 pm

    It looks like a fab bike and she looks happy with it! I’ve heard that light bikes are best for when they are learning.

  14. May 2, 2017 / 10:38 pm

    There are so many balance bikes on the market but not only does this sound fantastic but it looks so much cooler than most of the ones out there! #TriedTested

  15. May 2, 2017 / 10:43 pm

    I’ve been very dubious about balance bikes and if the opinion we managed to learn fine with stabilisers. Given you’ve experienced both sides, do you think a balance bike is with it and does help?

    This does sound like a brilliant bike and fantastic all your kids can go out on their bikes now and be the same, thanks for hosting X #triedtested

  16. May 3, 2017 / 8:22 am

    We’ve just bought Jake a balance bike for his birthday, wish I had seen this one first it looks fab. I don’t remember seeing them when Daisy was younger, she still has the stabilisers on her bike at the moment hoping to get them off this Summer.

  17. May 3, 2017 / 10:18 am

    I wish I had got my daughter a balance bike when she was younger would have made learning to ride a “proper” bike that much easier #TriedTested

  18. May 3, 2017 / 1:14 pm

    We’ve never tried a balance bike, which may explain why Matthew still can’t ride a bike 🙁 this one looks great, love the colour #triedtested

  19. May 3, 2017 / 1:20 pm

    These look great, I’m thinking about getting Finn a bike and I’d love one like this. It looks perfect and not too heavy. #TriedTested

  20. May 3, 2017 / 4:24 pm

    This sounds perfect for her. I love the colour. I’ve been looking at bikes for Holly’s birthday and they are a mine field. I will add this to the list x

  21. May 3, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    Some of our toddler friends have started getting balance bikes and they look so good! Such a good way of encouraging physical development, while being fun at the same time 🙂 #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      May 3, 2017 / 9:02 pm

      Yes absolutely. Hopefully Amy will be whizzing about all over the place soon!

  22. May 5, 2017 / 11:05 am

    I wish these were around when my daughter was younger. She really struggled to learn to ride her bike but this would have made things so much easier! #triedtested

  23. May 6, 2017 / 2:33 am

    That looks really cute. I wouldn’t mind getting one for Peachy when she’s a bit older. #TriedTested

  24. May 10, 2017 / 9:29 am

    Our 7 year old has never really shown any interest in riding a bike. Funny really and I think she’d be too old for a balance bike… #TriedTested

    • Colette
      Author
      May 10, 2017 / 9:48 am

      Yes I think they’d be too small for her now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.